Fiction logo

The end or a beginning?

Last minute count down

By Lyra CraddockPublished 21 days ago 3 min read
Like

The countdown begins.

60

59

58

This cop is trying his hardest to talk me off the ledge, he tells me I have a lot to live for. I look at my watch and see my timer nearly about to go off. I was born on May 2nd, 1974 at 7pm and I planned to die on my birthday, May 2nd, 2024 at 7pm. It was now 6:59pm. This cop has no idea my mind is made up, there is nothing he can say or do to me that will change my mind.

49

48

47

46

I mean why does he care so much, just because he read my letter in the hotel room doesn’t mean he understands me. He doesn’t know that my life is over. I have two adult kids that want nothing to do with me, my wife had finally left me, she said she only stayed with me for the kids, but now here she is trying to talk me out of ending my life.

39

38

37

I don’t know why she is even here. She’s the one who said she didn’t love me, if she didn’t love me I wish she had left me a long time ago, there were women I had passed on because I wanted to be a devoted and loving husband. She confessed she had prospects too but didn’t want her family to think less of her. She was hoping I’d cheat for years so she wouldn’t be the bad guy, but all this time, she just fell out of love with me and stayed for the kids.

30

29

28

27

Those kids, after everything I did for those kids. Soccer, gymnastics, volleyball, music, whatever they wanted and we could afford we got it for them. Once my ex-wife took a two week long vacation and left me with the kids and it was like our own vacation without their mother, it was bliss. Yet and still, when the divorce was final they choose to take her side when she was the one who filed for divorce, when she was the one who didn’t love ME anymore.

21

20

19

I couldn’t think of anything I wanted to do with my life. I’m turning 50. What could I possible do now. Go on vacations by myself, find a new love interest. Travel the world and see things I never got to see while I was too young, broke, and single to go, or when I was with my unloving wife who kept saying we didn’t have the time or money to go anywhere together, unless it was with the kids, and those had to be short trips.

14

13

12

11

They say your life flashes before your eyes, right before you die, well I hope it doesn’t. I’ve been on this planet long enough to know those good memories can leave a bad taste in your mouth, something sour, something I just don’t want to remember before I leave this Earth.

7

6

5…

I get ready to move my leg forward, it was about that time to let go and fall off the ledge to my death when I feel a strong hit to my chest. A man in a red outfit kicks me in my abdomen and I fall back towards the hotel room. I was far enough away from the cop trying to speak to me so he wouldn’t pull me back into the room but I didn’t think they’d think to kick me into the glass behind me. I was unhappily safe. Now life with it’s endless possibilities, what would it have in store for me? As my eyes slowly start to close as I’ve been knocked out thanks to hitting the glass window, the last thing before I’m out I hear my timer goes off.

Short Story
Like

About the Creator

Lyra Craddock

My father was a huge storyteller, whether it was something fictional or real life events, he always had everyone intrigued. Although I want to make movies, I haven’t detoured away from storytelling. Moments of awe is what I’m striving for.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.