Fiction logo

Last Letter Home

For Real Poetic's Holiday Jamboree! Challenge

By Matthew FrommPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - November 2023
30

My dearest Catherine,

My love, I hope you are well and safe this Christmas, for it’s a glorious Christmas night here as I sit penning this letter to you. While I dream of being with you and the children at the lake, sitting beside the fire, drinking wine with you as William and Mary play at our feet, there are things happening here in Trenton, and it’s a dream that I do not dare dream, for it makes what comes next that much harder.

Today was a glorious day, one of such majesty I dare say they will be singing its triumphs for Christmases to come. They said the cause was over, but today, through what must be a certain amount of divine intervention, I believe our righteous cause renewed with a force of will hitherto incomprehensible.

I was awoken suddenly on this frosty morning by the thumping of the cannons, a veritable cacophony of violence that, I must admit, gave me quite a start. Steeling myself, knowing that you and the children were safe, I sat near that little window upstairs. Don’t fret–I had my musket handy and watched them gloriously sweep through the streets.

But it was not the glory of the guns that stirred my soul more fiercely than I could ever have imagined. Nay, It was him.

Taller than a territorial oak, he rode at their head, bellowing, "March on, my brave fellows, after me!"

Despite the swirling rumors of their ruggedness, Washington and his army rode with such passion and bravery that any notions of their inevitable defeat I held shattered.

Not even the Sunday preacher could match his authority. Tomorrow, I will go to enlist in the Continental Army and join in this great struggle.

I pray for you and the children.

Yours,

George

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A/N:

This was written in response to Real Poetic's Holiday Jamboree! Challenge, details below:

If you've enjoyed this, please leave a like and an insight below. If you really enjoyed this, tips to fuel my coffee addiction are always appreciated. All formatting is designed for desktops. All my works can be found below:

Short StoryHistorical
30

About the Creator

Matthew Fromm

Full-time nerd, history enthusiast, and proprietor of random knowledge. The best way to find your perfect story is to write it yourself.

Here there be dragons, and knights, and castles, and quests for entities not wishing to be found.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (28)

Sign in to comment
  • JBaz6 months ago

    Congratulations on the win. This is still one of my favorite mini stories.

  • Great Top Story! Poor Catherine, William and Mary!

  • J. S. Wade6 months ago

    Poignant micro Matthew! Congratulations! I’ve been working on a series of Letters Home and really enjoyed yours. Now I may park it. My idea was letters from soldiers to home or home to soldiers 1780, 1812, 1861, 1917, 1941, 1967, 1991, 2001, and present day.

  • WENNA WILLIE6 months ago

    Congratulations on your top story. Very well written indeed. Subscribed!

  • Mark Gagnon6 months ago

    Historical fiction is one of my favorite genres. Well done and congratulations on TS.

  • Julygwynet6 months ago

    This is a great story. I enjoyed this story. If you want to read my story then visit this link https://vocal.media/humans/a-symphony-of-hearts-and-hopes

  • What a fascinating story!!! Excellent work Matthew!!!

  • Xine Segalas6 months ago

    Loved this - congratulations on your Top Story!

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Bravo!! Congratulations on Top Story too!!!💕❤️❤️

  • JBaz6 months ago

    Back to say congratulations. This one was so deserving

  • Mattie :)6 months ago

    So so good, Matthew! Well done. Congrats on top story, friend.

  • Gerald Holmes6 months ago

    This is just magical! Truly wonderful writing. Flows so well. Congrats on Top Story.

  • This is penned with passion. It is a fitting tribute to a profound chapter in American history. Well done!

  • Test6 months ago

    Outstanding! Keep striving for greatness—congratulations!

  • Lamar Wiggins6 months ago

    You love history and it shows. This had a very transcendent quality to it. Your dive into of the mind of a past hero was very believable. Excellent work!!! And congrats!!!

  • Mackenzie Davis6 months ago

    Ohhh this is so compelling and immersive, Matthew! Just, so well done! This bit really got me: "Not even the Sunday preacher could match his authority. Tomorrow, I will go to enlist in the Continental Army and join in this great struggle." Damn. What a pay-off from the first paragraph. Congrats on TS too!

  • Kendall Defoe 6 months ago

    I could imagine such a letter written by Washington.

  • Dana Crandell6 months ago

    Ooutstanding job, Matthew. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Congrats on the TS.

  • Donna Renee6 months ago

    Oooof the sweet letter and the dagger of a title 😩❤️ so good!!!!

  • Cathy holmes6 months ago

    Great job on this and great take on the challenge.

  • Grz Colm6 months ago

    Creative twist on the challenge. Excellent Matthew! 😊👏

  • JBaz6 months ago

    The title says it all, you wrote the part that needed to be read. Great job

  • Poor George. Your title hit me hard. Loved your take on this challenge!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.