Fiction logo

Keys

May or may not be based on a true story

By Meredith HarmonPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
4
Ohhh, they're down there all right, below the clip...

I wonder when she'll notice we're gone?

The snow is still falling thickly, and I'd heard the news talking about a three-day storm. I was nice and shiny when I dropped, wheeee! That was fun! But it wasn't long before I was covered over.

Surprisingly, she didn't lock the door before going to the store, so she won't figure it out right away. The door slammed, and I could feel the stamping of her boots in the mud room from here. Bye, milk. Enjoy yourselves, eggs and bread and butter. I always did like hanging there, while she consumed a meal with obvious enjoyment. I don't think I'll experience that again.

Ah, and that was the sound of the door's lock. Drat.

Well, it was nice while it lasted.

I feel sorry for the car key. Those electronic components won't last long in this weather. Me, I'll slowly rust, but I'm made of brass, so it'll take a while. But one of the duplicates she got is steel, so I'm worried. This is not the first time she's lost her keys, but this may be the most disastrous.

I can't count, but there are a bunch of us here.

Maybe we can make friends with the ice? Shift so the more vulnerable ones are on the inside, away from melt? I'll ask the water drops to avoid us.

Why didn't she shove us in her glove? We could use a blanket.

I guess I'll see you come spring.

Or not.

Microfiction
4

About the Creator

Meredith Harmon

Mix equal parts anthropologist, biologist, geologist, and artisan, stir and heat in the heart of Pennsylvania Dutch country, sprinkle with a heaping pile of odd life experiences. Half-baked.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock3 months ago

    Oh, I'm all keyed up over this one, Meredith! Far too familiar a story, lol.

  • Babs Iverson3 months ago

    Cleverly written!!! Love it!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.