Fiction logo

Kaleidoscope

Step out of the dream

By Sarah urfferPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 7 min read
3
Kaleidoscope
Photo by Marty Southwell on Unsplash

As a child I remember loving the colors of a kaleidoscope. I would play for hours each day spinning away each time get a different combination and sequence. Such a beautiful outlet in those days. A long waiting fantasy of childhood wanting to have fun with my imagination, to truly be a kid. This was my life, always in secret wanting to be like the other children happy and carefree. Mother and father would not have this irresponsible tomfoolery in there house let alone their only heir. So inside I remained trapped to study and practice but not to play.

This was the life mother and father were bread from. Born from respectable families distinguished they were by the merits their parents passed down and nourished into them as per their parents before them. I would see old photographs of them in their youth happy and excited with life. Along the ways of adulthood they lost what gave life purpose. My parents loved their family dearly they all were so close, without those they loved joy would be swept away and leave with it a void. No one expected what had come to pass those thirty three year’s ago. The sky turned red and the ocean, it opened up and swallowed them whole. To this day no one knows what happen to the whole Minamoto family on that boat.

It was only by shear dumb luck that my parents missed the gathering. Sailing was life for my whole entire family up until that fateful day, the day I was born. They named me Kei meaning blessing and hours later after the event, added a middle name of Kichirō meaning lucky one. I can tell it hurts them every year on the day of my birth knowing all their families left us that day. Yet somehow to them I spared them that fate by being born. I Kei Kichirō Minamoto sparked the events to change there way of living, at least that’s what they think. Don’t get me wrong I live a good life better then most. My parents being the last surviving of both family lines have inherited all that wealth. They have made sure to give me everything that money can buy. Downside being no wealth in the world can replicate the child experience. I’m talking about that genuine imaginative fun innocent mind of a child experiencing the world for the first time.

My birthday is right around the corner, felt like it came around fast this year. I’ll be celebrating with my parents at the end of the week on the day to remember and celebrate the day. Maybe I’m stressing out about it, but I’ve have had these headaches in the morning for weeks now. Been dreaming a lot though i can’t remember much but colors. I feel it’s got something to do with these headaches. My physician thinks it’s allergies since several other patients have been experiencing them. I’ve decided to take a sleep aid tonight hopefully a solid nights rest takes care of it, time will tell.

It all happened so suddenly no one not even I could have realized. By the time I did it was just too late we were trapped here. When it started it all felt like a dream, so I followed the dream or rather let my dream happen. Who would not have explored this vivid world and experience this bliss. The headaches should have been a sign that something was wrong. Even then we never could have realized the truth was larger than us. Time feels different here like it doesn’t exist yet I feel like so much time has passed in here.

When I started visiting here i would meditate for what seemed like an hour. Upon waking each time I would be out for much longer than the time before. On top of that every time I entered this place it would be different in subtle ways. Sequence, Color combinations and patterns never seemed to repeat themselves. One day I decided not to meditate but to explore what I presumed to be a room. I spend so long trying to find the corner of it I forgot where I began. I began to panic but I then decided to meditate then soon after I woke again.

Ever more curious I became about this kaleidoscope dream land as the days past. I talked to someone else about this dream world and they thought it quite silly yet thrilling. Might they have a chance as well to basque themselves in this immense dreamland. I would continue to ponder this every night leading up to my birthday. The day of my birth March third isn’t usually special. My parents believe I’m a Savior since I came early and saved them from the death they would have had. Turning thirty three With this being the year of thirty three thirty three they feel maybe that ship will return or some greatness will be revealed. I would have rather had that outcome than what was revealed inside this kaleidoscope dream space.

My mother insists every year to bake me a cake for her lucky blessed son. It’s actually the part I enjoy most besides knowing I’ll regret eating it. A sweet tooth is one way to sum it up, although it’s tends to lean towards a chocoholic if I let myself go. I keep in line, I made a promise a few years ago to only eat that cake as my one sweet treat all year. This decadent fluffy chocolate mocha sponge cake engulfed in the chocolate glacage, it to die for. That’s not even the best part it’s fill with a raspberry pomegranate jam alternating in layers with lemon jam. It’s the only thing that’s keeping me together with all these dreams. I can just think about that cake for a while.

All cake aside these dreams were taking ahold of me. More and more I continue to feel like there is a deeper meaning in this kaleidoscope world. I feel a deep peace here and I get the feeling I’m missing time when i meditate. It’s so wonderful here being able to explore my imagination and play within the colors. I have this perfect size play set in the dream now. It has swings, gymnastics equipment and a balancing beam. I really wanted one when i was younger watching the olympics, so cool to finally have one. Have one I pondered, do i really have one? That would bother me most of my waking hours. Hopefully tonight’s rest will wash that away for tomorrow is the big day.

I took more sleep aid tonight and doze off. No sooner I do I wake in the kaleidoscope feeling so happy that I am here. Where has this joy come from I thought to ponder then poof the thought was gone. I lost myself in play, I went to swing and swinging I certainly did. I swong high and jumped off again and again. Each time walking the beam like a race. Exhausted I lay down on the floor soon becoming mesmerized by all the wonder around this world.

Just like that I wake up welcome to March third I thought it was a normal day but then I see the time is almost noon. What had happen I’ve never slept this late and that dream what is this. Not having much time left I clean up and head to meet my mother and father. We are meeting by the docks to celebrate life and death and eat that delicious cake. It’s not far from here six blocks away no hills. As I approach I see them all set up and join them at the picnic table. After watching sandwiches they sing happy birthday, I can’t wait to dive into this cake. As she cuts out slices the jam just oozes from the center down the exposed layers. It’s so delicious with a side of vanilla ice cream too, this makes it all worth it.

No sooner after eating that slice the sky opens out of it we become surrounded by kaleidoscope. It’s the dream, am I dreaming this right now I say aloud. My mother asked me what I’m talking about. I remind her again about the weird dreams I’ve had where I loose myself in child like wonder. This feeling is so much stronger so calming it makes me feel tired. It feels like it’s draining me. Everyone is here this time how strange, we all need to wake up. I go for a slice of cake and realize it’s still here, I can’t be dreaming if the cake is real.

Realizing I’m not dreaming I become unable to move and as I start to fade off I make out a weird figure hovering above me with a bubble head suit. What is that figure i wonder as I’m being to fall asleep. I wake inside this dream again but something doesn’t feel right. Beeping what is this beeling I’ve never heard a sound like this before. At least i am not the only one here my mother and father are here thank goodness. They are still passed out but they appear alright. As far as I can see in all directions seems to be bodies of other people. What has happened, who was that figure I saw before falling asleep? Why can’t that cake be here too…

Loud beeping from the suited beings talking to their wrist wrap. Ok, ok, yes, extractions complete. All subjects have been exposed to the kaleidoscope containment. Planetary units magic energy storaged, one hundred percent collected. Ready for transport to shuttle engine for battery recharge. Activating location assist for retrieval, commence transportation in three…two…one… bloop cycle complete charge one hundred percent ready to phase into hyper drive. Preparing cryogenic sleep activated upon drive. Commencing hyperdrive to universe omega in three..two..one, enjoy your sleep see you in 3,000 light years.

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.