Fiction logo

Light through Shadows

With death comes new life.

By Karissa KingPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
One of the old ruins scattered across The New World.

We knew it was coming. We knew it was inevitable. And yet... None of us knew what would happen after. Would we live on and find paradise? Rise from the ashes like a Phoenix, continuing with our daily lives like nothing happened? Or would everything just... stop? No life, no light or darkness. Nothingness.

To be honest; Nothingness would be a dream come true compared to the life I live. The Starbeings, an elven race thought to be only true in fairy tales, grew tired of humanities neglect to “Their” Mother Earth. They all came out of hiding ready to take back their home and undo all our mistakes for a final time.

Reigning from parts of the world we thought were inhabitable and out of reach. We went to war unaware of how unmatched we really were. These elves used magic. Real magic. Sure, we had our armies but what good are they when their armies can cause the ground beneath our feet to crumble? Or manipulate the gravity around us forcing us to our knees? Perhaps fire and ice are more your way to go? Either way, we never stood a chance. Finally bowing down and giving in to their way of life, society changed forever.

Now I spend my days writing in these books hoping to never forget about the world I used to know. Wonder if a someone found these yet? Are you enjoying my terrible handwriting? How’s-

“Kai!” A familiar voice roars from down the alley. Shutting the old leather-bound diary, I shove it back into my satchel annoyed that my free time was interrupted.

"Can you not yell Danny?" My gruff voice barely audible over the thumps of heavy footsteps. Looking down the damp alleyway to see my only friend totally out of breath jogging over to me.

"Well don't sound so excited to see me! We got a new job, look." Catching his breath, Danny shoved a wrinkled piece of paper in face. Sporting his usual happy go lucky smile.

"Alright, alright calm down," I grab the paper a smirk forming across my dirt-stained face. I doubt its anything too difficult for me, just another bedlam job for little coin... you have got to be kidding me. Meeting my overly excited friends soft brown eyes, "Danny? Where the hell did you get this? Did you even read what the job is for?"

"I hate reading besides it's for you. Anyway, I was hanging around the Rats Den waiting to hear some good stuff and then BAM! Gragus showed up looking for a certain someone." He raises his thick brows eyeing me a bit too much before continuing his ramble. "Everyone knows you're the best thief in town so I told him I could find you and well... here we are. So? Ya takin it?"

The look on my face clearly did not reach my dear friends’ happy bubble. "That greedy dolt wants someone to break into the Sylphine Castle. Ya know, the place where people go in and never come out. And for some..." I pause looking back at the sheet, "Heart-shaped locket? That’s held in the princesses’ chambers. Danny this is just asking to be captured. We can't accept this." I shoved the paper back into his ruff hands before making my way down the alley seeing a large crow on a stack of old barrels, is it watching us?

"He said he'll pay us 10,000 gold coin for it." Hearing the mention of such a large amount of coin did catch my interest. Neither of us have ever seen that much gold let alone have it for ourselves. I could finally afford a real home for a few months, maybe longer, and still have plenty left over. I pulled the ragged hood of my cloth cloak over my unruly short hair, eyeing the crow with unease before signing to calm my nerves.

“Fine, I’ll take it. But I’m going in alone. I wont risk having you captured with me.” Turning swiftly on the heels of my worn-out grey boots to face Danny who was looking like a lost puppy. “I’m serious Danny. We can meet at the Rat’s Den a quarter after midnight. If I’m not there don’t come looking for me. You go to our hideout, take whatever you can and skip town. Got it?” I finish my little lecture crossing my arms the sides of my knee length cloak covering up most of my body.

“Yeah yeah I got it. Ya know for someone that’s younger you sure do sound like a mom.” Danny waves a large hand walking up to me and forcing me into a bear hug. His large solid frame a beacon of comfort for me, not that I would ever tell him that.

“Khaw!”

The crow screeched making us both jump while it flapped its wings before taking flight as if it were waiting for my answer. I watched it become an unseen spec against the dusk sky. This could not be a good thing…

“So, what’s your plan anyway?”

