Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Law School Murders: Definitely a Relief

Kim sits with a journalist.

By Skyler SaundersPublished 5 months ago 3 min read
Law School Murders: Definitely a Relief
Photo by Michal Czyz on Unsplash

Each of the caskets were lined up in the memorial hall. The capacity was 1500 people. There must’ve been 2500 people outside the Newark, Delaware premises. Young women wept and held hands. Songs and praise dancing all became part of the way that the fraternity brothers were sent out of this place to the grave.

Kim wore a black shawl and a stately gray dress. She walked by the remains and noticed no marks. The funerary staff did quite a great job at making all the young men look presentable.

On the car ride home from the funeral, Kim kept thinking about what Jason had said to her.

Her detective capabilities led her to wonder about the status of her own skills. How could three bodies who looked like they looked be not mutilated but kept together? Great mortuary work she surmised.

In her bedroom, she looked online for various interviews that wanted her to speak.

She tapped on her phone a link. It was a video.

“Hello. I’m Marcus Singletary. I would like to interview you for my podcast, Murder One. Please let me—”

She cut it off and put in her metadata.

In a week she was on the show.

“Hi, it’s Marcus Singletary. Welcome to Murder One where I discuss murder cases with leading experts in the field. Today, I’m glad to present to some and introduce to others one of the most celebrated individuals in the past decade. Known for her excellent police work in solving Wilmington’s QR code murders, Kimberle Jergensen made a name for herself. Then, she was embroiled with two separate murder cases where she was targeted as the suspect in both. She beat each of those cases. You may already know of her, but do you know about her whole story? This episode is being brought to you by DelaWhole Health Care systems. Do you enjoy your health benefits? Ensure you're covered by the best healthcare in the state.”

By Matt Botsford on Unsplash

“Now, I wanted to first ask you how many QR Code murders you solved. What was the exact count?”

“Twenty six.”

“And did you get a promotion immediately afterwards?”

“No.”

“What benefits did you receive?”

“I received a boost in pay and benefits.”

“Okay, pay and bennies. That’s good. Now, fast forward to the first murder case brought against you.”

“Okay.”

“What did you think when all eyes were on you. I mean the QR codes case you cracked was nationwide, but the Naomi Penn case must’ve been a turning point in your career and life. You were studying to be an FBI agent, correct?”

By Nick Morrison on Unsplash

“That’s right.”

“What did you think of the press and the global attention that the case garnered?”

Kim shifted in her seat and spoke directly into the microphone.

“I just wanted it to be over. I had no ill will against Naomi, even though she didn’t particularly like me. I just wanted justice for her as much as anything.”

“Even your own freedom?”

“They went hand in hand. They coincided because I knew that I was not a murderer.”

“When Sofiana Zepa confessed, how did you feel?”

“It was definitely a relief. I didn’t rejoice or anything. There was too much going on. A great deal of attention. But I let it go.”

“And then the second case….”

By Andrew Neel on Unsplash

“Yes, I was reeling at that point. I again, knew I was innocent and that the jury would be lenient to someone who solved a major case, beat one murder charge, and then found herself involved in another case. They might’ve been a bit overwhelmed. I’m just glad my legal counsel Brenda Lvingstone was so great.”

Short StorySeries

About the Creator

Skyler Saunders

I’ve been writing since I was five-years-old. I didn’t have a wide audience until I was nine. If you enjoy my work feel free to like but also never hesitate to share. Thank you for your patronage. Take care.

S.S.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!💕

Skyler SaundersWritten by Skyler Saunders

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.