Fiction logo

Lost and Found

A story of something forgotten

By Tressa RosePublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 2 min read
17
Lost and Found
Photo by Iván Díaz on Unsplash

You and I were the same growing up. We walked in each other's shoes, wore the same clothes, we even did our hair the same way.
I really didn't think there was a time we would ever be apart. I remember you reading your teen crush magazines, singing and dancing to your favorite bands. Playing M.A.S.H. with your friends, and swearing one day you were going to marry A.J. from the Backstreet Boys. You were so innocent and carefree in those days. Boys had cooties… Until one day, they didn't.

Around high-school was when things started to change. You had your first bully, teasing you for not developing as quickly as the other girls. She had no problem in that department, which helped give her the title of the most popular girl in school. She played horrible pranks, spread nasty rumors to other classmates, and made sure it was hard for you to find any real friends. That was the first time I noticed your distance from me. I was confused at why you pushed me away, because I still thought so highly of you.

Things got even worse after your first love. He was your everything. The both of you made plans to go to the same college, to get married, and then to have your own family. You wanted one boy, the older sibling, and one girl, for the older brother to protect. Just like your older brother did for you. He wanted both Boys, which you would have been happy with just the same. But then the unthinkable happened, he broke your trust, with the popular girl nonetheless. One last way for her to hurt you before you graduated.

You involved me even less in your life, and after more unfortunate circumstances, you ultimately forgot about me completely. It was as if I had never existed to begin with. You felt it was time to grow up, so I no longer had a place in your life. I never forgot about you though, and always hoped for the day you'd find me, and make me a part of your life again.

You went to college, graduated with a degree, and moved on with your life, but you felt something was lacking. Then several years later, you met him, the one that would ultimately bring us back together. And he accomplished it in the most perfect way. He showed you respect, told you he loved you, and reminded you how amazing you were, every single day. It was quite beautiful to watch, really, because at first, you would smile and politely say thank you when he would tell you those kind words. But deep down inside you really didn't believe them. He knew you didn't either, but that was all the more reason why he made sure to remind you every day. And the best part of it all was that his actions actually matched his words.

And then after some time, we were finally reunited. One early morning you woke up like any other day, showered, got dressed, and went and sat at your vanity. You slid one of the drawers open, rummaging for something to put your hair up with, and there you saw your old ribbon you used to string through your hair. All your childhood memories started to flood back to you. You pulled it out, looked in the mirror, and smiled. For once again, you remembered me, your long-lost self-confidence. And this time, you would never let me go.

Stream of ConsciousnessShort StoryMicrofictionLoveCONTENT WARNING
17

About the Creator

Tressa Rose

On a serious self-discovering, soul-searching journey. Breaking myself out of a stagnant shell and reaching out for my dream of being a writer. Small steps but this is my start! Please help me by commenting your feedback, I'd be grateful!

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock4 months ago

    I love every bit of this, Tressa! Absolutely heartwarming and tear-jerking. (Amazing what a simple strip of fabric can do with a little bit of time.)

  • Babs Iverson4 months ago

    Lovely heart-warming story!! Loving it!!!❤️❤️💕

  • M. A. Mehan 4 months ago

    Beautiful! The narrator reveal at the end was a total gut-punch!

  • Misty Rae4 months ago

    Excellent entry, and I've been that girl.

  • Cathy holmes4 months ago

    Wonderful, creative entry. I was considering writing something along the same lines, but you nailed it. Well done.

  • Lovely story and a great challenge entry

  • Raymond G. Taylor4 months ago

    Beautifully written with heartfelt beginning and ending

  • Ah, I thought it was happiness! But self confidence made it even more powerful! I'll never forgive that ex boyfriend who cheated on her with her bully! Loved your story!

  • Test4 months ago

    Rose you have a true talent for writing. I must say that this was a very well written piece that I also enjoyed a lot.

  • Phil Flannery4 months ago

    Yes, very good.

  • Stephanie Hoogstad4 months ago

    This was so sweet and at once heartbreaking and uplifting. At first, I thought it was going to be her reflection that she avoided looking at, but it completely makes sense that it's her self-confidence. What a creative twist on the misplaced objects challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.