Fiction logo

Life in the Shadow of Mount Rundle

A Story of Community, Culture, and the Canadian Rockies

By MaikiPublished 12 months ago 3 min read
Like
Beautiful Mount Rundle in Banff National Park, Canada

John was a park ranger in Banff National Park. He loved his job, and he got to spend his days exploring the mountains and educating visitors about the park's natural wonders.

One day, John was walking down the street in Banff when he saw a woman taking pictures of Mount Rundle. He was impressed with her photos, so he stopped to talk to her.

"Those are great photos," John said. "What camera are you using?"

"Thanks," the woman said. "I'm using the Canon EOS R6. It's a great camera for landscape photography."

"I've been thinking about getting a new camera," John said. "Do you think the Canon EOS R6 is a good choice?"

"I definitely recommend it," the woman said. "It's a very versatile camera that can handle a variety of photography tasks. Plus, it's very well-made and durable."

John thanked the woman for her advice, and he went to the store to buy a Canon EOS R6. He was very happy with his purchase, and he used the camera to take many beautiful photos of Mount Rundle and the Canadian Rockies.

John and the woman, whose name was Mary, started dating soon after that. They were both passionate about photography, and they loved spending time together in the mountains.

One day, John and Mary were hiking in the mountains when they came across a beautiful meadow. The meadow was full of wildflowers, and the sun was shining brightly. John and Mary stopped to take a picture of the meadow, and they started talking about their dreams for the future.

"I want to travel the world and take pictures of all the beautiful places I see," John said.

"I want to write a book of poetry about the beauty of nature," Mary said.

A reminder that love is all around us

John and Mary smiled at each other. They knew that they were meant to be together. They were both passionate about art and nature, and they loved spending time together.

As they were talking, John couldn't help but notice Mary's beauty. She had long, flowing hair that was the color of sunshine. Her eyes were a deep blue, and her skin was as smooth as a rose petal. John was captivated by her beauty, and he knew that he had to tell her how he felt.

He took a deep breath and said, "Mary, you are like a poem come to life."

Mary blushed and said, "Thank you, John. That's very sweet of you to say."

John smiled and said, "I'm not just saying it. You really are beautiful. And I'm not just talking about your physical beauty. You're also beautiful inside. You're kind, compassionate, and intelligent. I'm so lucky to have met you."

Mary smiled back and said, "I'm lucky to have met you too, John."

They leaned in and kissed, and John knew that he had found the woman of his dreams.

A heart in the clouds

Here is the poem that John wrote about Mary:

My love, you are like a poem come to life

Your beauty is like a song that I can't help but sing

Your words are like a melody that I can't help but hear

You are the most beautiful thing I have ever seen

You are like a dream that I never want to wake from

You are like a star that I can't help but gaze at

You are like a flower that I can't help but smell

You are the most beautiful thing I have ever seen

I love you more than words can say

You are my everything

You are my poet, my muse, my smile

And I will love you forever.

family
Like

About the Creator

Maiki

Maiki is an author known for immersive storytelling. Her works explore themes of love and human relationships. She enjoys painting and spending time with family and pets. Currently working on her debut novel, Maiki resides in India.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.