Fiction logo

Kelly and Daisy

A story that takes place in Miami

By Jeanine RodriguezPublished 2 years ago 23 min read


JEANINE RODRIGUEZ
Search
BLOGABOUTCONTACT
October 14th, 2021
10/14/20210 Comments

139 Haikus

1. Below is all the mess that I aboard
I find you in the middle
We see the greener pasture when we rise.

2. A baby eats from her breast
A mother is patient
They share the fullness.

3. The crowd is like the ocean
The waves come and go
The fishes swim free.

4. Your long legs
Touch mine
A moment of intense pleasure.

5. Te veo sentada
El amanecer me llama
Un pensamiento que calla.

6. Mourning my father
Falling tears
A rainy day

7. My lover and me
Holding hands
A kiss in between

8. If you want me
And you look for me
Why don’t you have me?

9. In the dark
I see your shadow
I know you’re there.

10. The gentle breeze touches me
The hem of my skirt is swayed
The palm of his hand in mine.

11. My hand penetrates the water
I feel its sensitivity
My small boat floats.

12. My feet move
To the rhythm
Of your heartbeat.

13. If you live life
And get everything you want
Will you be happy?

14. Bring her flowers
On a Friday night
Win a big smile.

15. A big lake
A sunny day
I feel the warmth.

16. A field of flowers
I catch one
The scent lingers.

17. We exchange hearts
An eye contact
Butterflies in my stomach.

18. An hourglass figure
Gracious body movements
A body in scattered sheets.

19. A field of tulips
A little girl with a hat
A couple in the distance.

20. Wearing my leather jacket
I see my friend wearing one too
We share gossip over wine.

21. The passage of time
Reminds me of you
An old memory relived.

22. Lovely figures surround me
His eyes focus on me
His hand catches me.

23. Large fields of desert
Flowers bloom
A drop of water on a petal.

24. When you go away
You leave me
wanting more.

25. The kitchen oven is on
Cakes come out
Aleluya

26. People in the distance
One approaches
We exchange eye contact.

27. I stand in front of a lake
The current is gentle
The pebble thrown slowly drifts and creates ripples.

28. We are polar opposites like
Coffee and
egg whites.

29. If you look
Inside your heart
You’ll find me.

30. Lovely as a song
Sweet as honey
Those are your kisses to me.

31. Dark as night
Bright as day
Leafs from a tree sway.

32. Many memories locked
In the closet
Many doors open.

33. The crunch of crackers
A sip a earl grey
A nice Tuesday afternoon.

34. Cotton white
Grass green
Your love means the world to me.

35. While the world turns
Love flows
A feather slowly falling.

36. You wake up next to me
We make love
I whisper “I love you.”

37. Like coal under pressure
And as time passes
You give birth to diamonds.

38. I look straight ahead
at the horizon
The sun rises.

39. Taffy stuck
And I can’t find the right words
To tell you to notice me.

40. A slow life
I’m crushed to death
But God's grace resuscitated me.

41. 107 steps-step 1-step2…
To the promised land
I stop and notice the sky and am grateful.

