Fiction logo

Kirby and the Return of Darkness

By Rigved Vanga and Thaman Venigalla

By Rigved VangaPublished about a year ago 17 min read
5

Chapter. 1 - Kirby:

I was just minding my own business, taking a nice stroll, when a random portal opened. "Great, it's just gonna be like the Forgotten Land all over again," I thought. Meta Knight, King Dedede, and Bandana Waddle Dee appeared from behind me.

"Let's check it out," Meta Knight says mysteriously. "I feel something radiating from there!" Meta Knight flies into the portal.

"You want to check it out?" asks Bandana Waddle Dee.

"No," I say.

"I will go, though. It looks like an adventure!" Bandana Waddle Dee steps into the portal.

"FINE!" I yell in exasperation "First I need 50 pounds of food," I say. King Dedede picks me up and throws me into the portal. Then, he steps in. "I NEED MY FOOD!" I complain loudly.

Chapter. 2 - King Dedede:

Out of the corner of my eye, I spotted Kirby running after something. I looked at what he was going after. I found that he was running into the portal again. "I need my food," Kirby huffed. I picked him up and chucked him off into the distance.

Bandana Waddle Dee and Meta Knight glared at me. I shrugged. "Well then, Meta Knight, go bring Kirby back," I said.

"Why me?" Meta Knight questioned. "Bandana Waddle Dee had many adventures with Kirby!"

"So did you! Plus, I need Bandana Waddle Dee to guard me," I answered.

Bandana Waddle Dee glared at me, "Wait what?" he said, and walked in the opposite direction.

"FINE! I DON'T NEED YOU ANYWAY!" I screeched. Meta Knight slapped me with the backside of his sword and flew off to bring Kirby back.

Chapter. 3 - Meta Knight

Does that stupid penguin think he can order me around? I am Meta Knight, the warrior that defeated the strongest warrior in the galaxy.

The place we had landed on from the portal was a small clearing with green grass. But everything that I see now is just gray. The sky is gray, the trees are gray, and the mountains of fruit are gray.

Wait what? I see a pink thing sucking on some of the fruit. I come in closer to analyze it. That's Kirby! "Come on Kirby let's go back to Dedede and Bandana."

"NO, I FINALLY HAVE FOOD! Here, have some pears," Kirby tosses some pears to me. I slice them apart in mid-air. "If I can't make him come, I guess I have to kidnap him," I thought.

"Ooh, this fruit is juicy," I heard Kirby say. I rip a piece of my cape off and make a bag out of it. I stuff Kirby into the bag and fly off with him. "MY FRUITS!" Kirby yelled.

Chapter. 4 - Bandana Waddle Dee:

Why is King Dedede following me? What does that fat penguin want? He is the one who threw Kirby off into the distance.

"Guys I brought Kirby back!" Meta Knight shouted. He dumped the bundle that he was carrying. Kirby was seen snoring on the ground.

"Wait what?" I muttered. Kirby snorted.

"Also, I found a castle not far from here!" Meta Knight shouts.

"Can you carry us there on your wings?" the lazy Dedede asks. Meta Knight slammed Dedede with his sword. "Fine, we will walk there," Dedede huffed.

We walked along a twisty path that Meta Knight said led to the castle. Suddenly a tree popped out of nowhere and roared. Kirby who was peacefully sleeping on Dedede's hammer woke up. He accidentally swallowed Dedede's hammer and turned into Hammer Kirby.

"KIRBY!" Dedede yells.

"Murp," Kirby says, swinging his hammer. Suddenly, another hammer came to Dedede's hand.

"What just happened?" I ask.

"I made 100 copies of my hammer, and whenever I lose one of them, a new one comes to my hand!" Dedede says.

"Cool," I say.

"What about that weird Whispy Woods thingy?" Kirby asks, rubbing his eyes.

"I took care of it. Now, come on let's go, okay?" Meta Knight says.

Chapter. 5 - Kirby:

We walked forever until we saw a lollipop. "YES! FOOD AT LAST!" I yelled.

Bandana Waddle Dee looked at me with worry in his eyes, "Kirby you just ate 20 minutes ago on the fruit mountain."

