Fiction logo

LHS Class of 01 The Prom

plans for the prom

By Forest GreenPublished 9 months ago 3 min read
2
LHS Class of 01 The Prom
Photo by Hannah Busing on Unsplash

It was a few days away from the prom actually being only Wednesday and everyone in the group was discussing plans for that night. After her first party almost went downhill, Megan egan to worry about how the prom might go. She and Emily had walked in the hallway to one of their final classes. As they headed to the homeroom they briefly discussed their plans. "I don't know what to do about prom. I already got a dress but I'm still working on a date." Megan stated to emily. "How about peter? I saw chemistry between you two at the party." Emily reliped. "I could and you could bring Marc" Megan teasingly said to her. "Very funny she said and yes I am taking him." Megan could not help but smile at that comment. The two entered the classroom and across the hallway there was Francis watching them and was not happy. But he walked away to his class. In the classroom the teacher Mrs Wilkes handed back everybody's final exam. Megan received her final exam results and received a 98 percent. "I would like to say congratulations to everybody who has passed this exam and I hope to see you all at the prom." Mrs Wilkes said to everyone because they all passed the exam. Megan and Emily exit the classroom nearly an hour later for lunch. They met up with Joan at their usual table where it will be one of the last times they will eat lunch together. "I am so excited about the prom and knowing that I got a good score is amazing," Megan said. Joan and Emily high-five her. "So who are you taking to the prom?" Joan asked Emily. "Do I even need to say it?" Emily responded. Already realized who Emily is taking to the prom. "Who are you going with?" Emily asked Joan. "Well it might be a shock to you but I am going with Scott." Emily responded to them. "Scott?" Emily and Megan were confused but also excited. "He asked me if I was going and I asked if he was too. And then he started to show me his comic book collection and I like them." Joan said to them. Megan could not help but blush and Emily who never usually does that finally did blushed too. Meanwhile across the lunchroom Marc was hanging with Peter and Scott at their lunch table. "Oh man. I am very excited about going to the prom with emily." Marc told them. "That's great and all. but you both are very different." Peter responded. "That's not important. We really love each other and…" Marc was about to finish before Scott interjected. "You guys are not even dating and all you did was make out," Scott stated. "I don't really expect you to understand this," Marc replied. "That's because you had dates in the past and you're on the football team. So you're right we never had any dates." Peter responded. "I didn't mean it like that and I'm glad for you guys." Marc told them. "Thank you," Scott said, very confused. "So does that mean you might be named prom king this year?" Peter asked marc. "I hope so," Marc said quietly. "You know that fool was named prom king twice and homecoming king once. I was just the runner up during freshman year. Francis thinks he can get everything." Marc said as he ate his food. Later that day Megan went home and searched through his closet to see what dress to wear. She then came across a dark blue dress and realized it was the one. Then came Saturday night and the group met up with each other at her house so they could go together.

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Forest Green

Hi. I am a writer with some years of experiences, although I am still working out the progress in my work. I make different types of stories that I hope many will enjoy. I also appreciate tips, and would like my stories should be noticed.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  5. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Colt Henderson9 months ago

    I was hoping for a prom scene. Good story.

  • You did an amazing job with this story. Megan is nice! Loved your story!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.