42. I walk through a parking lot
I find a penny
A stroke of luck will come.

43. Many groups of people
No joiner could join
As well as you.

44. Jazz bands on a Friday night
Jitterbug dance all night long
What a time to be alive.

45. Holding hands
A kiss
Time stops.

46. The committee of trees
Found us flowers
Commingling.

47. I’ve never met him
But he’s British
How fitting.

48. Your figure
is like a guitar
That I play all day long.

49. You see me
I pose
A brush stroke.

50. I want you
Do you want me?
I deflower a flower trying to figure it out.

51. Walking around the block
My best shoes
Step on crunchy Leafs.

52. After a long rainy day
I look out the window
An iris appears.

53. Your love is like
A cup half full
Is that ironic?

54. People walking
Traffic is like thunder
Somewhere far away An old lady hears the birds chirping.

55. Chewing gum
I blow a bubble
I propel my way into day dreaming.

56. She is sent away
To leave a trace of us
My sweet ambassador.

57. The world waits
While you excitedly come to me
And then I say
Promptitude is for fools.

58. She was like Cinderella
With a prince
They all polished.

59. When you don’t come with me
Not even the goddess of war could understand
my anger-no tears..

60. The sky opens up
Every time you walk in
I show my biggest brightest smile.

61. A little miracle
My fate turned
Faith found.

62. The grass surrounds the lake
I sit by the edge
Ducks cross by

63. I sit down
A moment of reflection
Inspiration found.

64. The radio is on
Music plays in the background
Harmony is felt throughout my body.

65. Down by the arctic
Where all the icebergs are
I lay melting when I think of you.

66. A step forwards
A door closes
Another door opens.

67. The shadow imposes it’s coats on the floor
The window opens
The gentle breeze delights me

68. Like a nomad
My thoughts run freely
Inside my room.

69. You and me
Go together
Like a yinyang

70. What I know of love
Only the heavens know
You've taught me.

71. Baby frogs
Roam around the pond
Splash!

72. A bad moment
Tears come pouring down
Escape to your happy place.

73. The friction between us
Kindles
The passion Inside.

74. Building shrines
Playing music
Around your memories.

75. Xyz and infinity
We reach the end
123, ABC, until we begin again.

76. A wise man once said
Don’t stare
At an unused phone.

77. The road paved
The building built
The handshake shook.

78. Even the tallest man in the world
Couldn’t understand
My highs when I’m with you.

79. A word settled
A passing feeling
The constant change.

80. Colors blend
An adult in shock
A kid plays.

81. He introduces me into a state of wonder
We hold hands
A whole new world.

82. A girl and a boy
Play in a field under a tree
They run home holding hands.

83. A girl walks
In a room with eyes full of awe
A treasure chest opened.

84. A teacher teaches
Kids wonder
Lessons learned.

85. A chubby girl
Dances freely
She wakes up a happy audience.

86. A wise woman
Talking on a table
Guests astounded.

87. A wise woman once said
Repeat your mistakes
As many times until the lesson is learned.

88. Just one kiss
Is all it takes
For the soul to soar like a dragon.

89. I came into his presence
We leave together
Dragging like a snake.

90. A day in the fall
In bed all day
A cup of coffee and a good book are beside me.

91. A top a mountain
Under the moonlight
I feel your lips.

92. So many princes
So many castles
Maybe it’s her presence.

93. We lay in bed
holding each other
The moon shines.

94. I nominated my shoes for an outing
The nominee slowly decided
I put them on and stand up.

95. Growing up
I look at my parents
Between a flint and a hard place.

96. A hot summer day
Calls for an iced lemonade
And a hair cut.

97. My pen serves
To quiet the
Sharp tongue

98. The essence of my sweater
Lasts as long
as the winter.

99. I replaced
The dollar store
With a kissing booth when I saw your lips.

100. The sky changes color
Like a rainbow
Every time I’m with you.

101. Your scent is just like
Newly grown lavender or
Freshly baked bread.

102. The smell of books
Was your favorite scent;
New thoughts arise.

103. To choose
Life or death
Or wake up from a dream?

104. You stop time
Every time
You’re mine.

105. Pink like my heart
Blue like my shoes
I love you.

106. Like the moralistic
I stare out into nature
Everything is so pulchritudinous.

107. I’ll stand up
Give my encomium
And watch you come to me.

108. We sit at a mountain top
Looking at the horizon
Like two dogs in love.

109. Like a sunrise
Every day you wake up next to me
To delight me.

110. A walk on the streets
On a sunny Saturday
saves my soul.

111. The sound of your shoes
Entering the room
We lock a stare.

112. Sitting in class
