Fiction logo

Looking Back

When Love Doesn't Last

By Lauren P.Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Looking Back
Photo by Evangelina Silina on Unsplash

Sitting down to Sunday brunch is a tradition I’ve always enjoyed, even when I’m by myself. There’s something so special about that dedicated time to luxuriate in extravagant food, people watch, and enjoy the bubbling atmosphere of my fellow brunchers. This morning I’m trying a new restaurant my coworker gave a raving review. Bright sunlight pours through the wall of windows, putting the bustle and drama of the city on display for the diners. The round tables are covered with crisp white tablecloths, surrounded by light wood chairs, and on each table sits pale pink linen napkins, glassware and cutlery, a pitcher of lemon cucumber water, and a vase containing a vibrant yellow marigold.

Marigolds.

Suddenly, I’m transported back in time to a field of marigolds and the most perfect day. We had packed a picnic and driven out to the countryside, setting up beneath a tree surrounded by marigolds, the sky perfectly blue, with fluffy white clouds. We had nibbled at our food for hours, laying back and pointing out the shapes in the clouds. I had read with your head resting in my lap, and we had cuddled into each other while we watched the sun set, enjoying the peace that simply being together brought. We told jokes and laughed so much my abs hurt the entire next day, but also discussed our hopes and dreams for the future, the constant in both being that we would be together, happier than ever. At the time, I really believed we would be. That we were forever.

We had such an amazing life, it was effervescent. Full of animated conversations, dancing on sidewalks, debating the qualities and faults of movies and music. We could be across the room from each other and our gazes would always find their way back to the other, two stars orbiting our entire lives around each other. We were so wrapped up in the rush we got from being together that we didn’t notice the cracks. The cracks showing our fundamental differences, which we would never be able to compromise. The cracks that crumbled into great ravines when we both focused too much on our careers instead of our relationship. The glow of our burning stars seeped slowly through and then all at once, until we were both left in the dark.

I had never felt real heartbreak until then, when we finally called it quits after years of true, wild, energetically happy love. With my heart ripped out, I bawled my eyes out, drunk on the bathroom floor, grieving for our future that would never be. I cried until I fell asleep, but woke in the middle of the night to him carrying me to the bed and spooning his body around mine one last time, knowing it would calm my aching heart. In spite of everything, we still loved each other, we just couldn’t make it work.

When I think about our relationship I tend to only remember the good times, the times that make me long for one more day with him. But then I force myself to step back and remember all the reasons we broke up. It wasn’t sunshine and fireworks all the time, those are just the memories that made the most lasting impression. There’s nothing wrong with remembering times of joy, so long as I hold on to the acceptance that we are both better off. Because really, we both have so many options available to us in our futures, but a future together isn’t one.

“Ma’am? Are you ready to order?” the waiter questions tentatively.

I snap back to the present, realizing my mind has been so wrapped up in the past, I haven’t even glanced at the menu. Quickly scanning my eyes over the menu, a small smile creeps on to my lips as I order our favorite and begin to reminisce once again.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Lauren P.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.