Fiction logo

Life Happens

The story of life

By Sarah KeelingPublished 2 years ago 33 min read

12-18-2019

1 EXT. HOUSE-DAY

A mail box is being opened by CHELSEA. She grabs the mail.

Chelsea walks towards the house in a morose manner.

She looks like she hasn't slept well in weeks.

2 INT. LIVING ROOM-DAY

Chelsea drops the mail on the desk.

She grabs one that says Final Notice and opens it, and sighs. She heads towards the bedroom.

CHELSEA

Honey!

3 INT. BEDROOM-DAY

Chelsea enters the room and plops down on the bed.

Tears start to well up in her eyes.

CHELSEA

This is aggravating.

Chelsea looks towards the bathroom.

ROGER is finishing up shaving. He nods his head.

CHELSEA

I hate getting these notices.

Roger is getting the last few strokes of the razor in and

gives a half-assed response.

CHELSEA

Have you heard anything I said?

Roger intently cleans the rest of his face off.

ROGER

We've got another notice... I'll

handle it.

12-18-2019

2.

CHELSEA

Really! That's all you have to say?

I'll handle it?

Roger rolls his eyes.

ROGER

Chelsea, what do you want me to say?

I'll handle it.

Chelsea crumples up the bill and throws it at Roger.

CHELSEA

No! It's not alright, Roger.

Everything's turned to shit since...

Chelsea bits her lip and tries to gain composure.

CHELSEA

and you nonchalantly say, I'll handle

it.

Roger bends over and picks up the bill.

He un-crumples the bill and looks at it.

ROGER

Chelsea, the only thing we can do is

handle it as best that we can.

Roger gives Chelsea a sympathetic look.

ROGER

Things aren't the same anymore. Hell,

I don't know if it's gonna get any

better.

Roger moves to the bed and sits next to Chelsea.

ROGER

I know it's frustrating, but we can't

just lose our shit over some bills.

Roger tries to hug Chelsea, but she pushes him away.

CHELSEA

Don't

Roger shakes his head in frustration.

12-18-2019

3.

ROGER

Jesus, Chels. I love you.

CHELSEA

I wish you... I wish he...

Chelsea starts to break down.

CHELSEA

My little boy is gone. I can't...

Roger tries to comfort Chelsea, and she reluctantly accepts.

ROGER

I know babe... I miss him too.

Tears start to form in Roger's eyes.

Chelsea starts to get angry and starts pounding on Roger's

chest.

CHELSEA

This is your fault!

Roger pushes Chelsea away.

ROGER

What the hell, Chelsea!

CHELSEA

You said everything would be okay. You

lied.

ROGER

How'd I lie?

Roger stands up.

ROGER

I didn't lie. I just hoped for the

best.

CHELSEA

Your genetics. That disease. You're

poison. We should of never had a kid.

Roger gets hurt like a knife in the heart.

ROGER

That hurt. I didn't know about it.

12-18-2019 4.

Chelsea stands up and squares up to Roger.

CHELSEA

It's not fair...

ROGER

No, shit! You think you're the only

one who lost him?

CHELSEA

I hate you.

Roger tried to calm down.

ROGER

Hate me? Isn't that a bit much?

CHELSEA

I've not seen an ounce of emotion out

of you about our son.

Roger turns away.

ROGER

I do, you're just not there.

CHELSEA

I'm your wife, I should be.

Roger walks to the closet and grabs a dress shirt.

ROGER

Ever since Mac passed, your drinking

has gotten out of hand. you pass out

on the couch.

Roger looks at Chelsea and shakes his head. He then puts on

his shirt.

ROGER

That's the only time I find the piece

to go see him. Otherwise, I'm too bush

making sure you don't hurt yourself.

Chelsea gets a shocked look on her face.

CHELSEA

You should have told me, we could have

gone together.

Roger walks to the dresser and grabs a tie. He walks to the

12-18-2019 5.

mirror and starts tying it.

ROGER

I stay calm for your sake.

Roger turns towards Chelsea.

ROGER

I go so I can talk to him. I know he

can't hear me, but it helps. I feel

better...until I leave than I break

down because I know he's not coming

back.

Chelsea starts walk towards Roger, then stops.

CHELSEA

I didn't realize. We'll go together

soon.

ROGER

I can't. You wouldn't understand.

Roger grabs his jacket.

CHELSEA

Why not?

Chelsea gets a puzzled look on her face.

Roger rolls his eyes.

ROGER

This, today.

Roger gestures and Chelsea half nods.

ROGER

This is exactly why Chels. You get

drunk, you blow you, and then go off

half cocked. I don't even know which

way your moods are going to swing.

Chelsea gets in a defensive pose.

CHELSEA

You're over exaggerating.

Roger walks over and grabs his brief case. Then starts

towards the door.

12-18-2019 6.

He looks at Chelsea.

ROGER

And? You're not even drunk yet, yet

this is you, flying off the handle.

Chelsea is following him outside.

CHELSEA

Now, you're being an asshole.

Roger looks back at Chelsea.

ROGER

You know, I give up. It's my first day

back at the office, and I don't...see

you later.

Roger heads towards the car. 4 INT. OFFICE- DAY

Roger works for a promotional agency. He's sitting at his

desk, looking at some promotional sheets. The phone rings.

He picks up.

ROGER

Paradise's Bluff talent agency, this

is Roger Conroy, how can I help you.

Roger puts down the paper work and grabs a folder.

ROGER

Yes sir, I have the Nash Gray folder

right here.

Roger thumbs through it.

ROGER

Yes sir, we're billing it as the first

tour in twenty-three years.

Roger sits the file down.

ROGER

Yes sir, I'll get on that, and e-mail

you the data right away. Thank you

sir, have a nice day.

Roger puts the phone down.

12-18-2019 7.

He puts his head into is hands.

JASMINE BELLA, a young attractive woman, wearing a red skirt,

walks over and sits on the edge of Roger's desk.

She hands him a cup of coffee.

JASMINE

You look like you could use this.

Roger grabs the cup.

ROGER

Thanks

Jasmine leans back on the desk a bit.

JASMINE

Rough start?

A little

ROGER

JASMINE

You okay?

Roger sips his coffee.

If only.

Jasmine nods.

Chelsea?

ROGER

JASMINE

Roger sits his cup down and leans forward, resting on his

elbows.

