Fiction logo

Little Women: of the 90s

A Little Women Fanfiction

By Becky ArthursPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Little Women: of the 90s
Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Chapter 1: Playing Pilgrims

In a small apartment in Concord, Massachusetts, warmed and yellowed by the crackling fire sat four young girls. They sat in their living space with it’s walls of cream, full of overstuffed and over loved furniture.

Around a small coffee table sat Meg, Jo, Beth and Amy, spread across the table in front of them was a very loved game that they had played since the girls were young. The broken and weathered box sat on the floor next to Amy and read “Pilgrims” on the front.

Meg was oldest at 18 and she sat on the couch leaning over the game in a long, pink nightgown. Jo sat across from her on the floor leaning against an olive colored armchair with her knees pulled up under her chin, Jo was 17 and wore matching cotton pajamas. The two younger girls, Amy, 14 and Beth 15, sat on either side in nightgowns of light blue and were currently arguing about the game.

“Amy, Beth, enough” Meg huffed. “It is Christmas, can we just get along?”

“Christmas, some Christmas, father is away and Marmee is working and were not getting any presents!” Amy whined. “It isn’t fair, everyone at school is talking about new CDs for their discmans, some girls even have makeup! I don’t have a discman or makeup!” Amy said, sounding frantic.

Jo chimed in then “At least you have a chance with CDs and makeup, I can’t have a skateboard or a hacky sack even with my own money, Marmee and father say they’re for boys” Jo blew a raspberry with her tongue before flopping down on her side on the floor.

“I need new clothes, makeup, books, everything before I go to college, you are all being children, you don’t hear me whining” Meg said chastely.

“Sounds whiny to me” Jo whispered under her breath.

Before Meg could wallop Jo with the couch pillow Beth stood up.

“Enough, all of you, Marmee works hard and Father even harder to give us this warm home, to ensure you can go to school Meg, and we all will someday. You’re all the most childish.” Beth turned and walked out of the room quickly.

This left all the girls feeling rather terrible. Beth was quiet and sweet and it took a lot to upset her, and they had.

The girls sat in silence until Jo stood and muttered she would speak with her and left the room. Not a minute later Marmee came in the door.

The girls had always called her Marmee and she was a tall motherly looking woman, as she came through the door in an old, warm, grey wrap and warm hat she smiled from ear to ear. She called out, “I have a letter” as she held up a brown envelope.

Meg and Amy jumped to their feet as Beth and Jo ran back into the room. Beth wiped at her eyes that had been full of frustrated tears, but her smile now was beaming.

The girls and Marmee settled on and around the couch nice and close so Marmee could read the letter, Beth at her feet, Amy and Meg nestled in next to her and Jo stood behind, to hide any emotion her face may show.

“I am so proud of father for going to chaplain for our troops as they fight for us” Meg said in the way only she could, wise and mature past her years.

“I just wish I were allowed to go, as anything at all, not a boy job I know, maybe a nurse, so I could be with him” Jo exclaimed!

“Not me, no thank you, it’s probably dirty and cold, and father has spoken of sleeping in tents” Amy pulled a face.

“When will he be home Marmee” Beth said in a quiet distraught voice

“Not for awhile I fear, but we will stand strong and supportive and not wish him home a minute sooner then he is needed” Marmee said unfolding the letter.

There was a page for just Marmee’s eyes but the back was for the girls

Now, I send my love and a kiss for each of you. I think of you all every day, and pray for you all every night, and my spirits are kept high by your love. A year is a long time and I miss you all greatly, but I know you are doing your very best in your school and work to make me proud. I know you will care and help Marmee and each other and when I come back I will be even prouder of you, my little women.

Everyone sniffled and tightened around each other, even Jo in the back had a tear on her cheek.

All the girls thought of their silly Christmas thoughts and promised to be better as they cleaned up and headed to bed that Christmas eve night.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Becky Arthurs

Fiction, Fantasy, Magic and Myth

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.