Fiction logo

I Never Listen Anyway

A half prince, an owl, and the maiden that captured their hearts.

By Karissa KingPublished 2 years ago 8 min read
Like

A prince must always put his kingdom first. At least that’s what my father would tell me. I was never one to listen. My older brother on the other hand, is the heir every King wishes to have. Strong willed, intelligent, handsome, and loved by all; He could do no wrong. Then there’s the bastard son, the half prince that avoids his duties and chooses to associate with the poor over his own family; I’ll never change.

“Alexander!”

My brother, David Iverson, came storming into the large library where I chose to hide from this morning’s feast.

“I thought libraries were a place of peace and quiet? Or am I mistaken?” I speak not bothering to avert my eyes from an old book as I listened to David’s loud thuds come closer. He snatched the book I was reading out of my hand and tossed it onto the small table.

“Father was asking for you. Must you insist on making us look like fools in front of the other royal families?” I could feel the heavy gaze from David searing into me. He was always so easily angered when it came to me.

Standing from the dark blue velvet chair, I ran a hand through my short thick brown hair making sure to smirk at my dear older brother.

“Haven’t you gotten the message? I don’t want anything to do with those pointless feasts. You’re the next heir, not me.”

David crossed his arms ad sighed loudly, “That’s not the point Alexander… People are starting to ask questions about you. About you and a certain shop girl. Why are you so taken with her anyway? She can’t offer you anything of value, she’s not of royal blood, you should be-“

“Be more like you!?” My anger boiled over suddenly cause me to interrupt my brother. “Marry some random woman because father tells you to? I refuse to let that man control every aspect of my life. I see her because she’s the only person that treats me as just a normal man. Miss Alba is not after my wealth or royal bloodline, she didn’t even know my name. I can be myself around her, not some copy of a failed king.”

I could see I hit a nerve within my brother as he tried to hold back his urge to strike me. He simply shook his large head before leaving me alone in my favorite part of the library. I had always hoped to bring Miss Alba here one day. She would love the old apothecary books.

Leaving the castle grounds was no problem for me these days. Most simply looked away and whispered to each other as I walked out to find Miss Alba. A small barn owl glided over to me, its wings silently carrying the young bird closer to me. It perched itself on a nearby bench waiting for me.

“Did she send you to come fetch me? Or maybe you just missed me?” I asked running a finger along the owls soft feathers.

“Odin! How many times must I tell you not to fly off without me?” A voice like a soft melody caused my heart to sing.

“Oh, Miss Alba, there’s no need to worry. Odin just wanted to greet me before you.” I couldn’t help but smile and let a soft chuckle leave my lips.

“Again, Alex? It’s Skylar. All that formal talk is for the royals, not me.” She smiled as her dear friend Odin made his way over to her padded shoulder ruffling his feathers. Skylar was shorter than me. The top of her head was up to my shoulders, her hair was as dark as night, her olive skin was as warm as the sun, her eyes rivaled the ocean.

“Yes, yes, my apologies. Speaking of royals… Seems word about us is getting around. Not that I care. However, I wouldn’t put it pass one of the other families to do something in order to get you out of the way.” Just speaking those words made my blood run hot. I couldn’t stand the thought of someone hurting the one person that made me happy.

Hoot hoo, hwooot!

Odin brought me out of my thoughts, I hadn’t noticed how close Skylar had gotten to me. Only a mere few inches apart, she looked even more mesmerizing; I could kiss her perfect lips.

“Didn’t I tell you to leave me alone ages ago? Now Odin is attached to you, so you’re stuck with me.” Stepping back a bit now the young women flicked her shoulder length hair behind her free shoulder before speaking again, “if someone really wanted to get rid of me they would’ve done it by now. I mean it’s not like you’re trying to marry me into the family anyway.”

Her laugh made it easier to hide the pain of her thinking I wouldn’t want to marry her. If it were up to me… We’d be wed and living somewhere far from this god forsaken kingdom. I guess I’ve been reading to many romance books as of late.

We walked together down the busy afternoon streets of the town. Many citizens nodded and smiled in Skylars direction, they all loved her, especially since she ran the best apothecary in town. Her herbs and medicines helped where the King and his army could not. She healed their hearts and brought them true peace.

Coming to the dark burgundy door of the shop, I opened it letting Skylar and her owl in first before entering. The walls were covered in shelving and bookcases all filled with different herbs, potions, tinctures, everything a skilled medicine worker would need. It was dimly lit by candles and the few open windows that let the bright sun rays cascade in. The smell of lavender and sage always circulated the room.

“Did you clean up? It seems… tidier.” I said a bit sarcastically. Odin flew to his usual perch right next to the small table in the corner of the room where Skylar worked.

“Very funny, it was only a mess in here the first time you showed up. I have to say having a drunken prince stumble into here was something I never imagined. You’re lucky Odin was still a little owlet at the time.”

Hoo ooh! Odin perked up agreeing with his owner.

I never would forget that night. Another day of avoiding my brother and princely duties that ended with me stumbling in here after a tavern fight I caused. It was the first time a women had no idea who I was. Even after I explained everything to her, she never changed the way treated me.

“So, Alex, what are you planning to do? With your family? You can’t keep avoiding them or your duties forever.” Skylar brought out two cups of hot lavender and mint tea sitting at the somewhat clean table motioning for me to sit with her. I sat across from her, letting the worn cup warm my cold hands.

“I… there is something I plan to do. But, it wont be easy. I wouldn’t be surprised if I’m casted out for even suggesting it…” I paused looking for the right words. “Will you come to castle with me?”

The question came out quickly before I could stop myself. Skylar nearly spit her tea out staring at me with shock, “Me? Go to the castle with you? Are you crazy?! They would never let someone like me in. I mean look at me. My attire doesn’t exactly… fit in.” She bit her lower lip in embarrassment.

She wore an olive green corset with a matching ankle length layered skirt, a beige long sleeved chemise underneath. Smudges could be seen on her skirt from the work she did around the shop. Skylar never wore any jewelry, I always wondered what she would look like adorned in what she called royal attire. She'd make for a beautiful queen.

"Like I've said before, I'd be more than willing to buy you new clothes. I'd get you whatever you want. Not that I think you need to change the way you look... you've captured my eyes just the way you are now." I spoke not holding back my smile as her cheeks turned a slight rosy color.

"Oh stop trying to make me blush." Skylars' laugh filled the room, making my heart flutter.

"You know I never listen."

We exchanged a good laugh while drinking the soothing tea, spending a majority of the day talking and enjoying each others company. It was times like this that made me never want to return to my normal life; Well, normal for royals. Being here with Skylar and Odin is all I ever wanted.

Oooh, hwoo! Odin cooed from his corner looking over at me.

One maiden was able to capture both our hearts. A sad excuse for a half prince and little barn owl. Neither of us wanted to be without her. If it were up to me we'd all stay together...

Forever.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Karissa King

She/Her | Veteran | Art Student

My imagination is where I hide and writing is my escape from reality.

If you read my stories please feel free to leave a comment; I would love to read them!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.