Fiction logo

Life is about challenges

and how we learn from them

By Phil FlanneryPublished about a year ago Updated 6 months ago 1 min read
3
Life is about challenges
Photo by Uriel Soberanes on Unsplash

It sat there staring back at me, threatening me with a blankness I found terrifying. The longer it held my gaze, the deeper the black abyss seemed to grow in the pit of my stomach. I could feel my brain tightening with rage. My nerves, like live wires, prickled at the thought of my imminent demise.

I’m not going out like this, this challenge won’t beat me, it’s not my first and it won’t be my last. That’s what life is, isn’t it? But the constraints of three lines and seventeen syllables is too much. I hate Haiku.

Short StorySatireHumor
3

About the Creator

Phil Flannery

Damn it, I'm 61 now, which means I'm into my fourth year on Vocal, I have an interesting collection of stories. I love the Challenges and enter, when I can, but this has become a lovely hobby.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Jay Kantorabout a year ago

    Hi Phil ~ As nothing more than an old-fashion story teller I don't get "Haiku" or profound (4) word poems; but, I appreciate your insight into it. Thank you for telling me about the "Job that you Love." If you would like to know something about me please checkout (3) minute 'Polyester' Jay

  • Lol, did not see that coming! This was fantastic!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.