ROGER

It's getting worse; the drinking...

everyday's a battle, and I'm the bad

guy.

Jasmine bites her lip, leans forward and touches Roger's arm.

JASMINE

It's not you. You're a great guy...

she's just grieving in her own way.

Roger leans back and sighs.

12-18-2019 8.

Jasmine sits up straighter.

ROGER

She's upset that I don't grieve with

her. I mean I can't... it's not

something I can seem to do.

Jasmine nods.

JASMINE

You don't have to explain.

ROGER

I mean, she's in pieces, and the

painful reminder that I can't hang out

with Mac...

Roger starts to tear up.

Jasmine leans forward and touches Roger on the shoulder.

JASMINE

It's okay. Mac was a special kid. I

wish that I could have done more.

Jasmine leans in and gives Roger a hug.

Carlisle, a tall, older man, in a gray suit, walks towards

the pair.

CARLISLE

Roger, it's good to have you back.

Carlisle shacks Roger's hand.

Roger tries to stand up.

CARLISLE

Sit down son, you don't have to get

up.

Roger sits back down.

Jasmine leans back.

ROGER

Thank you sir, it feels right, to be

back here working.

CARLISLE

Good.

12-18-2019 9.

Carlisle gives Jasmine a look.

CARLISLE

You know better than to sit on the

desk Miss Bella.

JASMINE

Yes sir.

Jasmine gets up and pulls a chair up to Roger's desk.

CARLISLE

How's the Nash Gray tour stuff coming

along?

JASMINE

Good sir, Roger's been grinding at it.

Jasmine looks at Roger.

ROGER

Just getting on the e-mails now sir.

Carlisle nods approvingly.

CARLISLE

That's what I like to hear. I'll let

you two get back to it.

Carlisle pats Roger on the back and starts to walk away.

CARLISLE

Give Chelsea my best.

ROGER

Yes sir, will do.

Jasmine scoots her chair closer to Roger and leans in close.

JASMINE

You know what you need, Mr. Conroy?

Roger looks confused.

ROGER

No... what?

Jasmine gets closer and touches Roger's nose.

JASMINE

I think that you need to go out and

12-18-2019 10.

unwind tonight. Dinner? My treat?

Roger scoots himself back a bit.

ROGER

I don't think Chelsea would...

JASMINE

Well, I'm not inviting Chelsea, silly.

Roger looks away.

Jasmine scoots her chair back a bit.

JASMINE

Think of it as taking a little time

out to enjoy yourself.

Roger stands up and starts to pace.

ROGER

I dunno. I mean... I didn't like

leaving her the way I did this

morning.

Jasmine rolls her eyes and leans back in her chair in

frustration.

JASMINE

Come on Roger, you two haven't been on

the same page for some time.

Roger stops pacing and looks down.

ROGER

Yeah, I know.

JASMINE

You might have a good time?

Roger looks at Jasmine and gives a half-smile.

JASMINE

I don't bite.

Roger shrugs his shoulders in defeat.

ROGER

You're right, and I do owe you. You've

done so much for us. The coffee runs,

the errands, updates about work...

12-18-2019 11.

Hell, okay, I'll go. Just because

you've been such an amazing support.

Thank you.

Roger gives Jasmine a hug.

JASMINE

Great, it's a date then.

5 INT. RESTAURANT- NIGHT

The restaurant is upscale. The patrons sitting at the tables

all around are in their best formal attire. The city lights

are giving a soft back light, as a single candle lights the

tables. Jasmine is in the same red dress from work. Her

bright red lipstick draws attention to her mouth when she

speaks. Roger still dressed in his work suit has seemed to

relax a bit. The conversation is pleasant as Jasmine learns

towards Roger, and listens intently to the conversation.

ROGER

He would make Chelsea so mad when he

would bury his toys in the yard.

JASMINE

Toys get expensive, I think I would

too.

Roger gives Jasmine a smile.

ROGER

That was Mac's thing. He would dig

them up a few days later. It was his

favorite thing to do.

JASMINE

Was he trying to be a pirate?

Roger laughs.

ROGER

Not at all. He loved Indiana Jones and

Jurassic Park. He was so obsessed with

those movies. I'm sure he'd do

something with that as he...

Jasmine pats Roger's arm.

JASMINE

That's a great memory. Mac was such a

character.

12-18-2019 12.

Jasmine takes a drink of wine.

JASMINE

Everyone loved when he visited the

office.

Roger leans back, blows out some air, and stares out the

window at the skyline. His tone gets more serious.

ROGER

Those nurses fell in love with him.

Even deathly sick, he'd do anything to

make people smile.

JASMINE

He was so strong.

Roger started to tear up.

ROGER

Even at the end. He always had a

way...

Jasmine grabs Rogers hand.

JASMINE

It's okay... let it out.

Roger wipes away the tears.

ROGER

He had a way with getting people to

like him. I was just so proud of the

person he was.

Jasmine looks intently at Roger and smiles.

JASMINE

He was just like his dad.

Roger shakes his head in disagreement.

ROGER

Thank you, but he had something that

made him stand out.

JASMINE

So do you.

ROGER

Stop, you're being silly.

12-18-2019 13.

Roger looks away.

Jasmine leans in closer to Roger.

JASMINE

You wanna know a secret?

Roger looks back at Jasmine.

ROGER

Sure?

Jasmine scoots in even closer.

JASMINE

Come closer.

Roger gets an unsure look on his face, but leans in.

ROGER

Okay Jasmine, what's your secret?

Jasmine leans back and laughs.

JASMINE

Well, it's not a secret that you're

loved in the office. You're funny,

kind, and people respect yo.

Roger smiles.

ROGER

I appreciate it.

Roger goes to sit back in a more comfortable position, but

Jasmine pulls him in closer.

JASMINE

Wait...there's more.

ROGER

Oh?

Jasmine leans in.

JASMINE

I'm hurting with you.

Roger looks puzzled.

12-18-2019

14.

JASMINE

Watching you go through that pain of

loss. Roger...I love you.

Roger looks shocked.

ROGER

What?

JASMINE

I've been in love with you for a long

time.

ROGER

I think you've had too much to drink.

JASMINE

I'm serious.

ROGER

Come on, I think we need to get you

home.

