Fiction logo

Lake of Souls Chapter 21

The end

By Josephine MasonPublished 2 years ago 9 min read
4
Lake of Souls Chapter 21
Photo by Ahmad Odeh on Unsplash

Previous Chapter

A year had passed since that first actual kiss with Filon. We had managed to convince the people of the life kingdom to let us stay in the castle. They were more than happy to have us, especially now that the land was flourishing. There were still issues that arose in the kingdoms but most of them were minor. The god didn't visit me once during that year though I thought I could see him in the occasional shadow. Life had become normal for Filon and I and we couldn't have been happier.

I had taken him to the dome where the lake used to be and showed him around. We met with the small snake who still guarded the dome. When we went inside I was surprised to find that there was a small puddle in the middle of the lake. I was sure it hadn't been there before but I had no idea why it had appeared. It was the same crystal clear blue as the lake had been before and I thought I saw a few souls swimming in it though I couldn't be sure.

We spent a few months in the fire kingdom at the castle there looking through the library. We were both trying to learn more about the gem in the pommel of my blade. The blade and gem had been a gift from the second Fire King to the first Life King. It had been given as a sign of respect for the first Life King had been highly revered by all the other Kings at the time. It was written that the gem was not cooled lava but was part of the original fire that had swept the land when the gods first came to this planet. Which explained to me at least why it would have the power to harm the gods. The blade itself had been forged in the original fire as well. It was unknown where the metal had come from but that there had only been enough to forge one blade.

I often would sit outside in the life kingdom and meditate. I continued to learn how to spread my consciousness out into the land and give it an actual form. I learned how to freely move around in this form and was actually able to travel the world this way. I discovered multiple ways to utilize this skill including checking in on both Solare and the beasts in the deep of the water kingdom. When I would converse with the beasts I would have them test my mental defenses against them. This process often left me drained for a day or two but with each time I got a little stronger.

I also took time to travel the lands anytime I heard a new child was born so that I could give them a soul. I didn't want any child on this planet to grow up the way I had. Most of the people of the land came to respect me and treated me with kindness when I approached them. They no longer bowed to me because they had to but because they actually saw me as their King. I always made sure to set some time to conversing with people when I went to the other kingdoms. I wanted to know these people as best as I could. I felt it was my responsibility to all of them.

My meditation time also was spent talking with the souls inside of me. Trying to learn more about them and how they functioned inside of me. They were never able to give me clear answers but instead left me with puzzles to ponder. I didn't tax my mind over them but would think about them occasionally when they crossed my mind. For every puzzle I could solve though there were a dozen more that I couldn't. However, this didn't bother me at all because I simply found it enjoyable to talk with the souls and learn about them. It seemed like the more I learned about them the stronger I became. As if understanding them was a key in progressing my abilities forward.

Filon and I got plenty of alone time as well. Now that we could actually kiss and embrace one another without an absolute fear of death we spent most of our free time alone. There were many times where we sat and read through the history books together trying to learn more about the world. Often enough though we would end up putting down the books so we could talk and enjoy each other's company. I learned more about Filon's life while he was growing up. How his father had been a knight as well and how Filon had looked up to him. He lost his father during a border skirmish with the earth kingdom and that was what made him decide to become a knight.

I also finally learned about the scars on his body and why he had been so hesitant to share them with me. He had been the fire kingdom knight I had bashed in the head right before I fought the Fire King. The scars on his body were a result of his armor getting scorched against his body when the Fire King erupted into flames. He hadn't wanted me to feel bad or feel responsible for his injuries. I ended up in tears apologizing to him again and again while he held me. I couldn't help but feel responsible at least for a little while after that even though he kept insisting that I shouldn't.

Our work into trying to make sense of the revelation from the beasts of the water kingdom had led us both to start trying to find the real truth of the world. Why had the gods come here and killed all of these creatures? It made no sense that they would just stop here and kill everything so as to start a new world. Why not give the creatures here before us souls? Give them a new world to live in. We didn't find many writings that contradicted the official story but the few that we did all shared the same idea. That the killing of the creatures had been an atrocity. That they had been proud and noble creatures who had deserved respect not destruction. However by the time anyone realized this it was far too late to stop the genocide. The first Water King was the only one to realize anything in time which is why he had made the deal with the creatures below. They had appeared in his kingdom and he took them in telling no one.

Our research also led us to stories about a gem much like the one in my pommel. This gem though was made from the original ice used to freeze the beasts. When we had the time we used my mental map to try and locate the gem but were never able to find it. Eventually we decided to give up looking for it because it seemed to not want to be found. What little we could find out about it suggested it was another weapon that could be used against the gods. That was where the information dried up though. No location or general area to hunt for it in.

Over the course of the year everyone on the planet started to notice the black spot in the sky. Over the months the spot got bigger and bigger until soon it took up over a quarter of the sky. People would ask me if I knew anything about it to which I would blatantly lie to them and tell them I had no idea what it could be. While I didn't know for certain I felt confident in my thought that the black spot was because of the gods returning. I hoped that I was wrong but everytime I stared up at that spot in the sky something would tug at my mind. Something that told me that I was somehow connected to it.

My dreams of war and destruction only grew over the year as the spot grew larger. They were becoming more and more vivid to the point that I was beginning to have night terrors. Filon was worried about me but all he could do was hold me when I woke up from my nightmares. I didn't know how to convey to Filon how to help me or if he even could. So he would hold me and pet me until I calmed down and was able to fall asleep again.

At the end of that first year after we had finally set the world heading towards a better path Filon and I were sitting outside having a late night meal. Talking with each other and star gazing. The black spot in the sky seemed to almost be tingling in the night sky as if it were somehow alive. I tore my eyes away from it and took Filon's hands in my own, "There's something I need to tell you, Filon. Something I've thought about for quite some time. Honestly probably too long but you know how I like to overthink everything."

Filon chuckled, "I am aware of this tendency of yours, yes. What is it Xea? You know that you can tell me anything."

I smiled and took a deep breath centering myself before kissing him. As I pulled away from him I whispered, "I love you Filon."

Filon stared at me speechless for only a second before wrapping his arms around me, "I love you too Xea! I have for a long time now but I didn't want to pressure you. I think I'm going to cry."

Filon pulled back and smiled at me. He started to open his mouth to speak when a noise roared across the entire planet. It sounded like thousands of thunderclaps happening at once and the entire planet began to shake. Above us in the sky stood five figures. One cloaked in flame, one in earth, one swirling with air, one rippling with water, and the final one a bevy of life on its body. I could hear the collective cries across the planet from everyone witnessing this event. The one cloaked in flames spoke. His voice sounded like burning wood crackling across the earth, "We the gods have returned for the one called Xea."

As he finished speaking a sixth form coated in inky darkness rose up behind the five figures, "Hello brothers."

So folks that is the end of Lake of Souls. A journey that started 2 and a half months ago has now come to a close and it is time for proofreading, editing, and then publishing. Obviously I will be keeping everyone up to date with this as it goes along. I hope you have enjoyed this story as much as I’ve enjoyed writing it. It really wouldn’t have been possible without all the support from my family and all my fellow Vocal creators. So thank you to all of you! Be on the lookout for my eventual announcement of the sequel which for now is unnamed. Till next time folks. The original short story will be linked below.

Original Short Story

Series
4

About the Creator

Josephine Mason

I write because I'm always drifting off to other lands in my mind. Please subscribe, like, and if I'm doing well please tip. You can buy my first book now at the link below. Available on many ebook platforms. https://books2read.com/u/bQygdE

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.