I see Annie
And the I get hit by an epiphany.

113. Looking for the right word
I find a million pens
And notebooks instead.

114. Getting lost in a sea of people
Bodies in harmony
Making ripples.

115. A Friday morning
We get ready all day
For the night's adventures.

116. He’s with someone else
Anger boils up
Passions meet.

117. I lay in bed
My eye glasses next to me
I put them on.

118. I had him once
I love him until I miss him
I’m the saddest girl that ever existed.

119. Walking down a street
A cat passes by
I notice the tall tree.

120. Dancing around my room
I feel free and
I crave my ballerina shoes.

121. I sit outside in the winter
I let myself melt
The soft gentle snow falls.

122. A nice tune on the radio
Days pass, I reminisce
Will I hear it again?

123. Time spent alone
I get lost in every thought
Music is my fortress.

124. Nostalgia is a
Long night and a
Lost memory of a song.

125. I study her hands
As she exits the room
She leaves the fresh scent of nail polish and body powder.

126. Bed sheets
Begin where
Our lips meet.

127. He who perceives
Is a percipient
To a Percival.

128. I tremble at the thought
At figuring everything out
Through trial and error.

129. Like a physicist
I watch you dance
And I calculate my own dance moves with yours.

130. I turn
Tomato red whenever
You look at me.

131. Suave Como la mantequilla
O duro Como El coco
Asi eres tu.

132. Shines
Wa
Kirei.

133. I brighten up
Like a flourescent firefly
Every time I see you.

134. Show them your heart
Choose him wisely
And scare death.

135. Love is found
In a warp
Not all hope is lost.

136. Four walls to decipher life
They close in and the open up
One door to animate it.

137. One look in your eyes
A kiss stolen
I’m left breathless.

138. Your whereabouts
are wanted
Your heart is where my home is.

139. I remember your soft caresses
Like yesterday
But I find you today loving me in the essence.

0 Comments
ancestor
6/26/20210 Comments

dear ancestor,
how can i express my admiration for you
your days here are remembered every day
your voice lingers
i want to celebrate you
let me tell you how much you mean to us
we come together to have your memory honored
it's a conjunction of solemn cheer when we remember you.


0 Comments
Kelly and Daisy
6/25/20210 Comments

For Antonio and Georgina

EXT. city centre Downtown miami – Night

Young Hispanic woman in her late teens walking at a brisk pace and listening to the Beatles on her ipod. Takes off her headphones and gets on her phone.

DAISY
Hey, I’m on my way. See you when I get there.

INT. MARLA AND DAISY’S APARTMENT – NIGHT
wynwood

It’s a funky bedroom. She has hanging plants and succulents all over.

MARLA
I’m watching Charlie Rose. It’s on repeat. I like this episode. They talk about having bread and butter for breakfast.

DAISY
Marla, bread and butter sounds delicious, but I’m not going to sit here listening to Charlie rose. We have better stuff to do. Where do you have that sweater that I like?

MARLA
oh. It’s in my closet. I’ll go get it.

DAISY
I really don’t feel like watching Charlie Rose. I’m going out to get something to eat.

DAISY
?walks out with the sweater on.


INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT

She walks in and stands by the counter. A Caucasian man in a business suit walks in behind her. He’s attractive but not in an obvious way. He’s in his 40s. He’s been divorced for one year. He just came out of a business conference. He approaches her in a confident way.



KELLY
I couldn’t help but notice you look angry. Why?

DAISY
I was expecting my night to go better.

KELLY
Oh. What happened? I’m here now. I’ll make it better.

DAISY
You came at the right time.

KELLY
Of course I did. So, why don’t you tell me about your life?

A long awkward silence.
DAISY
I don’t think I’m ready to give that information to a stranger.

KELLY
Why not?

DAISY
It’s long and boring.

KELLY
I love long and boring stories.

DAISY
Fine. Let me order dinner first.

KELLY
OK. I’ll have what you’re having.

Kelly turns around and sees a couple arguing at a table.

KELLY
(jokingly)
That’s gonna be you and me in a couple of years.

DAISY
You think so?


KELLY
Yeah, it’s a possibility.

DAISY
Possibilities are what make life interesting.


INT. UPPER EAST SIDE APARTMENT – DAY

Kelly talking on the phone with his co-worker. Papers are scattered on the floor.

KELLY
I’m working directly with our partners. We’re wrapping up the case.

CO-WORKER A
Good job. I wasn’t expecting you take the initiative.

KELLY
I always take the initiative.

CO-WORKER A
Well, lately I’ve been the one picking up the slack around here. (angry)

KELLY
It’s not going to go down like that anymore.