6 EXT. JASMINE'S PLACE- NIGHT

Roger walks Jasmine to her door. She looks behind them and

waves the cab off.

She turns towards the door, and they both drunkenly stumble

their way to the door.

Roger looks back as the cab is taking off.

ROGER

Damn it! I told him to wait.

JASMINE

It's okay, hold on.

Jasmine drops her keys. She bends down and picks them up.

After messing with the lock, she gets the door open.

She puts her back on the door frame and looks at Roger.

JASMINE

Thank you! It was nice to have dinner

together.

ROGER

Yeah, you were right. I needed that. I

12-18-2019 15.

need to call for another cab though.

Roger starts digging in his pocket for his phone.

JASMINE

You don't have to go.

ROGER

I need to get home to Chelsea, she's

going to be pissed as it is.

Jasmine grabs Roger's hand.

JASMINE

She's probably passed out already.

You're my best friend and I hate

seeing you get treated like shit.

Roger steps back.

JASMINE

Please Roger, stay!

She pulls him in and gives him a passionate kiss. Roger

kisses her back.

ROGER

I'm probably going to regret this.

7 INT. JASMINE'S PLACE- NIGHT

Roger and Jasmine enter the doorway. Roger kicks the door

closed and locks it, all while kissing Jasmine. Jasmine leans

in and grabs Roger by the pants. He leads him to the bedroom.

JASMINE

I've wanted this for so long.

ROGER

I don't know about this.

Jasmine bites her lip and puts a finger to Roger's lip.

JASMINE

Shh! It's okay.

Jasmine throws Roger on the bed, and gets on top of him. She

then starts to undress herself.

JASMINE

Baby, I'm gonna love you right.

12-18-2019 16.

8 INT. JASMINE'S BEDROOM-MORNING

Roger is sitting on the edge of the bed, naked. He looks at

Jasmine in a peaceful sleep He shakes his head and gets up.

Roger walks over and picks up his clothes, then heads into

the bathroom where he puts on his underwear and pants.

Roger splashes water on his face and dries off. He looks in

the the mirror and gets a regretful look on his face.

9 INT. ROGER'S LIVING ROOM- MORNING

The front door opens and Roger tries to sneak in.

Chelsea's passed out on the couch with a whiskey bottle in

her hand.

Roger tries to walk quietly past her when she wakes up.

CHELSEA

Whiskey?

Roger gets startled.

ROGER

What?

Chelsea sits-up and wipes her mouth.

JASMINE

Whiskey?

Roger looks down at her.

ROGER

Jesus, Chelsea. You need to stop.

CHELSEA

Stop what?

Chelsea struggles to stand-up.

ROGER

You need to stop self-medicating with

that garbage.

Roger starts heading back towards the bathroom.

CHELSEA

Where the hell were you?

12-18-2019 17.

Roger stops in his tracks.

ROGER

I went out to dinner after work. I got

too drunk to make it home safely.

CHELSEA

You should have called.

ROGER

Sorry.

Chelsea walks over to Roger and smells him.

CHELSEA

You smell like her.

ROGER

Who?

CHELSEA

Like that puppy, Jasmine.

ROGER

Puppy? Seriously?

CHELSEA

You slept with her, didn't you.

ROGER

What the hell are you talking about?

Chelsea smells him again and gets an angry look.

She slaps Roger.

CHELSEA

I smell her sex on you.

Chelsea slaps Roger again.

CHELSEA

You smell that like that whore intern

at work. How was she Roger?

Roger rubs his cheek and tries to back away.

ROGER

You're crazy!

Chelsea stars walking towards Roger.

12-18-2019

18.

CHELSEA

Don't lie to me. You fucked her!

Chelsea backs Roger against the wall.

CHELSEA

Was she nice and tight?

ROGER

It wasn't like...

CHELSEA

Wasn't like what? I knew you had a

thing for that little slut.

Chelsea sticks a finger in his face.

ROGER

Stop it Chels. You need to calm down.

Chelsea backs up and puts her hands on her hips.

CHELSEA

I should have known. God knows that

she's had eyes on you for a while.

Following you around like a lost

puppy. You can have that slut.

Roger stands tall in defense.

ROGER

Jesus Chelsea, it's not like that.

CHELSEA

So explain how it is then.

Chelsea goes to sit down.

CHELSEA

Go on, I'm waiting.

ROGER

Look, she saw that I was stressed, and

invited me out for dinner to blow off

some steam.

CHELSEA

I'm sure that wasn't the only thing

getting blown last night.

12-18-2019

19.

ROGER

Will you shut up?

Chelsea snarled in response.

ROGER

We got a little tipsy, and shared a

cab back to her place.

Chelsea starts to look impatient at the explanation.

ROGER

As I was walking her to the door, the

cab left.

CHELSEA

How convenient.

Roger gets a defensive look on his face.

CHELSEA

So, you decided to get yourself cozy.

ROGER

I don't even know how...

CHELSEA

How you got in bed with that tramp? I

can't believe you.

Chelsea feels for another bottle between the couch cushions

and finds a bottle. She takes a drink.

ROGER

Chels, you really need to stop

drinking.

Roger takes the bottle from Chelsea, and takes it to the can

outside. Roger comes back in the house.

Chelsea gets in Roger's face.

CHELSEA

Roger Conroy! I want you out of my

house. Grab your shit and get out.

Roger pushes past Chelsea, and gets into the closet to grab a

back and starts packing some clothes.

Chelsea comes to the bedroom and yells at Roger.

12-18-2019

20.

CHELSEA

We're over! Ten-years of my life,

wasted.

ROGER

It wasn't like I was intending on

sleeping with her. It was a mistake.

Chelsea grabs Roger to turn him to looking at her.

CHELSEA

The mistake was that I was gonna

forgive you for our fight.

Roger shoves some clothes into the bag.

ROGER

You're too bitter. You're also too

much of a drunk to see the truth.

Mac's death wasn't my fault.

CHELSEA

Shut up!

Chelsea starts to push Roger towards the door.

Roger looks back at her.

ROGER

You know...

Roger stops himself from speaking for a moment.

ROGER

At least Jasmine doesn't treat me like

I'm a monster. Maybe I did secretly

want to be desired. At least she

doesn't blame me for bullshit that's

out of my control.

Chelsea pushes Roger out the door and screams.