"THAT WAS ONLY 20 MINUTES AGO?" I exclaimed. Either way, I ran forward and dove for the lollipop, but the gluttonous King Dedede snatched it away from me and swallowed it. Suddenly King Dedede started growing in size.

"I can see the castle from here!" he says. He scoops us up and puts us on his shoulder. He took a step forward. All too soon, Dedede started shrinking. He hurriedly runs to the castle. By the time we were there, Dedede shrunk to his normal size.

Also, I'm pretty sure I shrunk to half my size because of the lack of food.

Chapter. 6 - King Dedede:

I barfed from the overload of food from the lollipop

"This is why you should have given it to me," Kirby complained.

"Guys, we are here," Meta Knight says. "I was expecting a battle!"

"AND THE BATTLE WILL COME!!!" a voice came out of nowhere. A Meta Knight-looking thing drops down from the castle wall. I study the Meta Knight thing.

Meta Knight has a surprised look on his face. "Galacta Knight?" he says.

Chapter. 7 - Meta Knight:

Galacta Knight was back? I thought I sealed him away. Unless...

"Surprised to see me, Meta Knight? You won't be for long after I obliterate you!" Galacta Knight proclaims.

"That's what you always say. I always defeat you," I growl. Galacta Knight screams and tries to stab me, but I rolled away just in time. I hit Galacta Knight with my sword. He tried blocking with his shield but he went flying far. "Come on," I say to Bandana Waddle Dee. "Hop on me."

Bandana Waddle Dee jumps onto my back and we fly after Galacta Knight. Bandana Waddle Dee jumped off my back and pointed his spear toward Galacta Knight and slammed him into the ground. I caught Bandana Waddle Dee and we went back to the palace.

"Where in the world are Kirby and Dedede?" I ask. Bandana Waddle Dee just shrugs.

Chapter. 8 - Bandana Waddle Dee:

Meta Knight and I walk into the castle gates. "Halt!" a guard says. In a quick moment, the guard was gone. Meta Knight shrugged.

"Look, a trail of banana peels!" I say. We follow the trail until we come upon a large building. I kick the door open. Inside, a giant and round Kirby is gulping the food. "Ugh, that glutton," I say. We slammed the door.

"Let's go inside the castle," I say.

We walk up the grand staircase into the throne room. On the throne was a smug Dedede.

"Hi, guys, I usurped the throne!" Dedede laughs.

Chapter. 9 - Kirby:

FOOD, GLORIOUS FOOD! THIS IS MY LIFE! I finished all the food in the room, and for once, I felt satisfied. I try to crawl out of the doorway when I realize I am too fat. "HELP SOMEONE!" I yell at the top of my lungs. It seemed that Meta Knight heard me screaming, so he came over and slapped me in the face.

"Now you learn your lesson?" Meta Knight asks.

"Yes," I exclaimed ashamed.

Meta Knight destroyed the room so that I could come out.

Suddenly, we heard a voice, "WHO USURPED MY THRONE???"

Chapter. 10 - King Dedede:

"I usurped your throne!" I exclaim. "By the way, who are you? You look like me!"

"I am King D-Mind, and if you don't get off my throne I will destroy you!"

"No, it's my throne now!" I say.

"Hey, what's that pink blob behind me?" D-Mind asked.

"Oh, Kirby, why are you so fat?" I asked. Kirby responded by barfing all over D-Mind. Soon, D-Mind was out cold on the ground. Using my hammer cannon, I blasted D-Mind out of the castle. "No one will usurp this throne!" I yell, standing up. Suddenly, someone blasted through.

Chapter. 11 - Meta Knight:

That idiotic Galacta Knight was back.

"This time I will win!" Galacta yelled. An orange butterfly landed on his sword. Uh-oh, he was going to turn into Morpho Knight. A light shone and he turned orange. "How do you like me now?"

"We beat you once, or twice if you count the time Kirby beat you with Bandana Waddle Dee," I respond. Suddenly someone else landed next to Galacta/Morpho Knight. "Oh, if it isn't my least favorite copy of me, Dark Meta Knight!"

Chapter. 12 - Bandana Waddle Dee:

"Surprised, you won't be for long!" Dark Meta Knight exclaims.