CO-WORKER A
Right. I’ll see you at the office.


They hang up. He throws the phone and hurts his foot.

INT. KAT’Z DELICATESSEN – NIGHT

They order sandwiches, they arrive and they eat.

DAISY
I hate tomatoes.

KELLY
I love tomatoes. I love them on bruschettas.

DAISY
I haven’t slept in two days. Can you believe that? I’m not depressed or anything. It’s just something off.

KELLY
I’ve had a rough night too. Two days? I’ve been up for a week. It’s this case I’m working on.

DAISY
A week? Wow.

KELLY
Yeah, that’s nothing. I eat these protein bars. They’re really helpful.

DAISY
You know what’s really helpful? A day in Miami Beach relaxing on a hammock getting a massage from the president.

KELLY
Why not me?

DAISY
I figured you were so busy with that protein bar.

KELLY
Well, I’ll take it with me to Miami Beach.


EXT. bayside – DAY

IT’S SEVEN DAYS AGO.

DAISY and CHARLIE walking in front of the cyclone.

CHARLIE
Look, I found someone new.

DAISY
(perplexed)
What?

CHARLIE
I wasn’t sure how to break it down to you.

DAISY
(angry)
You bring me here to CONEY ISLAND to break up with me? I can’t believe you.

CHARLIE
I had some errands to do around here. Thought I’d kill two birds with one stone.

DAISY
You’re the worst Charlie. I should’ve never trusted you.

CHARLIE
Well, I have to get going.

DAISY
Fine. Have a nice life.

EXT. BROOKLYN BOTANICAL GARDEN – DAY

Close-up of the flowers. Tight shot of the sacred lotus.

MARLA
Look at that sacred lotus just being there. It looks so peaceful. I want to take it home.

DAISY
I paid $12 dollars to come in here. For what Marla? I could be somewhere in Manhattan meeting the love of my life.

MARLA
I paid too. I’m enjoying all these flowers here. You’re ruining the moment.

DAISY
I broke up with Charlie.

MARLA
OH MY GOD. Finally. I’m so glad you woke up from that nightmare. He’s a jerk off. He’s a player. You deserve better.


DAISY
You’re right. He took me to Coney Island to break up with me! I wasn’t ready to hear that. I thought he liked me.

MARLA
You’re better off without him. He will burn in hell for cheating on you.

DAISY
I understand how you feel, but I think I’m not over him yet.

MARLA
Get over him. He’s not worth your time. Time to spread your wings and fly.


INT. aventura – DAY

Kelly’s ex-wife is a strong independent woman.


ELLEN
Did you come here to explain the case or to have sex?

KELLY
Let’s work on the case.

ELLEN
(angry)
This is the last time you come to this house.

KELLY
I almost got into an accident coming here. You should relax! (angry)


INT. KAT’Z DELICATESSEN – NIGHT

Kelly opens up his briefcase to look for a pen. Daisy looks at the inside of his briefcase.

DAISY
What are all those papers for?

KELLY
(he takes out the pen)
I’m a lawyer. I have to analyze all these documents before we go to court.

DAISY
Oh, are you going to write in one of your documents?

KELLY
No, give me your hand.

Daisy extends her right hand. He opens the palm of her hand.

KELLY
It says on the palm of your hand you will have a long life.

DAISY
Does it say I will win the lotto too?

Kelly traces her heart line.

KELLY
Here, your heart line is saying you will have many lovers. It’s wiggly so there will be an absence of serious relationships.

DAISY
OH! Don’t say that to me.

KELLY
Hold on. It gets better. Your life line says you’re full of vitality.

DAISY
Vitality for what?

KELLY
Don’t turn bitter on me. It’s a lighthearted palm reading.

DAISY
That doesn’t get the weight off the first line.

KELLY
Well, are you seeing someone?

DAISY
(Sarcastically)
No, I’m waiting for prince charming.


Kelly writes his number on the palm of her hand.

KELLY
Well, call me if you get tired of waiting.


INT. HOUSE PARTY IN NEW JERSEY – NIGHT

Kelly remembers his sorority days and how he never approached the girl of his dreams.

KELLY
You see that girl over there.