“Get in, grab the locket, get out. If the oak tree on the eastside of the castle wall is still in tack, I can use that to get over… of course finding a way out is a different story. Maybe the underground tunnels reach the castle? I could use them for my escape.” My voice tailed off lost in thought. My plan should work so long as the princess isn’t around… what does she even look like?

Danny waved a hand in my face gaining my attention, “Helloooo? What about the princess? She’s a royal, so ya know that means she’s got that magic power stuff. How ya dealin with that?”

“I’ll figure it out. Here, take this back for me.” I handed Danny my tattered satchel containing the dairy about the old world and other small belongings. He sighed peeking into the bag obviously ready to poke fun at the fact that I keep rereading the same old book. “Just take it with you please.” I let a soft laugh escape my lips seeing his rugged face form a smile back at me. Patting my head Danny took his leave heading to our hideout while I kept to the shadows along the trail to my newest assignment.

____________________________________________________

The leaves of the large oak tree rustled softly in the breeze, the crescent moon barely visible in the night sky. Bong Bong, Bong Bong! Four bells rang out from the towns clocktower, 10 o’clock. Time to get to work. Leaping down with a soft grunt from the tree’s overhang into the dark courtyard of this massive castle, I quickly made my way to a nearby shack keeping to the shadows. Looking around I was surprised by the lack of guards.

“Works for me…” mumbling to myself underneath the cloth mask that covered my face only revealing my forest green eyes. I pulled out a small piece of parchment paper from the thigh pocket of my fitted pants, comparing the poorly drawn map to my surroundings. Lucky for me I landed close to royal chambers. Now to find my way in and grab that damn locket.

Only seeing two guardsmen during this whole endeavor did seem odd but I wasn’t about to worry over it. Finally finding the tower I needed, the only one with a large Yggdrasil symbol etched into its wall. Totally discreet… good job lousy elves. I swiftly made my way around the tower to see a large ladder tucked away behind some rose bushes. As if someone else had been using it to get in and out of the tower.

“What in the world is goin on? First the lack of guards and now this? Whatever… It’s gotta be close to 11 by now. Don’t want to keep Danny waiting.” I spoke under my breath clicking my tongue while setting up the ladder to make my way into the tower.

Upon reaching the open window I took a quick glance around before silently entering the large room. It was filled with deep blue and royal purple tones and gave off a calming yet magical aura. Paintings of the large Ice Land were hung on the wall. I had only read about this place in the diaries I found, Antarctica. Before getting too distracted I searched the room for anything resembling this heart locket. When I went over to the large bed covered in dark silk sheets that looked as though they would melt in my filthy hands, I saw the ornate object I was searching for. Sitting in a small velvet lined ash wooden box was the locket, Yggdrasil was carved into the metal its branches reaching around the heart. It certainly looked magical which told me not to touch the locket itself. Snatching the box up and putting it into the pocket with my makeshift map, I quickly made my way back to the open window.

“Too easy. Now to get out of here.” Speaking to myself as I placed the ladder back in its hiding place. I knew I couldn’t use the same way in, so I started looking for anything that resembled a sewer or underground passageway. Not too far away from the tower, part of the protective wall surrounding this godly castle appeared to have a few stones sticking out, like steps. No way… talk about luck.

Climbing the wall was a piece of cake. Now standing on the edge ready to leap down to my freedom and get this job over with, a sudden icy cold pain shot through me. It slowly consumed me, radiating from my side. I looked down to see a long ice spear protruding through me, just under my rib cage the ice gleamed in the moonlight, droplets of blood left my body, spattering the top of the wall. When I hit the hard Earth, I realized what was happening. I was dying.

“The thief fell! Quickly, retrieve their body!”

The muffled yells sounded from behind the wall. Darkness was closing in, my breathing ragged, body going numb.

“It’s ok… Don’t… help you.” A soft voice was speaking to me, but I could barely keep my eyes open enough to see who it was coming from. Their words barely reaching my ears. I felt delicate fingers brush my cheek, telling me this was not Danny.

The heart locket stashed away, the last vision of a figure with eyes like the ocean and long flowing hair that rivaled the sun burned into my mind as darkness consumed me.

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Karissa King

She/Her | Veteran | Art Student

My imagination is where I hide and writing is my escape from reality.

If you read my stories please feel free to leave a comment; I would love to read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.