Fiction logo

Karma

A Story Every Day in 2024 May 9th 130/366

By Rachel DeemingPublished 11 days ago 2 min read
15
Karma
Photo by Jason Tuinstra on Unsplash

It was a sadistic way to kill but it brought her much satisfaction. Who knew that a storecupboard ingredient could be so harmful to a creature when it was used by others merely to season their food?

She was fed up with the broad, leathery leaves of her hostas looking like an errant child with a craft punch had attacked them indiscriminately, turning them into doilies for a frog's tea party. She felt it reflected badly on her as a gardener, allowing these insurgents to constantly attack her plants, leaving them ragged. She imagined what it must be like for the leaves to be torn by tiny teeth, to be coated with a layer of silver slime and to know that they were now weakened and exposed to other perils, such as disease.

She did not allow such empathy when she watched the slugs fizzing with their newly acquired white coating. She did not imagine them writhing in agony or their bewilderment at their assault with salt.

She'd woken up that morning, pulled back the curtains and the glass of her patio doors were coated with the pale underbellies of slugs. Actually, there were only six, but the sight of their squidgy flesh so readily exposed when she had merely wanted to let in the day, had angered her. How dare they! Repulsed, she immediately tore off some kitchen towel, slipped on some shoes and headed out with the salt.

When she got to the patio, there were more; again, not an inordinate amount but enough for her to need to take immediate action. She took the kitchen towel and ensuring that her fingers were completely covered, she started to pluck the slugs off the glass and place them on the floor ready for execution.

Littering the ground were the petals of the clematis that draped itself over the doors. Its pretty pink flowers glistened like little stars in the grey morning and she looked up from under them, pausing from her gruesome task.

It was at this moment that a precariously balanced slug, clinging to one of the clematis' tendrils, was nudged by a gust of wind to land perfectly on her forehead.

***

365 words

Those of you who have read my stuff over time will know that I dislike slugs. I have had close encounters of the squidgy kind with them before and would rather they kept themselves to themselves. However, slugs have to eat, I know and so I tolerate them - for the most part. But the thought of them on my skin? Ugh.

Here is a poem using limericks that I wrote about them:

Thanks for stopping by! If you do read this, please do leave a comment as I love to interact with my readers.

130/366

MicrofictionHumorHorror
15

About the Creator

Rachel Deeming

Storyteller. Poet. Reviewer. Traveller.

I love to write. Check me out in the many places where I pop up:

Medium

My blog

Reedsy

Linkedin

Goodreads

X

Facebook

Beware of imitators.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (15)

Sign in to comment
  • Karen Cave5 days ago

    You have my sympathy... I'm the same with spiders

  • Shirley Belk6 days ago

    I heard that leaving a lid full of beer down would do the trick...they can't resist and it kills them

  • Andy Potts10 days ago

    Slugs and bugs and witchetty grubs, all part of the recipe for Daddy's Horrible Porridge (a masterpiece of strategic incompetence when it comes to breakfast).

  • Miss Catherine10 days ago

    🤮most disgusting living things on earth.

  • Ewwww, I would have died! 🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮 They're gross enough without even touching my skin 🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮🤮

  • Caroline Craven11 days ago

    Who was it that said that slugs are homeless snails?! Slugs don’t actually bother me too much - probably because I’m a terrible gardener and responsible for killing more plants than them! This was fab though! Nice one!

  • Thavien Yliaster11 days ago

    I'm okay with slugs and snails. We have to be careful about other invasive species of flatworms though, cause they can spread diseases to humans even though they eat other mollusks and worms. Plus, dehydration is a horrifying way to go. Imagine Your organs rapidly failing as the water is forcibly extracted from them to due extremely radical shifts in Your chemical environment. You'd become delirious practically immediately and suffer immense amounts of pain. Your brain would be subject to irreversible damage. "turning them into doilies for a frog's tea party." - The imagination in this line entices my inner child to go out and collect frogs and toads in the tall grass.

  • L.C. Schäfer11 days ago

    Ewwwww! I trod on one once. YUK! That slime STICKS.

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    Ew! I shuddered! I'd rather come into contact with a slug over a spider though. Great micro, Rachel! So glad the Medium ordeal is getting sorted so we don't have to be deprived of your daily stories!

  • Hannah Moore11 days ago

    I have given up on hostas. Once, one of my children, cant recall which, sat down to eat after an afternoon in the garden, and a slug plopped out of its hair and onto its plate. I recall there was some upset.

  • Mark Gagnon11 days ago

    I have to say, they are not my favorite critters either. They don't even make good fish bait.

  • Lana V Lynx11 days ago

    Ewww, I hate slugs. I would have been disgusted if one landed on my face. Very well written, Rachel!

  • John Cox11 days ago

    It’s raining slugs! Their stickum does not wash off easily, I can tell you that! Fun story, Rachel!

  • My sympathies for both the slug & gardener. I have similar feelings about spiders now… they have to live too, but please don’t land on me!

  • Paul Stewart11 days ago

    I feel a full rebuttal from the perspective of a slug coming from my hands and brain for Belle's challenge, haha. Love the descriptions in this and it does read like you abhor them lol.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.