Fiction logo

Love at First.. Not

a short fictional story in the style of a journal entry

By MelPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Sincerely Media via Unsplash

The night seemed so perfect. The club was packed as people began filling up the dance floor. Music blared through the speakers surrounding us from up above. Girls were grinding up against the men they had found on the dance floor as their drinks spilled across the floor. Men were standing around, picking out which girl was going to be the perfect opportunity to get some that night. The club wasn't usually my scene when it came to going out. I'm the type who would much rather sit at home curled up with a good book, but my best friend begged for me to come out with her. She tried to lend me a nice black dress to help "shape my body" as she put it, but I preferred my t-shirt and jeans.

The second we had entered the club I already lost my best friend in the sea of people, but I didn't let that stop me from trying to have a good time. Just because this wouldn't have been something I chose to do on my own doesn't mean I wouldn't want to try and have some fun. I found myself leaning up against a wall towards the back and counting all the people I can spot make a huge fool of themselves. I managed to get up to thirteen before I spotted you. I don't know what exactly it was that had grabbed my attention but I was definitely hooked. Maybe it was the way the green lights bounced off your golden brown curls. Or the way you wore your shirt half buttoned with your bare chest flashing the entire crowd as you leaned up against the wall across from me. I couldn't take my eyes off of you. You looked too perfect in the green lighting. You had been leaning up against the wall directly across from me and all I could think of was that you were my future. I had to do something. This moment was too perfect to pass up. I was going to do it. I was going to take a step forward and put myself out there.

"Hey there beautiful." You were standing right in front of me. Your bright baby blues sparkled whenever you smiled. God did you have a great smile. "I noticed you across the dance floor and just knew I had to come over and say hi."

Even your pick up lines seemed perfect.

"Hi." My cheeks felt hot. Hi? That was all I had to say? Was I really that much of a dork?

He handed over a glass of a light pink color, "You thirsty?"

"Oh no than-"

"Take it." You were so persistent in me taking the drink.

"What is it?"

"Just something beautiful like yourself." You let off a smile that I just couldn't resist. I ended up taking a large sip, tasting a cherry-like flavor among another flavor I just couldn't figure out. One thing I noticed was the way you watched me swallow; almost as if you were making sure none of the liquid wasn't going to come back out.

"Good, isn't it?" You asked me. I just nodded.

"Come to the back with me."

"I should probably stay here," I told you, "My best friend is somewhere in this crowd and I don't want her to think I just left her-"

"I'm just right back there." You pointed towards something behind the crowd but all I saw was an opening leading to darkness.

I took another sip of the mystery drink he handed me, "I really shouldn't."

"C'mon," Your smile began to fade a bit but still felt so inviting, "You're too beautiful to be standing here all alone. It's my civic duty to keep you safe from all the creeps out here."

It's my civic duty to keep you safe.

I would have been fine if you never said those words. Those words were probably the same words you've said to every girl before me but somehow.. I felt safe after hearing them. Although I should have stuck by my instincts, I followed you to your 'back room'.

The back room was just a small and dark area of the club that was kept hidden behind a thick, red curtain separating the dance floor from whatever it was you did in here. My vision started to blur as you walked me toward what felt like a sofa.

"You are truly spectacular." You squeezed my thigh with one hand while holding my arm with the other.

I suddenly felt as if I couldn't move away. My eyes felt as if they were getting heavier and I couldn't see much of what was around me. "What's happening?" I spoke out.

"Shh.." You whispered to me, leaning over to kiss my neck as your grip moved down my arm to my wrist. "It'll be over in just a second."

That was the last thing I remember you telling me before everything just shut down. The next time I woke up, I was laying outside the room next to the dance floor with my best friend standing over me. She was cracking jokes about how I really need to learn how to hold my liquor but I couldn't even remember a time when I took a drink. I couldn't even remember how I got to where I was that night or what I had done.

But there was one thing I did remember from the night. Out of all the things that faded out of my memories of that night, the one thing I was able to remember was the way the green lights bounced off your golden brown curls, and the way you were wearing your shirt half buttoned as your bare chest flashed the entire crowd. I couldn't even get the way you lit up a room with your smile out of my head.

You seemed so perfect. I thought I was able to trust you. If I had known that I was feeding the ego you managed to develop after all the girls you've encountered in the past, I would have never made eye contact with you that night. I never even got your name. You never even got mine. Was I just a joke to you? Was I even the only girl you saw at the club that night?

It'll be over in just a second.

It wasn't. It never is.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Mel

Ever since I was a kid, I've always wrote for fun. I never saw anything of it; I just wanted to write just to write. That's why I love Vocal.

she/they

instagram: stufflestream

tiktok: mercuryandme

youtube: Melon Melon | TheMelonVlogs

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.