CHELSEA

I don't ever want to see you again.

Chelsea slams the door in Roger's face.

He starts to yell at the door.

ROGER

God damn it Chelsea! I'm tired of

12-18-2019 21.

this. Always getting treated like a

piece of shit. You're right, we are

over. Now I can be free of your

bullshit.

10 EXT. CEMETERY-DAY

Roger is visiting Mac's grave, where he's having a

conversation with his son's headstone.

ROGER

The consular said that it would help

to talk.

Roger raises his head up.

ROGER

God, I wish you were here Mac...things

would be so much simpler. Your

mom...drinks, blames me for everything

that happened.

Roger starts to tear up and looks across the graveyard.

ROGER

I so miss you. I know you're too young

for all of this, but you're all I got.

I messed up real bad with mom... and I

don't know if we can fix it. I love

your mom, it's just so...

JASMINE

Hey.(Off screen)

Jasmine is wearing jeans and a black shirt. She comes up

behind Roger, give him a half-hug, and kisses his cheek.

JASMINE

Why didn't you wake me?

Roger snaps back into the present.

ROGER

Huh?

JASMINE

Why didn't you wake me? You were gone

when I woke up.

Jasmine gets closer as Roger turns towards her.

12-18-2019

22.

ROGER

Sorry about that.

Roger gets a regretful look on his face.

ROGER

Last night shouldn't have happened.

Jasmine tries to comfort Roger, but he shrugs her away.

JASMINE

Why are you pushing me away? Shit!You

went...

ROGER

She kicked me out.

Jasmine gets a shocked look on her face.

JASMINE

I'm so...sorry

Jasmine try to go in to console Roger.

ROGER

Please...don't

Jasmine backs-off a little.

ROGER

I wasn't thinking straight last night.

I was weak.

JASMINE

Roger, I'm so sorry...I didn't mean

for it to happen like this.

Roger sighs.

ROGER

There's a line we shouldn't have

crossed.

JASMINE

We were drunk.

Roger starts to move around.

ROGER

But we knew what we were doing.

12-18-2019 23.

Jasmine stops Roger from moving and grabs him by the face.

JASMINE

It was nice.

ROGER

It wasn't right.

Jasmine throws her hands down and stands defiant.

JASMINE

Why? Damn it! I can't act like it

didn't mean anything. I love you

Roger. I'm tired of seeing Chelsea

treat you like garbage.

Roger loosens his posture and looks at his feet.

ROGER

We've been through some shit together.

JASMINE

And that gives her the right to treat

you poorly?

ROGER

It's not that simple.

Jasmine pauses, then gives Roger a serious look.

JASMINE

I love you, and I want to make you

happy.

ROGER

I..can't..

Jasmine puts a hand on Roger's shoulder.

He starts to tear up.

JASMINE

Who's been there for you since Mac

died?

You.

ROGER

JASMINE

Who brought you and Chelsea, whatever

you needed?

12-18-2019

24.

Roger sighs.

You.

ROGER

You.

ROGER

JASMINE

Did your chores and errands?

JASMINE

Right, by both your sides...every step

of the way.

Roger looks defeated.

ROGER

You, and you know that I'll never be

able to thank you enough.

Jasmine grabs Roger's hand and kisses it.

JASMINE

I loved Mac too, because I love you.

Last night meant something. You

wouldn't have stayed if you didn't

feel something too.

Roger steps back, then nods towards the cars.

The walk towards the vehicles.

ROGER

I just need time to figure things out.

JASMINE

Look...you can stay on my couch. You

can sort out things there.

ROGER

I dunno.

JASMINE

I'll give you space.

11 EXT. COFFEE SHOP-DAY

Chelsea is dressed in jeans and a gey blouse. Sitting across

FADE OUT.

12-18-2019 25.

from her in leopard print is her sister, Roxy. They are

drinking lattes.

ROXY

Put that away.

Chelsea puts away the whiskey bottle in her purse.

CHELSEA

It takes the edge off.

Roxy grabs Chelsea's hand.

ROXY

You need help.

Chelsea looks away.

CHELSEA

You know...I bet they were having an

affair for sometime.

Roxy rolls her eyes and shakes her head.

ROXY

Whatever..change the subject.

Chelsea looks at her sister.

CHELSEA

He fessed up.

ROXY

To the one time, okay?

Chelsea takes a deep drink.

CHELSEA

That he got caught.

ROXY

Chels, really? This is Roger. I mean

yes, she's pretty, but this is Roger.

CHELSEA

She's always hanging around. I mean I

had that feeling she liked him, now I

know.

Roxy sits back.

12-18-2019

26.

ROXY

Stop being crazy, they were drunk.

CHELSEA

And?

Chelsea gestures.

CHELSEA

Your point?

Roxy gets annoyed with her sister.

ROXY

My point is, they weren't in their

right minds. Do I condone it? Hell no!

CHELSEA

Stop making excuses for him.

ROXY

I'm not making excuses, but I also

know that you've not been the easiest

to deal with since Mac passed.

Chelsea leans forward.

CHELSEA

I can't believe that you're taking his

side.

ROXY

I'm not. I'm just being honest. I like

Roger.

CHELSEA

So, you slept with him too?

Roxy gets a disgusted look on her face.

ROXY

God, Chelsea, stop being gross.

Rogers' a great brother-in-law, a

better husband, and a hell of a

father.

Roxy stands up.

ROXY

The truth is, Roger's a good man, and

good people make mistakes. You're a

12-18-2019 27.

drunk, who needs to get your head out

of your ass and go too AA. He's gone

through the same shit as you.

Roxy leans down on the table.

ROXY

You're just putting I'm through

more...

Chelsea stands up and gets in Roxy's face.

CHELSEA

Put him through? Put him through? How

dare you!

ROXY

Calm down!

Roxy sits back down.

ROXY

I just don't want to see you go dow

the road that Mark and Claudia did.

Chelsea sits back down.

CHELSEA

That's different. She wasn't happy,

and he was always working.

ROXY

Because he was working to support his

family.

Chelsea puts her head into her hands.

CHELSEA

I can't forgive him.

Roxy leans forward and gets eye level with Chelsea.

ROXY

Figure out how too. You're not the

only one hurting here, and he's done a

hell of a job keeping his head through

this.

Chelsea starts to cry.