I had a strange feeling Morpho Knight taught him that but I didn't have time to think more about it because King Dedede started shouting.

"THIS IS MY CASTLE GET OUT!" King Dedede shouts as he throws his hammer.

I guess the hammer was supposed to hit Morpho knight and Dark Meta Knight but instead it rendered me unconscious. "One down three to go," Morpho knight proudly exclaims.

I woke up a few moments later and threw my spear at Dark Meta Knight, the spear lodged itself inside Dark Meta Knight's mask.

"YOU WILL PAY BANDANA WADDLE DEE!" Dark Meta Knight proclaims as he flies away.

Meta Knight used the opportunity and snuck up behind Morpho knight and knocked him out of the castle. "MY SPEAR!" I cry as Dark Meta Knight becomes nothing more than a distant blur.

"MY HOT DOG!" Kirby screams as it falls into Dedede's mouth.

Apparently, Kirby was eating a hot dog all this time.

Chapter. 13 - Kirby:

After defeating the two weird Meta Knights, I took a nice stroll in the castle garden taking every edible item I saw, when a Blade Knight jumped from behind the bushes.

Trusting my instincts I inhaled him and got the sword ability.

I saw something big and red in the distance, my first thought was big juicy apples. I ran as fast as I could to the red thing and took a bite out of it. "That's dry for an apple," I muttered to myself. I looked down and realized in horror that I was eating Dedede's robe.

Something rustled in the bushes, "it must be Dedede," I thought. As it closed in, one look at the shadow told me who it was.

"Gluttonous as ever it seems," the figure said menacingly.

"Shadow Kirby?" I ask

Chapter. 14 - King Dedede:

I moved through the bushes in haste, somebody had ripped my robes and I would find out who. I noticed a pink thing in the distance and ran towards it when I got near I hid in some bushes it was Kirby.

"Shadow Kirby?" he said and I instantly turned my head to see what looked like Kirby's doppelganger. I threw my hammer at "Shadow Kirby" and tackled it.

"AHHHH ITS DEDEDE!" Kirby shouted and ran in the opposite direction.

I whistled for the waddle dees and had Shadow Kirby caged.

I looked at my robe with a big hole in it and Kirby spitting a part of it out.

I glared at Kirby and picked him up to chuck him off into the distance.

"ALL I WANTED WAS A BIG JUICY APPLE!" Kirby exclaimed.

"Seriously, again?" Meta Knight questioned.

Chapter. 15 - Meta Knight:

Dedede ordered me to fetch Kirby back, again. That penguin deserves to lose his throne, and I'm actually praying for D-Mind to come back. I see a pink puffball in the distance and race toward it.

"Kirby come back," I say.

"Murp" it replies. It wasn't Kirby, it was a batamon.

"I hate batamon," I grumble to myself.

"HELP!" something shouts. I fly in the direction of the voice and find Kirby fighting Bonkers.

Moments later Kirby is eating a pancake, which meant it was up to me to defeat Bonkers.

"Great," I mumble while dodging coconut bombs.

"How about a truce I kill you while you stand there doing nothing?" I suggest. Bonkers let out a roar which probably meant no.

I took it as a yes and started rapidly attacking Bonkers until he exploded in a puff of smoke.

We safely arrive back at the castle and see Dedede crying outside and Bandana Waddle Dee attempting to comfort him. I ask what happened and he responds. "D-MIND HAPPENED!" Dedede screeches. "BANDANA WADDLE DEE GO INSIDE AND BRING MY HAMMER BACK I LEFT IT THERE!" he continues.

"Why me?" Bandana Waddle Dee asks. Dedede glares and Bandana Waddle Dee hurries off toward the vents.

"GIVE ME FOOD!" Kirby yells. If Kirby keeps yelling things about food I might become deaf.

Chapter. 16 - Bandana Waddle Dee:

As I carefully crawl through the vents I wonder what kind of security D-Mind has, he is a king after all. I see an opening and take a look through it, I see D-Mind eating corn while watching Dedede's hammer burn. "WAIT WHAT?!" I shout.

King D-Mind sees me, and he slowly got up and grabbed me.

