Fiction logo

Lake of West Dalton

Is the lake shallow or is it Bottomless

By Devin Published 3 years ago 8 min read
2
Lake of West Dalton
Photo by Maku Kuma on Unsplash

West Dalton lake is cursed. When Parker went missing, nobody wanted to believe it. And then Tyson disappeared not too long after that. But this time, we all watched him get taken away by something inside of the lake. Neither of us saw what snatched Tyson away, it just happened too fast. We couldn't understand what just happened and how it happened. I'll bring it back to how things even started.

It was early June. My little brother, Sean had just graduated out of highschool. It was my idea to gather the crew to make him officially one of the guys. There was me, Parker, Tyson, and Tyson's older brother, Mike. We've all been friends since we were just little kids, and made the promise to stick by each other no matter the cost, making us brothers by pact. I made calls and gathered everyone to meet at our usual spot, not too far from Dalton Ridge. When we got there, the shack was destroyed. We had to find a new location. We drove around, trying to find another place to make our official hideout, coming across a place called Camp Dalton. It was a pretty old area, but in due time, we fixed everything up to our likings. From the jump, I had a bad feeling about the place. For starters, there were weird carvings on every tree saying "help" and "leave". And the lake is shrouded with a misty fog.

Night fell pretty quickly from making our arrangements inside of the main cabin. Tyson brought the cases of beer, Mike brought his tattoo kit, Parker had a beer keg, and I didn't bring anything but a brand new leather belt for Sean to bite on while he gets his tattoo. I felt an unfamiliar presence in the air. Almost as if someone was watching us, from a distance as well as up close. It felt weird, but I ignored it and help continue with the initiation. A little bit after 10 minutes, we were all done with Sean's mark. We headed out and made our way towards the misty lake. For the final test, Sean has to hold his breath under water for 40 seconds.

We prepped Sean for the task, taking his hat off, then dunking his head into the lake bearing 3 feet of water. Within the first 20 seconds, Sean was a bit too calm under water like he's been training his whole school year for this to happen. At the 30 second mark, Sean was starting to freak out. He was flailing his arms and legs frantically. And at one point, Sean was pulling Mike in the water with him, which was oddly stupid of my brother. You could see Mike trying to pull away. Passing 50 seconds, the rest of us were helping Mike pull away and pull Sean out of the water. Pulling them out, we stumbled backwards a bit, almost falling in the water. We all looked at Sean in anger. Sean said that he saw something in the water, that it was pulling him in deeper than what the lake really held. Which is why he grabbed Mike in the first place. Nobody believed him and they went back into the main cabin. Sean goes to me and explains everything. I didn't believe at first, but seeing all of the writings on the trees and feeling like I'm being watched made me reconsider. I walked with Sean back to the main cabin to join the others.

At the cabin, we were chugging beers left and right and having fun. The music was blasting loud. We all were in the front of the cabin, sitting in a circle. I felt like I was being watched again. At first, I thought it was just the beer that I'd drank. But the beer Tyson brought was very weak in volume. I got up from the circle and started wandering around the cabin, looking for things that would impact my suspicions. As I searched the cabin, I saw something outside from the back window. Moving in closer, I saw a blank face in the window. I moved to the window whereas I could touch it and look around outside. Trying to look past the face, I could only see that the mist grew larger from the lake and made its way to the cabins in the darkness. I took a step back and saw that the face now have eyes, staring back at me. I watched the face grow a mouth. It smiled at me, showing knife-like teeth. I ran back towards the front of the cabin, looking for the others. Everyone was still sitting at the center of the main room. But Parker was the only one missing. I asked what happened to Parker and Mike said that he went to find bathroom since there were none in here.

I started getting paranoid. With all of the strange things that I witnessed, and now Parker going out to find a bathroom, my nerves were growing restless. Whatever that thing is, it's out there with Parker. I told the guys what I saw out there and told them that this camp might be cursed. With an exception of Sean, the other guys didn't believe me and thought that I was too drunk and was seeing things that weren't there. I know exactly what I saw. And like me, Sean began being more cautious since his weird encounter not too long ago.

An hour had went by and Parker was still gone. Mike had made the suggestion to go out and look for him. We left out the cabin and begun searching for Parker separately to cover more ground. We used the flashlights on our cellphones since there were none back at the cabin. I went furthest toward the camp entrance thinking maybe he took a piss on the sign. Just a short moment of me looking getting close and looking at the sigh, I hear Tyson yell "OVER HERE" in the distance, so I made my way back towards the main cabin. Making my way towards the lake, there was a trail of blood leading straight to it. I followed the trail of blood, until it ended where the wave's stopping point at the edge. Shining the light upwards, I could see Tyson standing in the center of the lake, holding Parker's T-shirt. The others finally came, standing beside me.

I instantly thought that whatever that thing was that I saw must've killed Parker. I asked Tyson if he saw Parker somewhere floating around. Tyson said that he couldn't find him in there. Tyson started grabbing his leg. He yell at us for help, saying that something is pulling him in. I didn't hesitate to try and help, but Mike pushed me put of the way to help instead. Sean and I watched Mike as he tried his hardest in helping his little brother. He was pulling and pulling. Tyson was screaming louder and louder. And then we heard a ripping and a snapping sound, then Mike fell back with Tyson in his arm. Sean screamed "WHAT THE FUCK" and started freaking out. I couldn't believe what I had just saw. Tyson's leg was ripped off. I stared freaking out a little bit. Then a large, clawed, black hand came from under the water. Me and Sean both yelled "GET OUT OF THERE" to Mike and Tyson, but it submerged them both under the water. It seemed like neither of them put up a fight.

Moments later, a head popped out of the lake. It looked as if the rest of the head was still submerged under the water until it smiled. It was that thing that I saw looking in the window hours ago. I told Sean to run. Sean wasn't moving at all. The thing stood up from the lake revealing its entire body. He stood about 9 feet tall. Its arms were so long that its hands would be dragging on the ground if he walked. I shoved Sean and repeated myself while I turned around and started running. I stop and turn around and Sean is still frozen in place. I started running back for him, but the thing ripped Sean in half with just a swipe from his hand moving.

I started running to the entrance, going for my car. I didn't look back at all because I could hear its large footsteps. I'm finally at the entrance. I rushed as fast as I could to get in my car. Multiple times, I tried starting my car, but it just wouldn't start. I instantly thought that I'm dead with the rest of them and that this was probably meant to be. I looked to my right and it just stood there, behind the sign, stooped down and showing its knife like teeth. My car finally started. Just before I pulled off, it said "Stay Out" and made its way back into the darkness of the camp.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Devin

Hey! My name is Devin. I'm 22 years old. I like writing realistic fiction, fantasy fiction, and fiction genre all in the first person perspective so my work will mostly be that. hope you guys like my content!! :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.