FADE OUT

12-18-2019 28.

12 INT. OFFICE- DAY

Roger's sitting forward, leaning on his left elbow with his

chin resting on his fist.

He leans back in his chair, with his arms behind his head

looking out the window.

13 INT. ROGER'S AND CHELSEA'S-DAY

Chelsea's laying her head down on the dinning room table. Her

arm is stretched out, holding a whiskey bottle. She stares at

it.

She's in the bathroom, throwing up and then leans back

against the sink.

She's lying on the couch,, drinking whiskey.

14 INT. JASMINE'S PLACE- NIGHT

Roger's in some pajama bottoms lying on the couch. The only

light coming in is from the moonlight coming through the

blinds. Insomnia keeps Roger looking at the ceiling. He's a

bit fidgety. A light turns on and washes over Roger.

Jasmine walks in, wearing a white pair of panties and

matching bra.

Roger looks blankly at her as she walks up.

She touches his leg.

Hey you.

JASMINE

ROGER

Hey.

Jasmine sits next to Roger as he shuffles to make room.

JASMINE

Can't sleep?

ROGER

Not really.

JASMINE

Me neither.

Jasmine sits up straighter.

12-18-2019

29.

JASMINE

Look..Roger...I never meant to hurt

you.

Roger sits up a bit straighter.

ROGER

It's not you. We just stopped being a

couple after Mac died.

JASMINE

I'm sorry.

Roger leans back.

ROGER

It was probably gonna happen anyway..

Jasmine grabs Roger's hand.

JASMINE

Come with me.

ROGER

I shouldn't.

JASMINE

I can't sleep.

ROGER

Things have changed between us.

JASMINE

I can't stop these feelings anymore. I

love you.

Jasmine stands up and pulls Roger up from the couch.

ROGER

I...

JASMINE

I love you.

Jasmine rushes in and gives Roger a passionate kiss, then

leads him to the bedroom.

15 INT. JASMINE'S BEDROOM-MORNING

Roger's sleeping next to Jasmine. She's leaning over staring

at him, running her fingers through his hair.

12-18-2019

30.

JASMINE

Don't worry baby. I'll take care of

you.

Jasmine looks at the clock and continues to play with Roger's

hair.

Roger starts to stir. Roger yawns.

ROGER

You say something?

Roger stretches.

Jasmine leans on her arm and smiles.

JASMINE

Good morning.

Roger smiles.

Mornin'

ROGER

JASMINE

How'd you sleep?

Roger takes a moment to think.

ROGER

Surprisingly well, you?

Jasmine giggles and bites her pillow.

JASMINE

You...last night.

Roger sings his legs over the side of the bed, sits up, and

rubs his eyes.

JASMINE

You're wonderful.

ROGER

What time is it?

JASMINE

Almost nine.

Roger tenses up.

12-18-2019

31.

Shit...

ROGER

JASMINE

What's wrong?

Roger relaxes a bit.

ROGER

You know, I just...we can't keep doing

this.

JASMINE

It's gonna take time.

ROGER

Is it? I'm not sure it's right.

Jasmine sits up and hugs Roger from behind, and kisses his

shoulder.

JASMINE

It's okay.

Roger looks back at Jasmine.

ROGER

This whole situation sucks.

JASMINE

I know it's hard, especially for you.

Jasmine lets go and gets out of bed.

She grabs her robe.

JASMINE

But she did kick you out.

Roger gets out of bed and starts heading towards the

bathroom.

ROGER

I would have too.

16 INT. JASMINE'S MASTER BATH-MORNING

Roger splashes water on his face.

He dries it off and stares into the mirror.

12-18-2019 32.

A look of disgust and sadness comes to his face. 17 INT. JASMINE'S KITCHEN-MORNING

Jasmine is drinking coffee and looking at the newspaper.

She looks up and sees Roger walking in. She smiles and pours

him a cup, adds creamer, and hands it over.

JASMINE

Fresh cup, half and half.

Jasmine gives Roger a flirty smile.

Rogers takes a sip from the cup.

ROGER

Just the way I like it.

Roger nods.

ROGER

You do know what I like.

JASMINE

I pay attention to subjects I'm

interested in.

Jasmine grabs Roger's waist band and pulls him in for a kiss.

Roger's phone starts to ring.

Roger pulls away to get to his phone on the counter.

JASMINE

Leave it.

ROGER

What if it's important?

Roger picks up the phone.

ROGER

Hello?

Roger gets a questioning look on his face.

ROGER

Yes, I'm her husband.

Jasmine rolls her eyes.

12-18-2019 33.

Roger's face gets flushed.

ROGER

She...what?

Roger's body gets tense.

ROGER

Yes, Roxy's her sister... I'll be

there as soon as I can.

Roger hangs up his phone.

JASMINE

What happened?

Roger looks at Jasmine.

ROGER

Chelsea's in ICU.

Jasmine gets a shocked look on her face.

JASMINE

How?

Roger starts to tear up.

ROGER

Roxy found her...barely breathing.

They said she's got alcohol poisoning.

Jasmine goes to Roger and hugs him.

Roger hugs her tightly.

ROGER

I've got to go see her.

18 INT. ICU-DAY

Chelsea is hooked up to various machines. She's in a coma. Roxy is sitting next to her, doing a crossword puzzle. Roger enters the room and Roxy looks up.

Hey...

ROGER

12-18-2019

34.

ROXY

Roger...

Roxy gets up and they meet in the middle.

They hug each other, and Roxy starts to cry.

ROXY

I'm sorry.

ROGER

I'm just glad you found her.

Roxy lets go and looks at Roger.

ROXY

She told me...

ROGER

I figured.

Roger starts to get a guilty look on his face.

ROXY I get it.

Roxy looks towards her sister.

ROXY

She's been out of control since Mac..

Roxy pauses.

Roger stares at Chelsea.

ROXY

She's pretty.

ROGER

Who?

Roxy puts a hand on Roger's shoulder.

Jasmine.

Oh.

ROXY

ROGER

ROXY

Just tell me it was the first time...

12-18-2019

35.

ROGER

It was. I...

ROXY

You being honest?

Roger steps back.

ROGER

Roxy...

Roxy puts her hands up.

ROXY

I just had to be sure.

Roger moves over and sits by the head of the bed.

