Fiction logo

Lasting Echoes

Love's Final Call at the Train Station

By Ian SankanPublished 15 days ago 3 min read
1

The glow of the sun was gradually going down until it was finally a warm orange cast over the train station. There was when Ian and Ester sat on a bench with their hands being intertwined. The air was officially filled with the finality mood. The moment was as if written up in their memory

"I can't even believe we have arrived to this point," Ester whispered in her vulnerable voice that carried with it even more of the grief and the acceptance she felt.

Speaking to herself, she looked at him whose eyes had already seen much pain. "Yes, Ester. Both of us were aware that this was the day we've prepared for, though."

Ester felt herself stifling against something else, and finding the proper language was difficult. "I just didn't feel as though it's going to happen so soon. I thought we still got a lot more time to know each other."

He took her with the lightest cad touch, and softly wiped her tears. "Yes, that sometimes happens. We, however, have life on our side and everything will turn out to be alright."

They just sat, silently, for a short moment that became eternity, overwhelmed by the immense weight of their imminent final goodbye. Now Ian said what his point was. "Wish you knew I would always want you, Ester, my dear wife. I will carry you in my loving heart wherever the road takes me."

She was lost in his eyes, staring back at him, eyes filled with love and searching. "I will still love you too, my dear Ian. You've helped me find my way back in those tough times, and you've been my rock and my support."

Yet again they sat and were silent, this time the passing of the train and the fading clamour outside them was forgotten as they adored their last few minutes together. Undisturbed by anyone else except the distant echoes of passenger ship, the platform was thundered by their isolated dialogue.

"I wish some things could be different," Ester whispered sadly. Her heartbreaking words were barely heard by a few other girls in the room.

Ian held her hand tight, the shy code of masculinity aside, he had understood what was happening just as she did. "Yes, I also agree Ester. We have to understand our situation." Final Sentence: Sharing our lives with pets becomes a part of our human experience, and we learn to cherish and appreciate the companionship and unconditional love they offer.

With the night falling far, the time to summon their last call drew closer. Ian and Ester realised that in spite of all their feelings they could not live together, because their love was unable to solve the problems brought to it.

This is what I will never forget, Doofanaisy, Ian," Esther said, her voice being very emotional.

"I will always remember you, Ester," Ian responded in kind. His newfound humanity in infusing his voice with emotion. "The fact that you will be always in my heart not only truly but also my whole heart".

In this instance, the couple may have experienced a moment of despair, for they broke leave from the bench with one hand still enclosed in the other. They had yet another moment of the embrace, the very one that would later become the unforgettable experience in their memories.

When they bade farewell to each other and the final call was still lingering in their hearts amid dwellings, Ian and Ester knew that their love could always overcome the barrier of farewells. And as their hearts were heavy with this sorrow, they felt relief as they drifted apart from each other. Their love had become something unique, something built on despair and it would always be a beacon of hope in the dark.

Short StoryLoveFantasyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Ian Sankan

I am a writer with proven writing ability in various fields. I consider writing a passionate career and a platform through which I extend my intellectual ability.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.