Fiction logo

"Library Love"

"Finding Love Amongst the Books"

By zain hassanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
"Lost in the pages, found in the love of the library."

Once upon a time, in a small town nestled in the heart of the countryside, there was a library. It was a modest building, with brick walls and a slate roof, but it held within its walls a wealth of knowledge, wisdom, and imagination. The library was run by a kind and dedicated librarian named Miss Marjorie, who had worked there for more than thirty years.

Miss Marjorie loved her job, and she loved the people who came to the library. She knew many of them by name and had watched them grow from children into adults. She took pride in helping people find just the right book, and she was always eager to share her own love of reading.

Amidst the shelves of books so high,

I find my haven, my peace, my sky.

The scent of pages, old and new,

Makes me feel alive, and I renew.

One day, a young girl named Lily came into the library. She was shy and hesitant, and she looked around nervously as she entered. Miss Marjorie smiled at her warmly and asked if she needed help finding a book.

Lily nodded, her eyes downcast. "I don't really like reading," she said softly. "But my teacher says I have to read a book for class."

Miss Marjorie didn't seem deterred by this. "Well, what kinds of things do you like?" she asked.

The silence whispers tales untold,

Of ancient times and stories bold.

I lose myself in every verse,

And in the knowledge, I immerse.

Lily shrugged. "I don't know. I like dogs, I guess."

Miss Marjorie's face lit up. "Ah, then you might enjoy 'Where the Red Fern Grows' by Wilson Rawls," she said. "It's about a boy and his two hunting dogs, and it's a classic. Would you like to give it a try?"

Lily looked skeptical, but she took the book from Miss Marjorie's outstretched hand. "Okay," she said, and shuffled off to a quiet corner of the library to read.

The library, my beloved place,

Where time stands still, and I embrace

The words that fill my heart and mind,

And leave the world's chaos behind.

The next week, Lily came back to the library. Miss Marjorie smiled at her as she entered, and Lily smiled back shyly. "I finished the book," she said, holding it out to Miss Marjorie.

"That's wonderful!" Miss Marjorie said, taking the book from her. "What did you think?"

Lily hesitated for a moment. "I liked it," she said finally. "It was sad, but it was good."

Oh, library, you hold the key

To the magic that sets me free.

You nourish my soul, you feed my brain,

And for you, my love will never wane.

Miss Marjorie beamed at her. "I'm so glad you enjoyed it," she said. "Would you like to try another book?"

Lily nodded, and Miss Marjorie helped her find another book about dogs. And then another, and another. Before long, Lily was checking out books on her own, exploring new genres and authors.

As time went on, Lily became a regular at the library. She no longer looked nervous or hesitant when she came in; she walked in confidently, head held high. She had found something she loved, and she had Miss Marjorie and the library to thank for it.

With every visit, I find a treasure,

A gem that brings me endless pleasure.

And as I leave, I know I'll be back,

For my library love, there's no lack.

Years passed, and Lily grew up. She went to college and then moved away, but she never forgot the library that had changed her life. Whenever she came back to her hometown, she made a point to visit, and she always sought out Miss Marjorie.

One day, Lily came into the library to find that Miss Marjorie had retired. She was heartbroken, but she knew that she wanted to do something to honor the woman who had meant so much to her. She decided to make a donation to the library in Miss Marjorie's name, to help ensure that the library would continue to be a place of discovery and inspiration for generations to come.

Love, oh love, what magic you bring,

The joy, the pain, the everything.

You light up our lives with your flame,

And in your warmth, we'll never be the same.

And so she did, and her donation was used to purchase new books and to renovate the children's section of the library. A plaque was put up in Miss Marjorie's honor, and it read, "

Short StoryYoung AdultMysteryLoveHumorHorrorHistoricalFantasyFan FictionfamilyFableExcerptClassicalAdventure
Like

About the Creator

zain hassan

As a creative artist, I have a natural flair for aesthetics and a keen eye for detail. My work is characterized by its unique blend of innovation and classic style, creating a signature look that is all my own.

Please Subscribe|Like|Share.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.