He leans over and touches Chelsea.

ROGER

I never considered anyone else.

Roxy moves towards Roger.

ROXY

I know... I spent our last

conversation defending you.

ROGER

Oh?

Roxy touches Roger's shoulder and bumps him with her hip.

ROXY

You've been through a lot.

Roxy gestures towards Chelsea.

ROXY

Her bullshit doesn't help.

Roger chuckles.

ROGER

No, it doesn't

Roger looks up at Roxy.

ROGER

I screwed up, didn't I.

12-18-2019

36.

ROXY

Yeah, but my sister isn't innocent

either.

Roger looks at Chelsea.

ROGER

I don't know what to do...

ROXY

How's she treating you?

ROGER

Jasmine?

Roxy nods.

ROGER

She's been patient, supportive.

ROXY

Everything my sister's not.

Roxy smiles.

ROXY

I don't approve of your actions, but I

do understand.

Roger starts to pet Chelsea's arm.

ROGER

I didn't know she liked me like that.

Roxy shakes her head.

ROXY

Everybody but you.

ROGER

What?

ROXY

We knew, everybody knew. Think

Roger...

Roger gets a confused look on his face.

ROXY

Look at everything she did for you

guys. That wasn't just being a friend.

12-18-2019 37.

Roger shakes his head.

ROGER

I'm married, to Chelsea.

ROXY

Yes, to a woman who pushed you away.

She's always had a tendency towards

self destruction. Losing Mac broke

her.

ROGER

It broke me too...

Roxy yawns and stretches.

ROXY

I need some coffee. You want some?

Roger nods yes, and keeps staring at Chelsea.

ROXY

Be back soon.

Roxy leaves the room.

ROGER

I told you that you needed help.

Roger tears up.

ROGER

God dammit, Chelsea...we shouldn't be

here. We've spent too much time in

this hell hole.

Roger stands up and stretches.

ROGER

This wasn't supposed to happen.

Roger starts to pace.

ROGER

Why do you have to be so difficult?

You complain that I've been to calm,

and now you do this? Was this what it

took for me to lose my shit?

Roger gets clearly angry.

12-18-2019

38.

ROGER

You're such a bitch...but I can't lose

you like this. It's hard enough that

Mac's gone, but this...it's too much.

Roger sits back down in the chair.

ROGER

I'd rather you hate me, then lose you

like this.

Roger lies his head down.

19 INT. FUNERAL PARLOR-DAY(PAST)

The parlor is full of people mostly dressed in black.

Chelsea's dressed in white.

Roger, dressed in a black suite is standing at the podium,

tears in his eyes.

Roger taps the mic.

ROGER

Hel...He..

Roger clears his throat, bites his lip, and tilts his head.

He takes a deep breathe.

He grabs the podium tightly on both sides.

ROGER

Thank you...for coming. We are here to

remember the life of Mackenzie Aron

Conroy...

Roger looks around, swallows, and continues.

ROGER

My son... my boy.

Roger pauses in thought.

ROGER

Twelve-years-old...is way too short of

a life. It leave so much emptiness

inside. The hardest part? Is

that...not only are we left with this

void, but we are left with questions.

What if's. What would he look like as

an adult? What would he have done for

12-18-2019

39.

work?

Roger laughs.

ROGER

Archeology, that wouldn't have bee a

question. Would he have been

successful? Would he have a family?

What would they look like?

Roger starts to cry.

ROGER

Sorry...sorry.

CUT TO:

Roger and Chelsea getting condolences after the funeral.

20 INT. ICU-DAY

Roxy walks in and sees Roger sleeping.

Roxy puts down the coffee, and lightly shakes Roger. Quietly

she speaks.

ROXY

Roger. Hey, Roger.

Roger startles awake.

ROGER

Huh?

Roxy picks up the cup and puts it under Roger's nose.

ROXY

Coffee?

Roger takes the cup and looks at Roxy.

ROGER

Thanks.

Roxy sits on the bed.

ROXY

I was talking to the nurses at the

station out there.

12-18-2019

40.

And?

ROGER

ROXY

They found traces of sleeping pills in

her system.

Roger stands up and runs his fingers through his hair.

ROGER

Jesus, this is my fault.

ROXY

Stop it, you couldn't have known.

ROGER

She's given up. I should of done more.

ROXY

She's sick, and needs help.

Roger looks at Chelsea.

ROGER

I tried.

ROXY

We'll do this together.

21 INT. ROGER'S LIVING ROOM-DAY

Roger opens the door and looks inside.

The living room is a complete mess. Bottles and garbage are

everywhere.

Roger blows out his breath and steps inside.

He steps over the trash and gets some trash bags.

Roger starts to clean the house.

22 INT. JASMINE'S PLACE- NIGHT/ ROGER'S PLACE.

Jasmine is sitting in her pj's reading a magazine. She's very

distracted so she picks up her phone, and calls Roger.

Hey.

JASMINE

12-18-2019

41.

ROGER

Hey.

Roger is sitting on his chair.

JASMINE

How is she?

ROGER

Not good. They found sleeping pills in

her blood, with the alcohol.

JASMINE

That's crazy.

ROGER

Yeah...

Jasmine sits up.

JASMINE

Are we okay?

ROGER

Yeah, why?

JASMINE

It's just I'm not sure where we stand,

you know?

ROGER

No, things are okay...

JASMINE

That's good. Come over?

Roger sits up and looks around.

ROGER

I've still got lots to do...

JASMINE

I could help?

ROGER

I appreciate the offer, but I think

that I need to do this on my own right

now.

JASMINE

Oh...okay.

12-18-2019

42.

ROGER

It'll give me time to sort some shit

out.

JASMINE

Are you gonna be okay?

ROGER

I dunno. I'm trying to be.

JASMINE

Well, at least I can bring

breakfast...check on you?

ROGER

Sure...Jasmine?

JASMINE

Yeah.

ROGER

Thank you for...everything.

JASMINE

Of course.

ROGER

Have a goodnight.

JASMINE

You too.

Roger hangs up.

Jasmine looks disappointed.

23 INT. ROGER'S LIVING ROOM- MORNING

Roger's in sweats and a t-shirt with cleaning supplies

scrubbing the couch.

The door knocks and Roger answers it. Jasmine's holding a bag

and some coffee.

JASMINE

Breakfast?

