Fiction logo

Little Women: If Beth Had Lived 10

Beth Finds Out She's Pregnant

By Angela Denise Fortner RobertsPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like
Little Women: If Beth Had Lived 10
Photo by Alicia Petresc on Unsplash

"Do you think she'll be able to carry this child to term and deliver safely in spite of that bout of scarlet fever she had some years ago? It's always been in the back of my mind that her heart may have been damaged by that," Laurie asked Dr. Bangs when Beth was out of earshot.

"She seems perfectly healthy," Dr. Bangs assured him. "I believe that her recovery from scarlet fever was complete and that she can safely carry and give birth to this child without fear of complications."

Beth stood waiting for Laurie with her eyes shining with joy. She had wanted this pregnancy so badly. It had never even occurred to her to worry about the possible consequences to her health.

"Oh, Laurie, I'm so happy." She placed both hands on either side of Laurie's face. He covered them with his own.

"Listen to me, Beth. It's very important that you take good care of yourself from now on. I want you to get as much rest as you can and eat plenty of healthy food. And please, try not to worry too much about anything. Let me do the worrying for both of us."

"You do that anyway, Laurie." They both laughed at the truth of her words. "Now, I must tell my Jo the news."

"Oh, of course," Laurie said. "You stay here and rest. I'll go tell her."

"No, Laurie. Please let me tell her myself."

Laurie laughed. "All right."

When they arrived at the March home, Jo was sitting on the sofa reading a letter from Fritz. When she saw Beth and Laurie come in, she hurriedly jumped up and went to meet them.

"Beth! Teddy! How are you both?"

"We're both fine. Beth has some news she wants to share with you." Laurie winked at his wife.

"I'm going to have a baby, Jo!" Beth exclaimed.

"Oh, Beth!" Jo embraced her sister tightly. "That's wonderful!" A shadow fell across her face, one which Beth didn't notice but Laurie did.

"Are you all right, Jo?" he asked softly.

She sighed. "I'm fine, Teddy, and I really am happy for you both. It's just that...well, after all, it's good for me to be apart from him for awhile, as it teaches me patience, a virtue I've been sadly lacking for my entire life."

"I know what you mean. It's a struggle for me as well." Laurie grinned. "Fortunately, my wife has enough for both of us."

"That's one of the things I've always loved about her," Jo agreed. "Do take good care of her, Teddy. She needs you now more than she ever has before."

"Of course I will," Laurie told her.

"We must tell your grandfather as well," Beth said.

"All right. One more visit, and then I'm taking you home to get some rest," Laurie replied.

"My dear girl!" the elderly gentleman said when they told him the news. "I can scarcely believe that you and my boy are truly old enough to be parents. Do take good care of her, Theodore," he said to Laurie.

"On my honor," Laurie assured him.

The journey home was fairly silent. Beth imagined herself holding her baby, caring for him or her. Laurie imagined a child running across the field, a bunch of flowers clutched in a fat hand, himself waiting with open arms.

Laurie prepared dinner for them both and cleaned up while Beth rested. They went to bed that night with Laurie's arms around Beth and her head resting on his shoulder.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Angela Denise Fortner Roberts

I have been writing since I was nine years old. My favorite subjects include historical romance, contemporary romance, and horror.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.