Fiction logo

Love has its Price

A potion will give her what she wants, won't it?

By Rachel DeemingPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
5
Love has its Price
Photo by m wrona on Unsplash

It was dark as they were walking through the woods. Little lights flitted in the trees as they trudged their way to the cottage, created by fairies and their dust. But only those who had purity of heart could catch a glimpse: the walkers were oblivious.

Merlin was watching the progress of the two women through his all-seeing glass and knew their intent. He was expectant and prepared.

"Are you sure that we'll be able to get it?" Morgan asked her sister.

"It will be easy," Eve answered, lifting her skirt with one hand whilst holding a torch with the other.

"And he'll fall in love with me? You are sure, Eve?" Morgan looked worried.

"Yes, little sister, he will," Eve reassured her.

She knew nothing of the sort but she told Morgan what she needed to hear.

Merlin listened to the sisters and stole a glance at his shelf of potions. A love potion, no doubt, he thought and shook his head. They would be successful but with a price.

*

The sisters were giddy with excitement at the success of their heist.

"We just stole from Merlin!" Morgan whispered excitedly.

As Merlin watched them leave, he smiled.

Fools.

+++

Those of you who have read Boiling Sea, a previous Top Story entered for the Word Hunt challenge, may recognise the character of Merlin that I used in that story as an omniscient magical presence.

I like the legend of Merlin and don't see him as the Disney mentor of The Sword in the Stone but more like Nicol Williamson's depiction of him in the 1981 film Excalibur: a powerful manipulator, unpredictable and selfish, using magic to shape and distort. As I am Welsh, the legend of Merlin is a powerful one from my country's history, mixed with dragons and the power struggles of kings, relying on the supernatural to assist them in their acquiring of status.

He is a force but not necessarily for good and that is what I wanted to convey in my depiction of him. But despite all that underhandedness, I do quite like him!

I have a feeling that Merlin may yet appear again.

Short StoryMysteryMicrofictionHistoricalFantasyAdventure
5

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Test8 months ago

    That was exceptionally well written. I was thoroughly impressed and enjoyed it immensely

  • Gerald Holmes11 months ago

    Very well done. You had my attention from the first line. I feel a reckoning coming for the thieves.

  • I was so excited when I saw the name Merlin and was even more excitement when I learnt the connection it had with your Boiling Sea story. I'm so glad that got a Top Story. Else I would not have found you! I really like this darker depiction of Merlin and I'm eagerly waiting to see what you'll be coming up with next!

  • Andrew C McDonald11 months ago

    I Ho-e your Merlin does appear again. As for his predilection to manipulate and plot…, of course he does. No being becomes that powerful without a very strong streak of selfishness and power hunger. You are doing well with the recurring appearances. Very nice. 👍

  • L.C. Schäfer11 months ago

    They stole a love potion from Merlin?! That's not going to end well... 😱

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.