Fiction logo

Licking Sight

Unexpected meeting with a future leash owner

By Francis LPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Licking Sight
Photo by Oscar Sutton on Unsplash

Might be a dream

The day I met with that friend

Of mine

Feet over the sand

I was walking on the seashore

All alone

That was a wondrous day

I was thinking

"Could I get a boat and sail ?"

The stream

Was stroking the trend

When the sunset was at its shine

In my hand

A peddle thrown before

Waves took the stone

And I continued my way

Feeling

The breeze - petting my smallest nail

Into gleam

Calling for an amend

Those sprays were fine ;

The salty smell of the land,

The store

Filled with sweets and scones,

Some undersea fish or a ray,

One smelling

That would slowly assail ...

I looked behind me and I saw the cause of it.

Running, a newcomer was approaching.

By Elisa Kennemer on Unsplash

Hir odor - was ze a male or a female? I didn't know at that instant - was soft. Vividly striding on the beach, ze made backwards and forwards moves all around me. I couldn't have escaped it - and in one way I wouldn't have.

Happily leaping, I feared of the lick.

As ze pursued me from far, slowly, I did think to leave hir ... and each step I tried was a failure. In fact, I don't remember if I really wanted to slip away at that moment. All I remember is that I wandered until the break of the day was consumed. And all along, that protector meandered with curiosity. That dog mate behaved as an assistant ... Me ?! Being assisted ? Such a shame !

The stars were rising in the sky, so I looked at it. "I like that great sight" I said to myself. And next to me, my new companion was watching the scenery. I risked a glance at hir. I stared hir for long.

Ze was calm. I did have felt scared as I assumed being stalked by hir tail ...

"Tell me. What's your name, buddy ?"

"Woof!" Ze couldn't answer in another way.

"Woof! Woof!" I suddenly sensed strangely relieved under the lights of the promising night.

"Woof! Woof! Woof!" My fantastic cousin was shaking and giving hir paw. I was touched by that unexpected esteem. I couldn't refuse to give back a kind gesture - I shared a hand.

My companion joyfully moved hir tail by standing on hind legs. In a flash, I forgot the sadness I had entered the field with. In a breath, I decided to leave my state of sorrow for moments of madness, along with my new friend.

I understood then what means the futility to stay alone.

"Grab my hands, sir pal! Come on, partner!" And I played all night long with the well-wisher of my life.

Right away, he became - he's a male - my intimate associate. I'm glad I have walked in pain. I'm lucky I finally caught with surprise an ally, full of woofing and filled with love.

By Stephanie Buffington on Unsplash

Now, everyday I can I run on the beach with my friend.

Sometime, I play : I take a branch I throw (or not) and get a paw. I stamp into the water and get a loving lick. I hide behind my benefactor, then I see him vividly jump and leap. Those are my daily privilege.

I never expected his presence, but he gives me so much of delight routines.

By Phil Hearing on Unsplash

If I would share my experience - if I should give a piece of advice, I would say : In moment of sadness, when you feel lost, just walk. Don't wander for wandering, but listen what's inside you - hear the elements of the nature, your entourage. Thus, ultimately, you'd find your inner strength and will.

And may be a friend ...

By Ahmed Zayan on Unsplash

Story n°69 - submitted on 09 February 2022 - was originally imagined to get into the Life Unleashed challenge. It would had been a poem ...

family
1

About the Creator

Francis L

Trying to write something, but often a disaster. Mainly short poetry.

Find more of my universe (all writings differ from here - work depends on affluence) : Patreon, Spotify

Tipping is great to support both author's work and Vocal platform :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.