Fiction logo

Lessons From a Squirrel

Funny things we learn from random sources.

By Kasandra NicholsPublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like
Lessons From a Squirrel
Photo by Trac Vu on Unsplash

They were gone. I had only run up into the woods for a few seconds, to show mom how I could. I’m not sure why I thought it was cool, but I’m only four and we tend to think all our ideas are amazing. Here I am though, standing above the playground outside the YMCA and my family has left me, now what?

There was no one else on the playground and even if there was, I wouldn’t ask a stranger for help. I began to run in the direction I think I remember us coming from calling out for my mother. I stopped at the edge of where the woods met the field.

The only sound I heard was the squeaking of the of the swing that had yet to come to a complete stop. The very swing that my sister had been on only moments ago. I then began to wonder, had she left me on purpose? I had been exceptionally uncooperative that morning and mad about not getting to take swim lessons like my brothers. Then I had refused to wear the jacket she insisted I needed to wear. Perhaps she left me here, maybe this was her plan all along.

Looking around the open field that sat next to the playground, just beyond was a lot full of cars. That could be where I needed to go, but I couldn’t be sure. Plus, what if I ended up getting run over by someone not looking? Mom always told us to be extremely careful about cars smashing us like pancakes. I love pancakes but I don’t want to become one.

Suddenly I heard voices, but wasn’t sure if they would be friendly people so ran to the nearest large tree. Tucking myself in between to large roots, I pulled my tiny legs in toward my chest. I was out of sight of anyone looking towards the woods.

I dropped my head to my knees and let my mind wander over all my options and allowed myself to cry.

“Why are you crying?” A squeaky small voice that sounded close inquired.

I raise my head, fully prepared to scream, but stopped short when all I saw was a squirrel perched at my feet. It was staring at me expectantly. Obviously, it hadn’t been the squirrel that just ask me that, I thought, but then its little mouth moved, and nose twitched.

“Why are you crying?” It asked again, tipping its head to the side.

I looked around, thinking this can't be happening, squirrels only talk in movies like, Bambi. Still there was no one else around.

It continued to stare at me and then asked, “Do you not know how to talk?”

“I don’t know how to talk to squirrels,” I responded before I knew what I was doing.

“It’s just like talking to someone like you, I imagine.” The tiny little lips tipped up as though attempting to smile. I also didn’t know squirrels could smile. “So, why are you hiding behind this tree?”

“My family left me here, I think it’s because my mom is mad at me and doesn’t want me anymore?” I bawled burying my head into my knees.

When I didn't hear it say anything I peaked up to see it just staring at me. After a few minutes it finally spoke, “Well that is very sad, but how long do you think you will cry about it?”

“I don’t know, I don’t know what to do.” I replied angrily.

It brought himself up a little higher in stance and set a paw, do squirrels have paws or hands, just below my knee.

“I have lived in in these woods my whole life and I have seen a lot of sad things. My friends have been picked up by birds never to be seen again, my parents died from starvation one year because someone stole their nut stash, and not long ago my mate was smashed by one of those giant metal contraptions over there.”

Glancing toward the parking lot I realized it meant a car. I almost asked if it looked like a pancake but then thought it may not know what that is and it may not have been nice.

“I bet you cried.” I challenged.

“I did, each time, but after a while I realized, crying was not going to solve anything. It made me feel better but if I didn’t do something the relief was short lived and I would be crying again. I now warn my other friends of areas to avoid the birds, I keep multiple stashes so I don’t starve, and take care of my children and remind them to be very careful when crossing over great expanses."

“What can I do? I am not supposed to talk to strangers, and I have no idea where my house is from here.” I whined. How could this small animal understand my predicament.

“Well, you could sit here and just cry, however, it will be dark in several hours and then you will have bigger problems to contend with than being left alone in the woods. There are two pretty mean raccoons that hang around here and the owls and crickets never shut up.”

I began to cry harder than I was before, I did not want to have to sleep in the woods on the ground. I hate bugs, and I don't know what mean raccoons are like, but I don’t want to find out.

The little squirrel made a noise that seemed like a deep sigh, as though it realized my inner struggle at the moment.

“If your mother did leave you here on purpose that is wrong, but it doesn’t seem like you want to make this your new home.” It stared pointedly at me, and then gesturing with an arm, “If you want to find somewhere you like better, you will have to come out of hiding and find someone to help you with that. If she didn’t leave you here but just accidentally left, she will not find you as long as you are behind this tree crying.”

I thought about what it was saying and realized there was a point there. I could stay behind the tree, and nothing would change, or I could seek out a way to fix my situation. Even my young four-year-old mind could see the logic in that, as difficult and daunting as it seemed. The air was chilled, and I had to admit I was cold now. If only I had worn my jacket.

Slowly extending my legs, I pulled myself up to standing, and poked my head around the giant trunk that had been my sanctuary. At first, I didn’t see anyone, but after a moment a man and woman were walking by holding hands. Her eyes met mine and I pulled myself back behind the tree.

“Are you lost?” She called out.

Looking down at the squirrel who was just sitting and looking at me. Silent, as though it had never spoken, but then pressing a paw to my leg it nudged me forward.

The woman and man and come closer and were almost right in front of me as I stepped out.

“Are you lost, sweetheart.” She asked again.

I nodded.

“Well, let’s see if we can go find who’s looking for you.” She stated as though there was no way someone wouldn’t be trying to find me.

With that she picked me up and they carried me toward the building just beyond the field. I glanced back at the big tree and the squirrel, and I swear it was giving me a thumbs up.

Truth be told, my mother had walked off assuming I had followed. It took only a few minutes after leaving my hiding place that she found me with the nice couple.

No one ever believed me about the squirrel, my mother claimed it was a coping mechanism for trauma. As I get older, I believe it less and less as well. I wish I had asked its name, or at least found out whether it was male or female. Not that it mattered, it had taught me one of the most valuable lessons.

It’s okay to be sad, it’s okay to cry, but at some point, you must stop crying and act or things will not change.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.