Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Llion the Brave Version 1

A Story Every Day in 2024 June 20th 172/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 8 days ago 2 min read
Llion the Brave Version 1
Photo by Elena Maffioli on Unsplash

Her screams diminished as Llion was dragged away from the cell. The stench in the corridor was less but there was still damp, decay, defecation, death. His feet dragged, like a raggedy puppet, the guard either side of him holding him fast. He could feel their individual fingers digging into his scant flesh, leaving their impression on his bones.

Anwen's shrieks continued.

"Don't leave me! Don't leave me!"

Sobs receded with distance as the trio continued past torches and barred doors and their moans and misery to...where?

He didn't know. He didn't care. He had tried to fight and the guards had taken him, like they were holding a piece of vellum. It was the most helpless moment of his life. His heart grew tight as he thought of Anwen, crying out to him. He hated leaving her; it scored his soul. But he was glad too, as he had a feeling that he was going to his death.

"Where're we taking him?"

"The Chamberlain."

This was news. He'd rather be hung.

He steeled himself to the faint background noise of Anwen's anguished cries.

*

"Oh, they have treated you badly, haven't they?"

Llion peered at the hated man, hoping he could feel his enmity boring into him.

The Chamberlain stared at him, keenly.

"Still not broken? I admire your resistance. I will be quite sad when it's...you're...gone." The Chamberlain trailed his hand over a chair as he moved around Llion.

"I have a proposal for you."

Llion wanted to spit but remained still, his muscles burning with the effort.

"A glorious quest!"

The Chamberlain turned quickly and grabbed Llion's chin.

"You will do it. What choice do you have? Anwen will be safe. With me."

Llion's heart lurched. His love...

"It is simple. Merlin. Bring him to me. If you are successful, you may live."

It was a death sentence either way.

"Kill me now," Llion managed to grunt.

The Chamberlain laughed.

"But where's the fun in that?"

*

Merlin watched through his scrying eye. He smiled and awaited the arrival of Llion the Brave, not with fear but a flicker of anticipation as he reflected on how it could be used to his advantage.

***

366 words

A return to a Merlin story and I'm playing with this one because in a day's time, I'm going to release another version of it. Writing every day is useful; I am using it in many ways as an experiment, compelled as I am, under the terms of the challenge, to write and release something every day. Why not use it to play and stretch and imagine?

So, the essence will remain the same, but the ending will be different. I'd love to know which one you prefer and why.

You see, whilst writing it, I thought of two ways that I wanted it to go but decided that I had to relinquish one...or so, I initially thought. Why not write both?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

172/366

Short StoryPsychologicalMysteryMicrofictionLoveHistoricalFantasyAdventure

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • John Cox5 days ago

    This is both intriguing and hopeful, Rachel. As a reader, I definitely prefer it to the Second version since it offers hope and room to maneuver the story without relying on some form of outside rescue. Otherwise it’s simply a march to a good man’s utter humiliation and death. That said, obliviously i’m not the writer. You may have a half dozen clever tricks in your sleeve. Look forward to you revealing the final narrative arc for your story!

  • Shirley Belk5 days ago

    You write so vividly and put the reader right there in the midst of it all!

  • Lana V Lynx5 days ago

    This was gripping, Rachel. It kept me on edge through all the 366 words.

  • Paul Stewart6 days ago

    Oh you had be captivated from the first word. And then the appearance of Merlin...intriguing stuff. Will reserve judgement or thoughts until I've read the other one, but loved how this turned out and love that you're having fun and experimenting.

  • Oooo, seeing Merlin again was a pleasant surprise! I'm eager to read the other version!

  • Caroline Craven7 days ago

    Such beautiful language in this. Can’t wait to read the alt ending.

  • D.K. Shepard7 days ago

    Yay! I’ve love your Merlin stories!! Very strong scene writing and sense of character with Llion! Been exposing my husband to the BBC Merlin tv series so very in the mood for more Merlin content

  • This is so incredibly descriptive! I can imagine the cell perfectly! Great work!

Rachel DeemingWritten by Rachel Deeming

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.