Fiction logo

June's Journey Full Story

Volume 1: Chapter 24

By Kelly RileyPublished 11 months ago 4 min read
1

If you want to read the entire story from the app June's Journey, created and written by Wooga, without having to scroll through each chapter to read the content, here are all of the clues and the conversations that go with each clue.

Chapter 24: Thicker Than Water

No matter what we did, the Marquess always seemed to be one step ahead of us, taunting us. Letting us get the egg, but not the list. And as long as she had the list, people's lives were in danger.

June: All of that, and what do we have to show for it? An empty egg.

Irene: A gorgeous, one of a kind, jewel-encrusted empty egg.

June: Don't get distracted.

Irene: I'm teasing. The Marquess must have known we'd intercepted Yenin. But how?

Clue #1

June: I have a guess.

Irene: A disguise. Of course. I'm surprised no one noticed. Blonde doesn't work on that woman. Too bad she didn't leave something more concrete. An address, a train ticket, something.

June: We should tell Detective Wendel to state out all the train stations, just in case.

Irene: If I know Wendel, he's already doing that. Besides, the Marquess isn't leaving town. Not yet. She still ha the list, and she still intends to complete the sale.

Virginia: So, she's going to try and deliver the list to Viktor Yenin? Should we go back to him?

Irene: Looks like that won't be necessary.

Clue #2

Viktor Yenin had escaped the laundry room and was leaving as we spoke. He walked like a man with a purpose.

Virginia: The Marquess always has a backup plan, huh?

Irene: Always.

June: Let's follow him and see if he can lead us to the Marquess.

We followed Viktor to the harbor, careful not to be spotted. It wasn't long before we noticed him signal to someone out on the water. All we had to do was wait for the reply.

Clue #3

June: There, see that light?

Irene: Yes, the Marquess must be using morse code to set up a new meeting with Yenin.

June: Get me a pen and paper. I remember a little morse code from my days as a nurse in the war. Damn it. It's too fast. I missed half of it.

Virginia: The Marquess is sending the signal from the water, right? Why don't we just take a boat to the Marquess?

June: Oh, Virginia, what would we do without you?

Clue #4

June: This dinghy should do. If we cut the engine when we get close, the Marquess might not notice us coming.

Irene: Don't you think Virginia ought to stay ashore?

Virginia: Don't worry about me. I'll be careful.

June: All right. We're on board. But where's the Marquess?

The Marquess: Looking for me?

Irene: Hand over the list. You have nowhere to go.

The Marquess: Let's not be hasty.

The Marquess pointed her gun at Virginia. I needed to find a way to distract her.

Clue #5

The Marquess: Well, here we are, Irene. Twenty-five years ago, I made you a promise. If you ever betrayed me, I'd destroy everything you hold dear--

Irene: June, the light -- now! Virginia, get out of the way!

I swung the floodlight around so it shone in the Marquess's face. Her gun went off.

June: Mother!

The Marquess: Damn your heroism, Irene. That bullet wasn't mean for you. We should have stuck together. We would have been unstoppable. But for now, goodbye.

Irene: She dove into the water!

June: Let her go, Mother. You need medical attention.

Irene: Don't worry about me. The Marquess... the list...

Virginia: The Marquess doesn't have the list.

Clue #6

June: The list. How did it end up here?

Virginia: The Marquess dropped it in the scuffle. Is Grandma going to be okay?

Irene: I'm fine. Let's just get this boat to shore.

...

June: There's no exit wound. But you're going to need a doctor to get the bullet out. I can at least disinfect it and stop the bleeding. I just need medical supplies.

Clue #7

June: Okay, I'm going to have to apply a lot of pressure. It will hurt.

Irene: Do what you have to. I can handle it.

Mother gritted her teeth, but didn't cry out. I did what I could and hoped it was enough.

Virginia: So what do we do now? The Marquess is getting away.

June: Mother still needs a doctor. I'm going to radio in an SOS.

Clue #8

June: Help is on its way. Once you're patched up, we'll get back on the Marquess's trail.

Irene: No, we won't.

June: What do you mean? You made a deal with Interpol to catch the Marquess.

Irene: When she realizes she's lost the list, she'll go underground. She'll be impossible to find.

June: How can you be sure?

Irene: It's what I would do.

...

Mother had been shot, and the Marquess had gotten away. And as we came ashore, I couldn't shake the feeling that our troubles were far from over. Detective Wendel was waiting for us.

Clue #9

June: Detective, my mother has been shot. She needs medical attention. But we got the list. The names of the agents are safe.

Hermann: And the Marquess?

June: She got away.

Hermann: Thank you for your assistance, Miss Parker. We will see that your mother gets the proper medical attention in our custody.

June: In your custody? What do you mean by that?

Clue #10

June: An arrest warrant! But you had a deal. My mother helped you...

Hermann: The deal was to apprehend the Marquess. I cannot change the deal.

June: You -- you mindless... bureaucrat!

Hermann: My hands are tied, Miss Parker. If I could change things, I would.

SeriesMysteryfamilyAdventure
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Judey Kalchik 11 months ago

    Hello, it is a Vocal policy that content created with AI is identified as such at the start of the story/article. Please amend your piece to be in compliance. You can find the details here: https://vocal.media/resources/an-update-from-vocal-on-ai-generated-content

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.