Fiction logo

Is she my sister

a secret

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
2
Is she my  sister
Photo by Elisabeth Wales on Unsplash

I was supposed to be playing baseball. But everywhere I looked I saw her, and she seemed to be watching me as well. I had never seen her before. I was curious. When I returned to the bench she came up beside me. She leaned forward to whisper to me, and I leaned toward her to hear, She whispered "Your father is not your birth father." "What" I gasped "It is our family secret ." She continued. "You're crazy" I responded " Get out of here, you are nuts. " I turned my back to her. She seemed hurt, but she left. That pretty girl was nuts, I turned my focus back to my baseball game. I had never seen her before, she did not know my family, she was pretty but she nuts.

My new focus paid off I hit a double. When I crossed home plate minutes later high fiving with my team. She was the last thing on my mind.

My mother was making homemade french fries when I got home. Dad, yes my Dad, was on the porch making the hamburgers. I told him about my double, and scoring. We were both smiling and laughing. He said he would be going to the game next week. I did not say anything about the crazy girl. There was no need to. He was my father and I knew he loved me.

Next Saturday we went to the game as a family. The crazy girl was there with a woman who looked just like her. Both of my parents noticed her watching us, my mother smiled " You have a secret admirer, she keeps looking over" "Oh her" I replied," She's nuts. I sighed in relief when neither of the asked why I considered her to be nuts. I did not want to tell them about the crazy girl's illusion. I was glad when the game ended that I had not embarrassed myself too badly in front of my parents. In fact, they felt proud. Ma was even prouder when she noticed the girl dragging her mother over to meet us. My mother extended her hand. The lady was named Beth and her daughter was Maria. I watched my mother as Beth shared their last name. They were the Pastor family. My mother did not have any other feeling but pride for her son. I had gotten two singles during the game, and now I had a girl admirer, The last name Pastor did not throw her off her game at all. There was no way he was my birthfather, I actually looked for maria when I went back to school. My mother mentioned Maria occassionallty. But soon my family seemed to forget her.

It was not till I started delivering newspapers that I thought about her again. Every morning I would drive my car around the neighborhood tossing newspaper.If I had extra papers I would take them home to my family. My parents would then read it. One saturday my mother asked me to joim them in reading the paper . Our minor league baseball team had won. They were playing on Sunday at 1pm. I menttioned that I might be going , and got ready to excuse myself from the table. Out of the corner of my eye I thought I saw the name Pastor. The article had been written by Tommy Pastor. I stopped in my tracks. There was a small picture of the author next to the article. I turned towards my mother " The guy who wrote this article, he's in his forties and his hair is as thick as mine" My mother looked at the photo. I saw no sign of recocnition in her face but I knew. I had always wondered where my thick hair had come from. Both of my parents had finer thin straight hair. "I think he is Maria's father" I said. She had a blank look on her face, she seemed to have forgotten the young lady from the baseball game she had met years prior. I wondered if she had also forgotten the man who had been his birthfather

I smiled hiding my frustration. I might not have figured the puzzle out right, but it was obvious there was not going to be any honest communication. At that moment I was wishing that I was older than 16. I wondered about Maria, maybe she hadn't been crazy. Maybe she had had a reason to be hurt when I brushed her away, I went to my laptop and looked up Tommy Pastor. I regocnized the older version of both Maria and her mother Beth, They lived one town over, That is why I had never seen her at school. I finally did what I had been to stupid too do when I was a youngster. I looked her up on facebook and sent her a friend request. then I prayed, I had never wanted anything as badly.

The next morning, I immediatly signed on to facebook. She had befriended me. Was I relaxed or scared I wasn't sure. I sent her a massage, Can you please tell me the secret you tried to share with me when I was a youngster? Your father has thick hair like me. She responded, He was not your father. Your father was the man that all the girls wanted to date. he looked like you ,but he had more energy. As soon as he was sixteen he started racing cars. He played other sports as well. He was good friends with my father when they were both in the army. He told my father about you. He was going to marry your mother. but he volunteered for a mission. No he did not die but he needed medical care by the time the mission was over. When he finally made it home your mother had married the man you know as your father. He decided it was better just to keep his and your mother's relationship a secret. He's still alive. I told him about your love for your father , how you wouldn't even consider the idea of another man being your father, I shouldn't have gotten involved. I just wanted to help him. To make him happier.

I thanked her but I felt numb. I loved my father and yet I wanted to meet this man. A conversation with my mother would only cause confusion. She most likely loved both of them. To find out he was still alive and had not contacted them. I had been so excited to talk with Maria, but now all I wanted to was take a bath and I blare some music.

family
2

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Aww, what a difficult situation for the main character. I really wanted to keep reading. Well done :)

  • This was a really interesting story. I hope there is a continuation. I would like to know what happens when she finally meets her birth father.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.