FRIEND 1
(Taking a sip from his drink)
What about her? She’s an 8 to me.

KELLY
That’s where you and I differ. She’s a 10. All the guys want her and all the girls want to be her.

FRIEND 1
Sure, sure. I’m waiting for Pamela Anderson.

KELLY
You’re crazy and stupid but that’s why I like you.

FRIEND 1
Go. Ask her out.

KELLY
She’s out of my league man.

FRIEND 1
You’re a chicken. Ask her out!

INT. diana's cafe - NIGHT

KELLY
You know you remind me of someone I never had the courage to ask out.

DAISY
Oh yeah? So now you’re asking me out to make up for your lack of courage?

KELLY
You have me all figured out.

Daisy shrugs and takes out her iPod.

DAISY
Listen to this. This song gives me chills.

KELLY
I don’t listen to music much.

DAISY
Not even the Beatles? I had a dream once that John Lennon kissed me.

KELLY
Sweet. Would like to be him right now.

DAISY
It was a really good dream. A lot of people want to be him.

KELLY
Of course.

Food arrives. Kelly takes the wrapped straw, cuts one end and blows on the open end. The wrapper lands on her right arm.

DAISY
Sweet move.

KELLY
Maybe you should keep the wrapper as a souvenir.

DAISY
(giggling)
I’ll keep your number that’s good enough.


EXT. downtown miami – DAY
DAISY and MARLA walking around downtown miami. Children dressed up in white are walking by with nuns. They are on their way to their first communion. A car drives by and yells “hey beautiful” at Daisy. They enter an Asian store and they buy tea and a wisteria bonsai.

DAISY
This is how much I like you. I’m getting you this bonsai.

MARLA
You should keep your money. We only need tea.

DAISY
Consider it a gift for putting up with me.

MARLA
It’s a beautiful wisteria bonsai. I can’t say no to it. You know me so well.

DAISY
Of course I do.

MARLA
My mother used to cultivate bonsai trees in our house when I was little. She was so meticulous with her plants. She used to spend hours fertilizing the ground and every time the trees bloomed she used to do a little dance. (she does the little dance.)

DAISY
You should do that dance every time you get a smile from men.

MARLA
(rolls eyes)
I’ll leave with my bonsai, thank you.


INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT

DAISY
You seem like the kinda person that would come in during lunch time. That’s the time all the yuppies come out.

KELLY
(perplexed)
I’ve never been called a yuppy before.

DAISY
That’s because you’re surrounded by them, but don’t worry you’re the cool one.

KELLY
(sarcastically)
So I’m the cool yuppy. That really raises my self-esteem.


INT. LAUNDROMAT – NIGHT
IT’S TWO WEEKS AGO.

DAISY working. The washing machines are making rhythmic noises. She hums to it. A musical breaks out. Neon light are going on and off. It stops when Charlie walks in.

CHARLIE
Hey baby, you almost done?


DAISY
Yeah, I just have to pick up stuff and count the money.

We see Daisy picking up what people leave behind and getting the money from the machines. She finishes her shift and they head out to central park. Charlie puts his arm around her neck.

EXT. bayfront park – NIGHT

Daisy and Charlie walking. We see a dog walker with 10 dogs. It’s Halloween so the dogs are all dressed up.

DAISY
You should get me a puppy. They say if you get someone a dog, you really mean something to that person.

CHARLIE
I don’t think so. You can’t live with a dog in your tiny apartment.

DAISY
Well, I must not mean much to you then.

CHARLIE
Of course you do baby. Let’s just walk and take in the beauty of the falling leafs.

DAISY
Sure, that sounds good too. Do you like the orange leafs or the yellow ones?

Charlie does a double take on a beautiful woman walking past them.

CHARLIE
Sure, the yellow ones because they’re sunny like you.

DAISY
You think I’m sunny?

CHARLIE
Sure baby.

diana's cafe – NIGHT

DAISY
I come to Kat’z a lot. I’ve never seen you here before.

KELLY
Well, it’s your lucky day. What’s your name?

DAISY
I’m Daisy.

