Fiction logo

A Light through Shadows

Chapter 3: Stuck with me

By Karissa KingPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

Two days had passed before I was able to walk comfortably. Well, more like allowed too since Danny would not leave my side until I was better, I couldn't do anything on my own. I had awoken in the early morning; a crows call jerking me awake. I rolled over to see my messy haired friend slouched over in the one large chair fast asleep. He looked so calm and at peace, so I decided not to wake him. Grabbing my belongings, I made my way out of the inn and into the early morning streets.

I had no idea where I would go. The thought of Gragus finding me crossed my mind, which caused me to pull my hood over my head to help conceal my face. He would never come looking for me on his own. Gragus would send his lackeys to find me, lucky for me they more than likely wouldn't know what I look like. There is the chance that they all think I'm dead. Why hasn't he tried to come after the locket? Unless... he never wanted it in the first place? Did he... just want me dead?

My thoughts raced as I strolled down the empty streets of this grey town. Nothing was making much sense anymore. Especially the idea of some random woman being the one that helped me.

"Hey pretty *hiccup* lady. Whatcha hidin your face for?"

The slurring voice of a drunk came from behind me. It was an old man covered in soot, must be a miner. I didn't bother stopping but the man had stumbled his way up to me. Old ale lingered around the drunk as he leaned over to try and take my hood off.

"I wouldn't do that." My voice left my mouth with a growl behind it. Smacking the man's hand away from me, I turned to face him before quickly tripping him.

Thump!

He fell onto his back not even trying to stand back up. Seeing that he was no longer an issue for me, I continued my walk. I decided to go to my hideout in the clocktower to read through more of my books. Maybe I could find something about this locket and the elves.

Just outside the worn-down tower were two elven guards speaking with each other. I quickly hid sticking to the shadows so I could get closer and hear what they were rambling about.

"I'm just speaking the truth. As a princess of the great Sylphine Kingdom, she should learn to stay in her place-"

"And so should you!" The taller of the two had raised a hand to strike the other guard but never went through with it.

"Let's just keep looking. Our King won't let us sleep until she's found."

"I'm just relieved we weren't the ones on duty last night when she escaped."

I watched them leave before coming out of the shadows to investigate around the tower. Once I knew nothing was left behind, it didn't look like they even went inside, I sighed. So, the princess has a habit of leaving the castle? Wonder if that's why the streets were so empty, no one wants to be questioned by the Royal Guard. Taking one last look around I entered the clocktower from the collapsed side entrance. One of these days the tower would come tumbling down.

Cobwebs and dust covered every corner of this place. The roofing was sprawled across what was left of the flooring. It was a miracle the clock still worked; it's bongs could be heard every two hours until 12am. No one ever came in here out of fear of it coming down on them; Perfect for a thief like me. The small basement was my sanctuary, holding all my belongings and a small cot for me to sleep. I stopped in my tracks as I looked over to the corner of the basement, someone was kneeling between a few large boxes, like they were trying to hide. I quickly grabbed the dagger I kept in a secret holder inside my boot, slowly moving closer to the shaking being.

"Don't make any sudden movements, who are you?" I tried to stay as calm as I could. My side was still aching from my old wound, I couldn't handle a big confrontation right now.

To my surprise, a blonde head slowly peaked out from the large hood that was covering the mysterious figure. Then our eyes met, I was lost in a never-ending ocean. I shook my thoughts away and readied my weapon.

"Please... Do not hurt me. I was trying to hide."

The intruder's voice was faint and a bit shaky. Why would someone other than me want to hide here? But, if she's telling the truth, that could only mean one thing. I lowered my dagger and placed it on the small table to my left.

"There were two guards looking for the princess earlier. Apparently, she likes to escape from the castle. Never thought I'd meet her, nor did I expect to be saved by her either." I spoke walking closer until I was standing over her. Squatting down to be face to face, she was certainly the women from that night. Judging by the look on her face, she was also the princess. "So, why hide here? Why leave your cozy little room just to end up in this crumbling clocktower?"

Before I could ask anything else I was caught off guard when I felt arms wrapping around me. She was hugging me. Her small frame slowly closing the space between us.

"You're actually ok! I was so worried when I couldn't return to check in on you." Finally pulling away from me, her eyes meeting mine once again.

"Um... Wait, you didn't answer my questions. And who just hugs a stranger like that? I could've hurt you." I fumbled over my words forcing myself to look away and stand back up.

"Oh, I'm sorry. I suppose that was too much. I'm hiding because I can't go back to the castle. Someone is trying to kill me. First, they stole my mother's locket and then just the other night an intruder was chased out of my chambers. And it doesn't help to know wounded people are being left outside the castle walls. Two more were found after you... they didn't make it. It's not safe there... so I escaped and happened to find my way here. I'm so grateful you were the one to find me."

Hearing her mention the locket made me bite my lower lip. Without much thought I pulled the small locket from out of my thigh pocket being sure not to touch the heart itself. It slowly swayed by the silk ribbon holding it as I held it out in front of me.

"About that... As a thank you for saving my life. I only took the locket, someone else is stalking you and leaving corpses around the castle."

"That's what you were doing that night?" The princess asked as she snatched the locket from me, no reaction, she must not have been shocked. "But, how did you know I'd be out? Have I been being watched long before this?"

While she asked her questions, I couldn't help but notice her appearance. Her hood had fallen to reveal long golden hair and porcelain skin. The signature pointed ears showed through her hair; She certainly wasn't bad to look at. Although her robe covered most of her body, I could tell she was slender. So fragile, I'd be afraid to break her.

"The guy that wanted me to steal that offered me a lot of coin for it. But he hasn't even tried to get it back yet, like he doesn't care. It got me thinking... What if he never wanted it in the first place? That job was far too easy. There weren't any guards until the end. Right before you showed up. I certainly would've died if you hadn't been there. Then I woke up to find that damn locket still with me." I spit everything out rather quickly and waited for her to respond.

"Did you touch it?"

"Excuse me? Everything I said and that's-"

"Did it react to you?"

Being cut off was not something I enjoyed, "it... sorta zapped me. But it didn't do anything to my friend when he touched it. Or you. I'm guessing you know why?"

"No, unfortunately I don't. My father won't let me read my mother's diaries; I know she wrote more about this locket in them. All I know is that it's a key; To what? I have no idea." She finished her sentence going over to my makeshift bed to sit. "So stranger, I should properly introduce myself. I'm Reina Sylphine and whether you like it or not, our lives are intertwined with one another."

I stood there dumb founded. How could she just say that so nonchalantly? Our lives are intertwined? Before I could stand there even longer without saying a word I shifted in place.

"Uh, I'm Kai. Just Kai for now, you don't need to know more than that."

"So, you'll tell me eventually? That must mean you're not kicking me out." She spoke with a smile on her face causing me to look away before I could embarrass myself.

"Guess I'm stuck with you huh?"

Series
Like

About the Creator

Karissa King

She/Her | Veteran | Art Student

My imagination is where I hide and writing is my escape from reality.

If you read my stories please feel free to leave a comment; I would love to read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.