Fiction logo

Lessons in Love

Gym lessons, that is!

By Doc SherwoodPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
1

Jenny hadn’t spoken to me since I stood her up. I had bigger problems than that though, because I knew if I didn’t get at least as good as that girl and her age-group at gym I’d be bumped down a grade further, and I suspected I’d die of embarrassment if I had to go back to Beginners! Next day was Saturday so I decided to go round to see my friend and get some practice in.

As I didn’t feel much like the bus in weather this hot, I decided to walk – or at any rate, that was the excuse I made to myself. Not that it wasn’t true about the bus, but the real reason was that the way to my friend’s house would take me along a little stretch of the way that Jenny rode her bike home. I couldn’t resist, even with the way she’d been lately.

Suddenly – ding ding! And then, before I had any time at all to react, something knocked me hard and I spoltched to the dirt at the side of the road.

It had felt suspiciously like a kick! What was more, as I glared at the cyclist speeding by I obviously couldn’t see her face, but I knew those breathtaking bare alabaster thighs. That awesome butt looked pretty familiar too, especially clad in little black shorts which were very like a certain pair I remembered from my last game of one-on-one!

Fuming, I knew very well it was her, though of course she’d deny it. I picked myself up and dusted myself down, and before long had thankfully left the cycle-track and was going down the little overgrown lane that led to my friend’s garden gate, noting mainly to myself how grubby I was.

“Wow, how did you get like that?” he exclaimed by way of greeting.

“I’ll just give you a word of advice, since I’m older – if you ever start a crush on Jenny, don’t!” I grumbled in reply.

Next day I went to watch some play-offs at the park. I really did feel guilty about what had happened with Morgan, but after yesterday I was still in no mood to bump into you-know-who. So guess what!

“I didn’t know you came to these!” I gasped in disbelief.

Jenny just looked at me coldly.

“Not having a bike ride today then?” I went on, glaring my unspoken accusation at her.

“I did cycle here, yes,” she replied breezily. “Just looking for students, because I can always use new ones.”

“Well,” I faltered, suddenly keen, “I wouldn’t mind being your student! There’s, um, a whole lot I could learn from you,” I added, and blinked my eyes winningly.

“I mean from the top levels,” she explained. “Bit of a difference!”

That infuriating giggle made me indignant. “I could so be your student!” I blurted.

“I think joining a team sport would be best for you,” she replied, being serious now. “You’d likely need that sort of support while you’re learning. Don’t forget I’ve played you at one-on-one,” she added, making me squirm.

“Er, team sports are what’s got me into this situation!” I flung out.

“Well, OK,” Jenny conceded, though very dubiously, and after telling me the time and place for our first session breezed off. She left me weak.

I was having real second thoughts by the time that first session came around! It wasn’t a very warm evening so she and I were the only ones on the court. When I saw it was the dreaded little black shorts again I just cringed, and wished passionately to be back home watching TV in my socks and stuffing myself instead!

“The problem with you being my student is how much better at it I am,” was the first thing Jenny said, still sounding doubtful about the whole thing.

“I see you’re still pretty sure of yourself, for a girl!” I cried, trying to be pompous about it.

“You think I’m just teasing you but it’s true,” she went on. “If you can’t get the hang of the simplest technique I teach, there’s not much point our doing this.”

She made me so mad when she said things like that! Incensed I made a grab at the ball, but she moved it out of my reach so my hand sailed through air. I glared at her.

This at least brought the first smile I’d seen from her all evening, and even the traces of a giggle. “Well, if you’re sure, we might as well warm up,” she announced, and started bouncing the ball. I jerked straight into my best game-mode and tried to tackle but she just switched hands and, maddeningly, walked straight past me.

I straightened up with both fists clenched and rounded on her. “Speaking of being a tease…!” I flung out, very hot in the face.

From the smug knowing smile she gave me, and the eyelids-lowered look behind her glasses, I just knew Jenny wasn’t done getting her own back yet.

“If you want me to play properly, you’ll have to prove you’re good enough,” she dared me.

Series
1

About the Creator

Doc Sherwood

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Staringale7 months ago

    Reading others point of views of a relationship really gives a unique insight and let tell you after going through 100 of such relationship stories each one is different from another no two are ever same. Perhaps this is because of a lot of things like perspective, insight, emotions, experiences etc. Learning about your own experience was really interesting. Hope to see more articles that tell about your personal experiences in life.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.