A trumpet player enters. He starts playing jazz. Kelly gets up and hands him a $20 dollar bill when he finishes playing his first solo and then tells him to play “Hello Dolly.” But instead of Dolly, he tells him to say Daisy.

KELLY
I really like this tune. Listen to it. It’s for you.

DAISY
No one has ever dedicated a song to me before.

KELLY
(singing along)
Hello Daisy!

DAISY
(smiling)
You have quite the singing voice.

KELLY
You bring it out.

DAISY
Surely, you’ve sang like that before.

KELLY
No, never.

DAISY
I feel special.

KELLY
You should.

DAISY
Did you know there are black roses that only grow in Turkey? My friend is obsessed with plants and flowers. I’ve always wanted to see one in person. I would travel to Turkey just to see them. Marla makes me sick of plants and flowers, but this flower I want to see.

KELLY
I’ve never seen a black flower.

DAISY
They’re black like my soul.

KELLY
I’d travel with you just to see them.

DAISY
Hah!

KELLY
I’d take you there.

DAISY
Would you?

KELLY
I think I would Daisy. Matter of fact I think I would take you in my pocket.

DAISY
You’d have to shrink me.

KELLY
I wish I had that power.

DAISY
You look like the type of person who does.

KELLY
My only super power is helping people.

DAISY
My only super power is making people miserable.

KELLY
You don’t make me miserable. I think you’re too nice and people tend to take advantage of that.

DAISY
Oh? That’s one way to put it.

(beat)
I have an idea. Let’s flip a coin for twenty bucks. Head means you have to make someone in this restaurant give you their number. Tails means I would have to do it.

KELLY
Ok. I hope it lands on tails.

Daisy flips a penny. It lands on tails. KELLY laughs.

DAISY
Watch this.

DAISY walks up to a twenty something year old male sitting at a table.

DAISY
Hey baby.

STRANGER #1
Hey what’s up?

DAISY
You want to have the best night of your life?

STRANGER #1
I’m sorry?

DAISY
Yeah, do you want to go back to my place? What’s your number baby?

STRANGER #1
Oh. Yeah… let me write it down.

He writes it down and DAISY leaves.


STRANGER #1
See you around.

DAISY
See you.

DAISY walks back to KELLY. Puts the paper with the number written down on the table.

DAISY
Pay up.

KELLY
(laughing)
I’m impressed.

DAISY
It’s your turn.

KELLY
That’s not what we agreed on, but I’ll do it.

KELLY walks up to a blondie and tries to do the same thing.

STRANGER #2
What are you looking at?

KELLY
You have beautiful hair.

STRANGER #2
Get lost creep.

KELLY
Enjoy your meal.

KELLY walks back towards DAISY feeling defeated.

DAISY
(laughing)
Nice try!

KELLY
I definitely tried. I‘m embarrassed. You’ve upgraded in my book.

DAISY
Pay up.

KELLY takes out his beat up wallet and hands her a twenty dollar bill.

KELLY
You deserve it. Well played.

DAISY
I’ll be right back.

Daisy walks out. Buys a wallet from a street vendor.
Kelly stays inside waiting. The camera is on him. Daisy walks back in. She puts the wallet on the table.

DAISY
This is for you.

KELLY
Oh thank you. I’m flattered. A new wallet. Will put it to good use.

DAISY
I bet you will.

INT. MARLA’S FRIEND’S PARTY

IT’S SIX DAYS AGO.

Daisy is talking to Marla and the host when suddenly a guy in his twenties approaches and hugs Daisy.

GUY #1
Hey baby.

DAISY
What’s up?

GUY #1
Come with me.

He takes her to sit next to the pool.

GUY #1
You want a drink?

DAISY
Yeah, sure.

Guy #1
I’ve been looking for someone like you.

DAISY
Well, there’s more to me than meets the eye.

GUY #1
Of course. You’re a delicate flower. Let’s jump in the pool.

They undress themselves and jump in.

DAISY
I was expecting this night to go bad, but it’s turning out really well.

GUY #1
My pleasure.

DAISY
I just broke up with my boyfriend.

GUY #1
I wouldn’t do that to you.

DAISY
I’ve heard that before.

