Fiction logo

A Revelatory Discovery

A Story Every Day in 2024 April 26th 117/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 11 days ago Updated 11 days ago 3 min read
16
A Revelatory Discovery
Photo by Andrés Dallimonti on Unsplash

"I can't wait to see the Pyramids tomorrow!" Nesta exclaimed as they sat in the Egyptian heat, the clicking of insects punctuating their evening drink.

George liked it when she was like this. It reminded him of the girl he had fallen in love with: exuberant, wide-eyed, garrulous.

Seeing the Pyramids of Giza was a shared dream, one that symbolised their meeting over a display case of Egyptian artefacts at the British Museum forty years previously.

Forty years. He thought back through them. The last ten were littered with very little. Separate bedrooms. Bickering.

Sometimes, he felt so hemmed in by it all that he almost, almost, decided to leave. Part of him liked the security of marriage, but it felt stifling too. He'd had to subdue interests, personality traits. Sometimes, they bobbed up, like a playful seal, and he had a hankering to indulge them.

Nesta wasn't keen to do anything. This trip was a miracle.

He thought of the Pyramids. At least, they had those in common. Perhaps they would reignite their spark with their ancient magic.

He thought of how long they had stood, slowly eroding away. He was suddenly filled with a sense of foreboding.

*

The morning had started fractiously after the anticipation of the night before. Neither of them had slept well; there were no croissants at breakfast; the bus was late and had a problem with the air conditioning.

But here they were at the Pyramids. Golden shrines to the dead. An ambition fulfilled.

Hot; flies everywhere; tacky souvenirs; pesky Egyptians harassing them. It was fair to say it did not meet expectations and Nesta let it be known at every available opportunity.

George was worn down before he'd even entered the pyramid.

Dehydration, they said it was. He wasn't so sure.

Narrow passageway. No air. So hot. Stooping to walk. Uneven footway. People all around. The pyramid above him. Death. Tomb. No escape.

Like his life.

It was the beginning of the end. He collapsed.

*

He came to, to Nesta's face. She had a nimbus. She looked like an irritated sun. No concern or softness there.

Before he could stop himself, he said,

"I want a divorce."

***

366 words

I have had the privilege to visit the Pyramids of Giza as well as many other Egyptian temples and tombs. I have also been inside a pyramid and a stuffier place you could never imagine. It is all of those things as George described them.

One of my most resounding memories of my visit was the Egyptian hawkers who came up to me whilst I was trying to find the Sphinx and said "English?" to which it is easier to reply "Yes" rather than get into a discussion about being Welsh, or British even. They responded with a "Tally ho!", an outdated expression linked to the leader of the hunt as a cry before blowing his horn and pursuing the beleaguered fox, and something probably only uttered by the aristocracy in general. I have never hunted and was not, and probably never will be, a member of the aristocracy and as a nineteen year old, I can remember thinking, "What a strange thing to say to me!" but laughed politely anyway. Now, it smacks of colonialism and what they knew about the British from the time when it was under British control and maybe run by a load of over-privileged toffs who liked to hunt. Who knows? I'm guessing but I'm probably right.

Anyway, once more, I am examining those pivotal moments, George deciding before it's too late to branch out on his own. I wonder if he'll live to regret it?

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

117/366

Short StoryMicrofictionLove
16

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Mum, blogger, crafter, reviewer, writer, traveller: I love to write and I am not limited by form. Here, you will find stories, articles, opinion pieces, poems, all of which reflect me: who I am, what I love, what I feel, how I view things.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (14)

Sign in to comment
  • D.K. Shepard9 days ago

    What a monumental setting for all this drama to unfold within! Love how you pulled from your experience to really capture the unfulfilled expectations

  • Omggg George, like finallyyyyyy! Next time, please come to me for any advice. I would have told you to divorce her ass. Forty years?! Gosh, you wasted forty years dude. Now go live your best life and be happy!

  • Caroline Craven10 days ago

    Tally Ho! Bloody hell. I hope George beats a hasty retreat. Everyone deserves the chance to be happy and to be with someone who makes them happy. I totally get that life isn’t a laugh round the clock but… Anyway. This was brill.

  • Brin J.10 days ago

    I sympathize for George. It's hard not to when he sounds like he's reached his limit. If my significant other complained the entire time we were on a once in a lifetime adventure, I'd be just as irritated. It kills the magic and experience. Anyway, you're amazing at making the reader relate with the MC. 🤣

  • Hannah Moore10 days ago

    My brother had a panic attack I side the pyramid- I recognised your description well!

  • Andrea Corwin 11 days ago

    I have always wanted to go but hate smothering heat and immense crowds - I physically push people off of me if they crowd me in foreign countries. I think yes those hawkers were commenting on the colonialism, for sure. The description“irritated sun”was great!! Poor George; but poor her too. Little irritations grew overtime for both. I hope he gets out of Egypt safely so they both can begin anew. Fabulous short story with details, feelings, visuals. Loved your explanation also!

  • So this is a story based on a true story since you've visited those places. Rachel, your story was fascinating.

  • I giggled at a lack of croissants being one of the irritations. 😄 I hope George starts a new life before it’s too late.

  • Cathy holmes11 days ago

    This is such a believable story, I could see the couple as incase reading. I also, before I read the afterward, that you must have been there to describe the environment so well. And yeah, if I was George, I'd want out too.

  • John Cox11 days ago

    Again, an utterly convincing, atmospheric, slice of life. Brilliant writing, Rachel! Completely believable!

  • Well-wrought! I especially love these little notes at the end where you give us some perspective on your mindset as it fed into the story. I'm a sucker for afterwords, probably a holdover from reading so much Stephen King as a kid! I suspect George would have enjoyed the pyramids much more on his own, with much less regard for the nuisances. Whatever loneliness may arise initially at the thought of sharing things with a lost love dissipates at the uninterrupted wonder of experiencing things on our own, with emphasis on "uninterrupted". Blessed are they who can keep a marriage meaningful and peaceful, though! I would not wish it otherwise!

  • Katarzyna Popiel11 days ago

    The only thing to regret will probably the time lost in an unfulfilling relationship. An interesting read!

  • D. J. Reddall11 days ago

    "She looked like an irritated sun." Such a skillful simile! Deftly done.

  • Teresa Renton11 days ago

    As always, engaging and interesting. Loved the notes afterwards 😊

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.