"I didn't remember giving you a bandana, oh well. Get back to work and fetch me more food," he barks.

I dance a jig and grab the hammer. " What do you think you're doing?" he blares.

"NOTHING!" I shout and run away as fast as my stubby legs could carry me.

"CATCH HIM!" D-Mind shouts and an array of guards run after me. "Well, that answers my question," I think to myself. I safely make it outside and provide a proper response.

"RUN, RUN, RUN" I scream. That caused everyone to get up and start running.

"But what about my hammer?" Dedede asks.

"It burnt," I respond.

"UGH," Dedede grumbles. He snaps and another hammer comes to his hand

"We should hurry," I say.

"Really what's the rush?" A voice calls.

Chapter. 17 - Kirby:

"Who are you to get in the way of the former Double King Dedede," Dedede barks.

"I am Dark Matter!" the figure exclaims.

"Enough of this Dark Matter, let's get a move on," Meta Knight comments.

Dark Matter swoops down and blocks the path, "Not on my watch," he replies.

"If it's a fight you want, it's a fight you get!" Meta Knight exclaims.

I peacefully sit enjoying some popcorn when Dedede throws me into the fight.

I start mindlessly swinging my sword when it hits Dark Matter, revealing his true self.

"My mask!" he shouts "I still have one option left," he hastily adds.

"Oh yeah, what's that," Dedede taunts.

"IT'S POSSESSING YOU!" Dark Matter shouts. Slowly Dark Matter travels inside Dedede.

Dedede begins turning to a dark grey color.

"Dedede are you okay?" Bandana Waddle Dee asks

Dedede/Dark Matter laughs. "DEDEDE IS GONE, NOW YOU CAN CALL ME DARK MATTER!" it exclaims.

"But that's the same name as before!" I point out.

"I KNEW THAT KIRBY, SPEAKING OF WHICH I HAVE DUTIES ELSEWHERE!" He lies.

"Why you--" I get cut off mid-sentence as Dark Matter flies away.

"DEDEDE!" Bandana Waddle Dee screams.

"MY POPCORN, DEDEDE WAS HOLDING MY POPCORN!" I cry.

Chapter. 18 - King Dedede:

"Ugh, where am I?" I say as I wake up with a sudden start. A sign that reads "YOU ARE INSIDE DARK MATTER'S CASTLE, HE HAS TAKEN OVER YOUR MIND!" appears in front of me.

"That was weirdly coincidental," I think. Suddenly, I feel a headache coming on, Dark Matter was taking over again. I get transported to a new area with clouds that can talk.

"Who are you?" they ask.

"I am King Dedede!" I bark, " What is this place?"

"It is your mind," they respond.

"If Dark Matter's mind is in my body then where are my mind and his body?" I question.

"Also in your body but rendered meaningless at the time," they reply.

"I'm confused," I say.

"You needn't be. Popcorn?" they ask.

"Sure," I reply as I dive into a mountain of popcorn.

Chapter. 19 - Meta Knight:

"D-D-DEDEDE?!" Bandana Waddle Dee says with shock in his voice.

"Again, this already happened in Dreamland before," Kirby comments. Bandana Waddle Dee glared at him.

"We're wasting time here we should go and find Dedede," I remark.

"You're right," Bandana Waddle Dee mutters.

"WHERE IS THAT TRAITOROUS WADDLE DEE!" A voice calls.

"It's D-Mind, we should go now," I whisper. We hurriedly run off in the direction in which Dedede/Dark Matter went in. I notice bread crumbs behind us.

"KIRBY, ARE YOU TRYING TO GET US CAPTURED!" I shout.

"But can't I have a few more bites of toast? The butter on this one is perfect," Kirby whimpers. I snatch away the piece of toast and chuck it far off into the distance.

"You know, you're starting to remind me of Dedede," Bandana Waddle Dee remarks.

"Look it's a castle I bet they have FOOD!" Kirby shouts as he runs as fast as he possibly could toward the castle. Seconds later Kirby is kicked out of a window.

"That serves that pink glutton right!" I exclaim

"I agree, just look at him, he just stole 45 cakes!" Bandana Waddle Dee shouts.

"Huh?" I question as I see Kirby rapidly stuffing cakes into his mouth.