GUY #1
I’m not like the rest of those guys.

DAISY
I’ve heard that before too.

GUY #1
I’m different.

DAISY
Prove it.

He gives her a long passionate kiss.

GUY #1
I’ll change your life.

DAISY
Keep proving yourself.

GUY #1
You’ll never forget this night. I think we were meant for each other. I’ve never felt this way before. I want to take you places.

DAISY
Where would you take me?

GUY #1
Let’s start with a day in Tokyo and a night in Paris. We would finish it up in Italy.

DAISY
No. I’m being real.

GUY #1
I’m being real too. Scratch that. Why don’t I take you out to dinner tomorrow night?

DAISY
I think it’s too soon for me.

GUY #1
Forget him. We’ll go out tomorrow.

DAISY
No, we won’t.

INT. DAISY’S PARENTS HOME - DAY

DAISY walks in while they’re eating. They are engaged in a discussion about who’s going to wash the dishes. They are talking in Spanish. (subtitles in english)

DAISY
Que vamos a comer?

DAISY’S FATHER
Sientate sientate. Ya vamos a comer.

Daisy’s father motions her to sit next to him.

DAISY’S SISTER
Anoche tuve un sueño que iva volando encima de los edificios.

DAISY’S FATHER
Ah si? Deja de comer tanto en las noches.

INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT

Daisy walking around little Italy. The street is covered with different colored umbrellas. They’re hanging from the buildings.



INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT
KELLY’S ex-wife walks into Kat’z. She ruins everything. She finds Kelly with Daisy.

KELLY’S EX-WIFE
So this is what you do after work?

DAISY
You’re married?!

KELLY
What are you doing here Ellen?

Ellen grabs Kelly’s plate and throws it to the floor.
He grabs her by the arm and tries to take her outside.

KELLY
(startled)
What are you doing? We’ve been through this before.

While Daisy is perplexed. She gets up walks the other way.

ELLEN
You can’t do this to me.

The camera is focused on them arguing from the inside. Ellen leaves, and Kelly is left searching for Daisy. He doesn’t find her.

INT. diana's cafe - NIGHT

Kelly walks by kat’z everyday after that night looking for Daisy. Kelly walks in and talks to the waiter.

WAITER
You looking for that young girl who always eats here?

KELLY
Yes.

WAITER
She hasn’t been here in days.

KELLY
Yeah, I’ve tried looking.

WAITER
To say the least. She lives close by.

KELLY
Would you mind telling me?

WAITER
That girl is a piece of heaven.

INT. diana's cafe - NIGHT

KELLY
I swear that when our lips touch I can taste the next fifty years of our life.

DAISY
I feel the same way.

KELLY
Lets get out of this restaurant.

DAISY
Where would you take me?

miami beach – NIGHT


Daisy and Marla eating take out from a thai place at Marla’s place.

Daisy
Charlie might come over tonight and ruin our lives. I don’t think I’m over him.

MARLA
I’ll talk to him. Make him go away.

DAISY
I’m not over him.

Charlie knocks on the door. Marla opens.

CHARLIE
What’s up ladies?

MARLA
What are you doing here? Forgot you’re the worst person ever? Daisy and I are having a wonderful time without you.

CHARLIE
Leave us alone Marla.

MARLA
You won’t kick me out of my own place. I stay you leave.

DAISY
What do you want Charlie?

CHARLIE
I…I…
Marla puts her hand on her waist.

MARLA
It won’t work out Charlie

CHARLIE
Shut up Marla.

DAISY
I thought you wanted someone else.

Int. diana's cafe – DAY

DAISY
Give me the usual. I don’t know what to do with men.

Guy behind counter
You’ll be fine. You’re a lovely lady.

DAISY
I don’t know I don’t have luck.

Guy behind counter
What happened to that lawyer you were talking to?

DAISY
I don’t stand a chance.

Guy behind counter
Why do you say that? You’re a swell gal.

DAISY
I think he has a wife.

GUY BEHIND COUNTER
He doesn’t want her. trust me. Keep your spirits high.

CHINATOWN – NIGHT

New years festival. Daisy walking with the crowd. Looks at Chinese kids having fun.