Roger grabs the bag as Jasmine goes in for a kiss. Roger

gives her a peck on the cheek. Jasmine looks disappointed.

12-18-2019

43.

ROGER

Nice! Come in.

Jasmine walks-in and sits her purse down.

JASMINE

Looks like you've been busy.

Roger chews on his burrito.

ROGER

Yeah...I only got a few hours sleep.

This place was a mess.

Jasmine catches a whiff of the oder in the house.

JASMINE

You're gonna have to do something

about that smell.

Roger shakes his head.

ROGER

So much whisky got soaked into the

couch cushions.

Jasmine hugs Roger and kisses him.

JASMINE

We'll fix this.

Jasmine is using a machine to help clean the cushions. She's

hard at work scrubbing.

Roger is cleaning the mirror and sink in the bathroom.

Roger and Jasmine both flop down on the couch together and

high-five each other. They turn and look towards one another.

ROGER

That was so much work. Thank you.

Jasmine smiles.

JASMINE

You're welcome, anytime.

ROGER

We make a great team.

Jasmine bites her lip.

12-18-2019

44.

JASMINE

We always have.

Jasmine leans in and kisses Roger. He wraps his arms around

her and brings her in closer.

24 INT. ICU-DAY

Chelsea is unconscious in bed.

A nurse is checking Chelsea's vitals while Roxy's sitting in

the corner doing a crossword puzzle.

Chelsea's eyes start to open and she starts to tug at her

oxygen tube.

The nurse gets startled.

NURSE

Mrs. Conroy! You need to stop tugging

at your oxygen tube.

Roxy jumps up and goes towards Chelsea's bed.

ROXY

Sis!

CHELSEA

Wa...wa..ter...

The nurse gets Chelsea a cup of water with a straw.

Roxy pets Chelsea's arm while the nurse helps Chelsea take a

sip of water.

ROXY

It's good to see you awake.

Chelsea tries to sit up and look around, but falls back down.

CHELSEA

Where's Roger?

The nurse looks uncomfortably at Roxy.

Roxy looks at the nurse.

ROXY

It's okay, I got this.

Roxy leans in and grabs Chelsea's hand.

12-18-2019

45.

ROXY

Sweetie? Do you know where you are?

Chelsea shakes her head and grimaces.

ROXY

You're in the hospital.

CHELSEA

How? How...long?

ROXY

Almost two weeks.

CHELSEA

Roger?

The nurse comes back in with the doctor and his assistant.

DR. STENTSON

Hello, Mrs. Conroy. I'm doctor

Stentson. It's good to see you awake.

The doctor looks at her charts.

DR. STENTSON

Your numbers are starting to look

better. I'm going to check somethings

out. Okay?

Chelsea nods in agreement.

The doctor pulls out a flash light and starts checking her

eyes.

DR. STENTSON

Are you feeling nauseous? Light

headed?

Chelsea shakes her head no.

CHELSEA

Roger!?

25 INT. JASMINE'S BEDROOM-DAY

Roger and Jasmine are making love when the phone rings.

JASMINE

Leave it.

12-18-2019 46.

Roger looks at his phone.

ROGER

I can't. It's Roxy. Something could be

wrong.

Jasmine sighs.

ROGER

Hey Roxy...something happen?

Roger rolls off the top of Jasmine.

ROGER

She is? Okay....I'll be there in a

bit. Bye.

Roger puts down the phone and gets back on top of Jasmine.

Jasmine looks annoyed.

ROGER

I can't.

JASMINE

Jesus, Roger.

Roger rolls over again.

ROGER

Sorry.

Jasmine rolls over onto her elbow.

JASMINE

No, it's okay. Just frustrating.

What's happened?

Roger sits up.

ROGER

Chelsea's awake.

JASMINE

That's good...How's she doing?

Roger shrugs.

ROGER

Roxy said that she doesn't seem to

remember much.

12-18-2019 47.

Jasmine lens up and kisses Roger's shoulder.

JASMINE

What are we gonna do?

Roger leans back into Jasmine.

ROGER

We aren't doing anything at the

moment.

Roger stands up.

ROGER

Right now, I'm gonna clean up and head

down there.

Roger starts heading towards the bathroom.

ROGER

I need to talk to Roxy and figure it

out. 26 INT. ICU-DAY

Roger enters the room where he sees Roxy and Chelsea talking.

Roxy and Chelsea notice him, and Roxy gets up to greet him.

Roger.

Roxy hugs him.

Roger whispers.

ROGER

How is she?

Better.

ROXY

CHELSEA

ROXY

Roger!

Roger walks over to Chelsea's bed.

She smiles at him.

ROGER

Hey, Chelsea, how are you feeling?

12-18-2019 48.

Chelsea frowns at him.

CHELSEA

I don't remember much.

ROGER

It's okay.

CHELSEA

Roxy said we're not together anymore?

Roger just looks away from her.

She starts to sob.

Roger gives her a hug.

ROGER

Don't worry about that right now.

Roxy comes up behind Roger.

ROXY

The doctor want her in rehab.

Roger looks back at Roxy.

ROGER

Okay.

CHELSEA

Roxy said I pushed you away...

Roger looks back at Chelsea.

ROGER

Sh! We can talk about that later.

Right now, we need to get you better.

CHELSEA

I'm sorry, Roger.

ROXY

Chels, we need to get you better

first. Worry about it later.

ROGER

We're gonna do our best to help you.

Roxy yawns.

12-18-2019

49.

ROXY

This whole ordeal's been a bit long.

I'm gonna go get some coffee, so you

two can talk.

Roxy exits the room.

Chelsea tears up.

CHELSEA

The doctor said that I almost died.

ROGER

Yeah, I know.

CHELSEA

I don't want to die, Roger.

Roger's eyes start to water.

ROGER

I don't want that either.

Chelsea tries to sit up.

Roger lifts the head of the bed up.

CHELSEA

Roxy told me everything.

ROGER

Did she?

CHELSEA

I know that we lost our son. I know

that I wasn't a very good person to

you.

ROGER

It's not important right now.

CHELSEA

It is...

Chelsea takes some deep breaths.

CHELSEA

Does she make you happy?

Roger pulls back and sits down in the chair.

12-18-2019

50.

CHELSEA

I need to know.

Roxy sneaks back into the room.

