Fiction logo

Library

You're really not alone in that place

By Emil indwPublished 27 days ago 3 min read
Like
Library
Photo by Ryunosuke Kikuno on Unsplash

Heading into the final semester, I had to look for references to complete my final project. I decided to visit library close to campus. I arrived at the library at two in the afternoon. I sat in the middle of the room. I was still looking for the right material for my final project. The atmosphere at that time was fairly crowded. I could ever hear some people chatting or discussing. At that time I didn't feel anything strange in this library.

The place I was in had several people who were serious about their respective activities. They were glued to their books. I began arranging my things on the table. Sometimes I looked around. This place has not changed. Only the bookshelves are sometimes moved. I always liked the smell of books.

Suddenly I heard a sound that was so resounding. It was like it was expanding, sounding very clear. It felt like it was very close. I heard the sound of a woman crying so sadly. It really made me want to find the source of the crying. I got up from my seat. I tried to explore every aisle of the bookshelves in this library. However, I didn't see any women crying. The people around me looked normal. The more I searched for the voice, the louder it sounded. Not only in every seat or aisle of the bookshelf, I even checked under the tables on by one.

"Am I the only one who heard it?"

I kept walking in search of that voice. Even, I was too tired find out anymore. I dared to ask someone. Before I stepped there, I took my things and put them in drawer.

Becauce I Couldn't find it, I finally asked the library clerk, "Ma'am, I'm sorry, I heard a woman crying very loudly. Did you hear it too?"

The lady frowned and looked at me for a few seconds and then she shook her head. "No, I didn't hear anything."

The officer's answer made me pensive for a moment. Then, I tried to look around again. Turned my head to the right and left. To see if there was anyone who felt strange about the voice. I was the only one who heard it. Yes, I must try to accept this.

But this was strange, the voice was clearly audible to me. Was I having hallucinations. I closed my eyes fo a while and prayed. And opened my eyes again. but the the voice was still there. I feel like leaving this place immediately. And I want to wash my face in the sink. So that I can get refreshed.

"What's going on, Miss?" a little boy asked me.

Then, the little boy smiled and passed in between the aisle of books.

So, I went back to my seat. The voice was still there, I tried to read the short letters that I could. And I quickly tidied up my belongings and walked to the exit. When I stepped out of the library, the sound of crying was still there, although not as loud as inside. Now the sound was a little quieter. And, for some reason, I tried to find one side of the wall in the library. I tried to bring myself closer to put my ear to the wall, and the soft crying sound disappeared. Since that incident, I always say excuse me and recite a prayer, before I move in the library that I visit.

I couldn't come to any conclusions about the crying sound I heard at that time. I didn't even know what kind of astral being the owner of the voice was.

MysteryShort StoryHorror
Like

About the Creator

Emil indw

I always use the people around me as inspiration in my writing. They will be special people if you know how to write about them.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.