KELLY’S LAW OFFICE – DAY

KELLY
Looking out the window playing with a pen. Sees new year’s festival from his office.

Coworker 2 comes in –he’s short and funny-
I’m ready to go to court. I might need some help with this case.

KELLY
Sure. You know you can count on me.


bayfront park – NIGHT

Daisy finished working and is on her way home. She gets mugged in central park. She tries to defend herself but he gets away with her hard earned money. She gets home and dreams of the lawyer in her room. Her dad comes to her and tries to console her. She cries. She’s ready for her new life.

Kelly keeps going back to katz to look for Daisy.

north miami – CHARLIE’S PLACE - NIGHT

MARLA
What are we doing here?

DAISY
Play along with me Marla. We will have fun. You might meet someone.

MARLA
You think so?

Charlie walks out.
CHARLIE
Hey ladies. I’m glad you made it here. Ready to have fun?

DAISY
Yes we are.

Dancing guy walks into them. Daisy acts perplexed
Hey cutie, wanna dance?

DAISY
No but she might. Pulling Marla closer to him.

-They dance together-

MARLA
I think men are scared of me. Don’t you think so?

DAISY
Why do you say that?

MARLA
I’m too good for their own good. I don’t think they want a plant lady.

DAISY
But your plants are what make you you. It’s like you’re mother nature’s kid. Who wouldn’t want you? are you kidding me?

Guitarist is playing in the background.

MARLA
Let’s request a song!

Marla walks over to him
Play a sad song for my friend and her ex

GUITARIST
Sounds bad I only play love songs for lovely ladies like you.

MARLA
I’m all ears.

Guitarist plays a romantic song

INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT

KELLY
There you are

DAISY
Here I am

KELLY
Every time I see you a new constellation forms and I see stars and all of that.

DAISY
I see a good kid trying to hard to impress me

KELLY
It’s how I feel.

DAISY
Looks at him lovingly.

KELLY
I think I want to elope with you.


DAISY
With me?

KELLY
I’m looking at the loveliest person in the restaurant. YES.

COURTROOM DOWNTOWN MIAMI

Kelly and coworker 2 talking

COWORKER 2
I’m trying to defend this man from south America. He messed around with the wrong people.

KELLY
I’ll try my best.

He goes up on the podium and defends him.

-he wins the case-

COWORKER 2
I think he’ll be fine. Thanks so much. I think I can take it from here.

viscaya museum - DAY

DAISY
here we are again. There’s nothing that pleases me more than making my bff happy.

MARLA
I love this place more than life. Everytime we come here there’s something new. New plants and new art. What more could I ask of life?

DAISY
A boyfriend. Haha I’m kidding I can deal with you forever.

MARLA
A boyfriend sounds nice.

DAISY
The problem is you don’t believe it. you’re too into your plants. It’s a lovely trait on a girlfriend. You would know what to do.

MARLA
You would know what to do too

-Daisy acts stupid, she’s smarter-

Plant kid comes in
I believe you are looking at the longest living plant in this place. But don’t tell anyone it’s a secret.

MARLA
Omg who gave you that information

PLANT KID
It’s a secret. I’m crazy about plants. You come here a lot? I come here a lot too.

They walk up to the main building to find a wedding taking place.

PLANT KID
This is the second wedding this week.

MARLA
Frol.

DAISY
Yeah –looking depressed-

They walk out and go to daisy’s parents home

DAISY’S DAD
Hola como les fue?

DAISY
Fuimos a los jardines botanicos otra vez.

DAISY’S DAD
Que bien. El lugar favorito de Marla.

MARLA
When are you going to teach me Spanish again Daisy?

DAISY’S DAD
-laughing- siempre te entendemos.

DAISY’S MOM
I baked a cake come have some Marla.
-pulling on her arm-
We always teach you.

INT. diana's cafe – NIGHT

DAISY
I’m hungry again. I eat a lot at night time.

KELLY
That’s funny I eat a lot during lunch time.

A Kiss

The End

Love

About the Creator

Jeanine Rodriguez

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    JRWritten by Jeanine Rodriguez

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.