ROGER

I don't know what to say.

Roxy walks over and hands Roger a cup. She whispers in his

ear.

ROXY

You'll need this. Want me to leave?

Roger looks at Roxy, and shakes his head no.

CHELSEA

Just be honest. I'm not mad.

Roxy pulls up another chair.

ROXY

Chels, now's not the time.

CHELSEA

Please? Roger.

ROGER

It's hard to explain...and it's

something that I've spent a hell of a

lot of time thinking about.

Roger looks away.

ROGER

It's complicated Chels. You're my

wife, and I love you...

CHELSEA

But?

ROGER

I really wanted this to wait.

Chelsea gives Roger a look that says she wants to know.

ROGER

She's good to me. It's been

surprisingly nice to have someone who

isn't constantly attacking me for

things beyond my control.

12-18-2019

51.

I see.

CHELSEA

ROXY

Chels, please...let's not..

CHELSEA

I'm sorry, Roger.

Roger stands up and moves to the other end of the bed.

ROGER

I wasn't sure how I felt about any of

it. You and I were constantly

fighting, I made a mistake, then you

threw me out.

ROXY

You needed to learn to deal with your

grief better Chels. Roger does love

you.

CHELSEA

I hurt him. Roger, I'm sorry.

ROGER

Look, I'm gonna go, get some rest.

We'll talk more tomorrow.

Roger goes to hug Chelsea, and then Roxy.

He exits the room.

Roxy looks at her sister.

ROXY

Everything is going to be okay.

CHELSEA

I've lost him...haven't I?

ROXY

I don't know.

27 INT. JASMINE'S KITCHEN-NIGHT

Jasmine's chopping up some vegetables, and humming to

herself.

Roger enters the door.

12-18-2019

52.

JASMINE

How'd it go?

Roger puts his keys and phone down.

ROGER

It was strange.

JASMINE

How so?

ROGER

Just the whole...

Roger shakes his head.

ROGER

Besides the tubes being hooked up, she

looks better.

Jasmine is cooking the food in a pan.

JASMINE

That's...good...

Jasmine is concentrating on her cooking.

ROGER

What is it?

Jasmine turns off the burner and puts the pan down.

She looks at Roger.

JASMINE

It's just...I love you.

ROGER

I know you do.

She finishes getting dinner ready.

JASMINE

What we got is nice, and I don't want

to lose this.

Roger nods in response.

JASMINE

I'm afraid that I'm going to lose you,

and you'll go back to her.

12-18-2019 53.

Roger goes around the counter, and grabs Jasmines hand. He

pulls her in close and wraps his arms around her waist.

ROGER

I've been giving all this so much of

my thoughts. The truth is, I love you

too.

Jasmine gets a surprised looks, then smiles.

JASMINE

Really?

ROGER

Seeing Chelsea today, lying there...it

made me realize somethings.

Jasmine starts to look a bit impatient.

JASMINE

Well?

ROGER

Chelsea and I would never be able to

work out. Too much has happened and

we've both changed too much to go back

to what we were.

Jasmine and Roger kiss.

ROGER

You've been my best friend for a long

time, and for once, this feels right.

JASMINE

What are we going to do now?

28 INT. ROGER'S LIVING ROOM-DAY

Roger opens the door to the house. He, and Jasmine are

helping Chelsea into the house.

They sit her on the couch.

JASMINE

How's the couch feeling, Chelsea?

Chelsea looks around.

CHELSEA

You did a good job.

12-18-2019 54.

Jasmine takes a seat across from Chelsea.

Roger puts somethings down on a table and then takes a seat

next too Jasmine.

ROGER

Jasmine was a great help.

Roger and Jasmine match eyes.

Chelsea notices the look, and looks down. She shuffles in her

seat a bit.

CHELSEA

At least I know.

Roger looks at Chelsea.

CHELSEA

I can't say that I'm surprised.

JASMINE

What are you talking about?

CHELSEA

I knew you two would be together.

ROGER

About that...

CHELSEA

It's okay...we were in trouble for

sometime before this.

Jasmine looks down.

JASMINE

I love him, Chelsea.

Chelsea nods.

CHELSEA

I know, but now I know his feelings

for you.

Roger leans forward.

ROGER

Chels, I'm...

12-18-2019

55.

CHELSEA

Don't apologize.

Chelsea struggles to lean forward, as Jasmine offers to help,

she's waved away.

CHELSEA

After you left the hospital, Roxy and

I had a heart-to-heart.

ROGER

I figured you would.

JASMINE

This is all my...

CHELSEA

I said don't apologize.

Chelsea falls back fatigued.

ROGER

Do you need something?

Jasmine gets up to get some water.

JASMINE

I'll get you some water.

CHELSEA

We've not been a real couple in some

time.

Roger nods his head in agreement.

Jasmine gives Chelsea the water and sits back down next to

Roger.

CHELSEA

Thank you.

Chelsea takes a sip.

CHELSEA

Our marriage died when Mac passed.

ROGER

I didn't think so.

CHELSEA

I took whiskey to feel the void.

12-18-2019 56.

Jasmine touches Chelsea's hand.

JASMINE

We're here for you.

CHELSEA

Are you, Jasmine?

Jasmine moves back.

CHELSEA

I know you're here for Roger, that's

all I know.

Jasmine stands up.

JASMINE

Of course I am.

Chelsea gives a doubtful look.

JASMINE

Just because I love Roger, doesn't

mean I don't care. I sat there with

you as well for all those months.

Chelsea looks stunned.

JASMINE

I held your hand during all those keto

sessions with Mac. I held you both

when Mac took his last breath.

Chelsea stubbles for words.

JASMINE

And, I held my tongue when you started

taking out all that anger on a man I

respected. So, don't tell me that I

don't care.

Roger grabs Jasmine to calm her down.

ROGER

It's okay.

Chelsea breaks down.

CHELSEA

I'm so sorry.

12-18-2019 57.

Roger sits, staring at Chelsea.

ROGER

I want you to get better Chels.

Jasmine and I will do all we can to

help you.

Chelsea starts to calm down.

ROGER

Okay?

Chelsea nods.

Jasmine grabs Roger's hand.

ROGER

Things will never be the same, but we

are family.

12-18-2019 58.

Love

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    SKWritten by Sarah Keeling

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.