Fiction logo

Let's Pretend This Never Happened

No footprints left behind

By Anna TorresPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Let's Pretend This Never Happened
Photo by Timothy Brown on Unsplash

I really wish it hadn't come to this. We were having such a good time around the fire, drinking beer and reminiscing. Perhaps certain memories should stay in the past. Dan and I had 27 years worth of memories together and we always managed to survive the night. Until last night. Where exactly did the conversation go off track? When did Dan decide to shake off his inhibitions and simply become a stranger? We never argued. There was never any fights, any disagreements, or bad blood between us. Dan was my best friend. He was my hiking buddy and we would camp out overnight in the mountains every December. We've done this for over half our lives so why did last night turn into the nightmare it shouldn't have been? What was so different that had us turn on each other? I keep contemplating all these hypotheticals, all these scenarios, but I'm still coming up empty. My snow boots have really saved the day, up here all alone with no witnesses. I wasn't planning on hiking back alone, dragging this carcass behind me for 3 miles but I wasn't planning on a lot of things to happen. I miss Dan already but this has got to get done before the sun rises too high in the sky. I still have to double back and erase all traces of Dan and his presence here. I have to erase my tracks as well. I didn't know Dan's body could be so heavy.

PsychologicalthrillerMicrofictionHorror
3

About the Creator

Anna Torres

I’m a 37-year old mother. I love reading, metal music, and writing. I have begun writing again since 2021

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test3 months ago

    Fascinating story Well written!

  • Scott Christenson3 months ago

    Congrats on being the last story in before the cutoff;) An interesting vignette of a night out in the snow gone wrong!

  • Kendall Defoe 3 months ago

    Oh, I like this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.