"I think I see something... a black dot off in the distance, I'm gonna go check it out," Bandana Waddle Dee says with vigor in his voice.

"I'll catch up later!" Kirby shouts. I grab Kirby and drag him away towards Bandana Waddle Dee.

"MY CAKES!" Kirby screams.

Chapter. 20 - Bandana Waddle Dee:

It's been a few days since Dark Matter took over Dedede and we now finally arrived at the black dot that I saw.

"It's a castle," Meta Knight states.

"Notice the dark clouds floating above, this seems like Dark Matter's style," Meta Knight adds.

"I SMELL FOOD!" Kirby yells as he sprints inside at breakneck speed. he jumps onto a pile of chicken and ate to his heart's content.

"Kirby get down, we need to find Dedede!" I shout.

"If I get to take 100 pounds of chicken with me then I'll get down," Kirby exclaims.

"FINE, JUST TAKE THE CHICKEN AND COME ON!" I shout. He hurriedly takes his chicken and we find our way to the throne room.

Atop the throne Dark Matter Dedede sat on a throne. "So you came," Dark Matter calmly says.

"ATTACK!" Meta Knight shouts.

"Very well then," Dark Matter says as he gets up.

"GUARDS, my hammer!" he shouts. A group of grey waddle dees rush up and hand over a hammer that looks like it was dipped in tar.

I make some weird motions with my hands. "MY SPEAR! ITS STILL IN DARK META KNIGHT'S MASK!" I exclaim with exasperation.

Dark Matter jumps down and starts repeatedly smashing his hammer at me, with me getting attacked by Dark Matter, Meta Knight flies up to the top and drops down sword-first. Meta Knight got a direct hit and soon Dark Matter was cold on the floor. We all start celebrating but that's when we notice Dark Matter leaving Dedede's body.

"IF I CAN'T DEFEAT YOU IN DEDEDE'S BODY, THEN I'LL DEFEAT YOU WITH MY TRUE SELF!" Dark Matter exclaims.

We attacked Dark Matter with everything we had (except that I wasn't attacking, I was reaching my hand to the sky). All of a sudden a spear came to my hand but not any standard spear, this spear was bigger than Kirby back at D-Mind's castle.

"THIS IS FOR DEDEDE!"I roar.

Chapter. 21 - Kirby:

Meta Knight and I watch as Bandana Waddle Dee strikes down Dark Matter. "NO!" Dark Matter exclaims. But behind everything, I saw a figure just for a brief moment lurking about outside the window he vanished within the instant. Dark Matter dissolved into a dark sphere and then blew up in a puff of smoke.

"Where's Dedede?" I ask. We turn around and see a smug Dedede sitting lazily on the throne.

"There you are Dedede," Bandana Waddle Dee remarks.

"I usurped the throne again so, Double King Dedede is back!" Dedede exclaims with joy. Suddenly the throne falls apart and the castle collapses in on itself.

"W-w-what's h-happening?"Bandana Waddle Dee shouts. A dark chasm appears in the center of the room, we fall in.

"MY CHICKEN!" Kirby shrieks.

"MY THRONE," Dedede grumpily shouts.

Chapter. 22 - King Dedede:

Stupid Kirby and his chicken! What does he know about being a king? I bet someone already took my throne back at Dreamland.

"My chicken!" Kirby weeps.

"ZIP IT, FOR DREAMLAND'S SAKE!" I yell at him.

"Hey, you!" a voice calls.

"Marx?"Meta Knight asks.

"Yeah it's me, but on to the point. I need your help, someone took over my planet. And this is my planet" Marx hastily replies "Can you help me get it back?"

"If you give me food," Kirby says.

"Deal!" Marx shouts. "What about you three?"

"I WANT THE PLANET FOR MYSELF, I ALREADY USURPED THREE THRONES!" I exclaim.

"Dude, let it go already!" Meta Knight exclaims.

"Yeah, you still have dreamland," Bandana Waddle Dee comments.

I grumble as we walk along, I still want Marx's planet.

COMPLETE

Fan FictionAdventure
5

About the Creator

Rigved Vanga

Well I write about things?

That I'm interested in

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.