Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 27

By Kelly RileyPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
1

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue.

Chapter 27: Chasing Nicky

The village where Nicky had been taken was deep in the interior. It was going to be a long journey, and we couldn't be sure we'd find Nicky, nor what to expect if we did.

June: What's going on? Is the train station usually this crowded?

Joseph: It looks like there's some kind of demonstration.

June: Why are they protesting?

Clue #1

June: "End Colonial Rule." They're protesting the British?

Joseph: Yes. It's the Nigerian Nationalist Democratic Party. They want an independent Nigeria.

June: What about you, Joseph?

Joseph: It seems impossible. Too many different peoples. There isn't one Nigeria, but many. But then, you Americans did it. Won independence. Built a nation. Why not us?

June: There's so many people here. I can't see the ticket counter.

Joseph: It's over this way. We just need to use a little muscle.

Clue #2

June: Excuse me, coming through. Ah, finally. So what train do we take?

Joseph: The passenger rail only goes as far as Abuja. From there, we'll have to borrow a truck. Luckily, my sister lives in Abuja. Maybe she can lend us hers.

June: Sounds like a plan. Let's not miss this train.

...

June: How long did you say this train ride was again?

Joseph: Six hours, give or take. I suggest you try to make yourself comfortable.

June: I don't know how you appear so calm. I'd be tearing my hair out if I were you.

Joseph: Do you want to know my secret? Distraction.

June: And what exactly do you mean by that?

Clue #3

June: War and Peace? I didn't take you for a Tolstoy fan.

Joseph: Nicky teases me relentlessly about it. He thinks novels are a waste of time.

June: Hardly. Novels expand the mind.

Joseph: Medical journals and the newspaper, that's it for Nicky. I'd go mad. Do you think... do you suppose he's... hurt or worse?

June: Hush. If we start thinking about that sort of thing, we'll both go mad.

Our journey was about half done when suddenly the train came screeching to a halt.

June: What's happened? Why has the train stopped?

Joseph: I don't know. Let me ask the conductor.

Clue #4

June: Cows! Ha! Right on the track. I wonder how long it will take to clear them.

Joseph: A few minutes, maybe. An hour. It depends on the cows.

The delay felt like an eternity. Each moment left us stranded, further away from Nicky. But at least the cows moved and we were on our way again.

...

It was mid-afternoon when we reached Abuja. Joseph took me to his sister's house.

Joseph: June. This is Hannah, my sister.

Hannah: Joseph! What are you doing here? Is it Christmas already?

Joseph: I know. I'm sorry. I have a favor to ask.

Hannah: Well at least let your friend have something to eat first. You must be starving.

Clue #5

June: This is delicious. Is this... coconut rice? It's wonderful, thank you.

Hannah: You're very kind. What brings you to Nigeria? And how do you know my brother?

June: We... have a mutual friend.

Joseph: Yes, Hannah. That's what I wanted to ask you about.

June: We are looking for a friend of ours. We think he's in the village of Sabaa.

Joseph: It's Nicky. He's missing. We need to borrow your truck.

Hannah: Nicky's missing? Oh God, Joseph, why didn't you say something sooner? Please, take my truck. The keys are on the table.

Clue #6

June: I found the keys, Hannah. Thank you.

Hannah: Of course. You know, when I first met Nicky, I wasn't sure he was right for my baby brother. But there's no arguing with love, is there? Can you do me a favor, June? Keep Joseph safe.

...

We hadn't traveled far from Abuja before the road was barely more than a dirt track. And then that dirt track turned to thick mud.

Joseph: It's no use. We're spinning wheels, just digging ourselves deeper. There should be a bag of gravel in the back of the truck.

June: Don't worry. I know what to do.

Clue #7

Joseph: Where did you learn to get a truck out of the mud?

June: During the war. We moved the wounded from the front in trucks like these.

Joseph: Right. The war. That's how you met Nicky, isn't it?

June: Yes, that was another life. For both of us. That's a good amount of gravel, but there's a lot of mud. I hope this works.

Joseph: It's not budging. We're going to have to leave it. The river's only a few kilometers from here.

June: And then?

Joseph: We take a boat down the river. The village isn't far. But you'll need some boots. I think I saw a pair of Hannah's in the truck.

Clue #8

June: All right. All ready. What about your sister's truck?

Joseph: I'll send a message at the next town. Hannah and her husband will come get it later.

June: She's not going to let you hear the end of it, is she?

Joseph: No, no she won't.

...

Joseph: How are you holding up, June?

June: I'm not one to complain. But I have to say, I'm not as young as I once was.

Joseph: Well, it shouldn't be much farther now. We're nearly at the ferry.

Clue #9

Ferryman: No ferry today.

Joseph: What? No! We have to get down the river. We can't stop. Not when we've come this far!

June: It's okay, Joseph. Sir -- why is there no ferry today?

Ferryman: My dog, Mary. She's injured her leg. I can't leave her, and I can't take her.

Joseph: An injured dog! We've come all this way, and we can't get to Nicky because of a dog!

Ferryman: Don't insult my Mary. She's a good girl. And she's all I've got.

June: Maybe there's some way we can help her.

Ferryman: If you could do that, I'd take you wherever you want, so long as it's downriver.

June: Joseph?

Joseph: Get my medical bag. I'm not a veterinarian, but I'll see what I can do.

Clue #10

June: There. Looks like your dog just pulled a muscle in her back. She just needs rest.

Joseph: Now can you take us down the river please?

Ferryman: Thank you so much! Climb aboard and tell me where you're headed.

SeriesMysteryfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.