Fiction logo

Purple Shines

Freedom

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Purple Shines
Photo by NASA on Unsplash

Nobody can hear a scream in the vacuum of space, or so they say. Nobody can find life in this vast stretch of the universe. Was I considered life? I could breathe, and talk, and I ate food for sustenance. I was not alone on the purple planet. My companions would hear me if I screamed, anywhere on our planet. My heart would send the scream to their hearts. They would know of the scream, especially if it had been in terror. But our lives knew no terror.

Tonight I swam in the Golden pond. I was philosophizing. The shining waves massaged my body. The warmth of its pressure relaxed my muscles. My mind floated off to the Universe. I was imagining that I was floating thru the vast empty space. I wondered if it would be as soft and warm as a swim in the Golden lake. The sky above me was flashing different shades of blue and pink. The pink strips transmitted a bright light. It was bright enough for me to find my towel. It was over near a heat patch, A part of the planet's surface that generated heat. I would dry quickly lying there.

Once off the patch. the air was chilly. I was glad I had brought an extra sweater. I quickly dressed. I was surprised nobody had joined me. Usually, there were several people in the lake when I arrived. I was not complaining, just surprised.

He was waiting for me when i got home. We both smiled. " You've been to the lake again, your skin will be so soft and lush" He gave me a kiss. I kissed him back not in passion, but just in a, I love you hello. "I've been daydreaming about the universe again, do you think that means I am destined to go?" He chuckled but did not respond. He didn't want to leave the planet. I knew that. but I couldn't help wondering what else was out there.

Ever since we had found the reck. Well, Jack had found it, we had turned it over to the government, but I had kept a few of the books and manuals. Now all I could think about was the Universe and other life. Someone from somewhere else was flying through space. Someone had advanced knowledge. Someone who was similar to Jack and me, but not from our planet.

Jack said to get lost in space was not my destiny, not why I had been born. What he didn't realize was that I Regina was already lost in space. It was all I thought about. I sort of understood the concept of a spacecraft. I couldn't figure out why they wore those weird suits. It must have been difficult to do anything. Why had I been born? Everybody but me seemed to have a purpose. It was great having soft skin and a firm body, but everybody had that.

Jack was watching me as I got lost in thought. I felt his gaze but I could not focus on our conversation. We had had it numerous times before.

The bell rang through the wall. Jack went and turned on the screen. Every day the same routine. Life was like sleepwalking. The whole town was watching this broadcast. It was mandatory.

We settled on the couch and got ready to take notes. Maybe today they would reveal my purpose. They never have notes for me, except when they hooked me up with Jack. We had barely known each other. At first, I had been angry. We have sort of grown together, despite my initial rejection of him.

The Princess appeared on the screen. She always seemed so demure and sweet. I could not decide if I liked her, but she was in charge, I never told anybody, not even Jack, my opinion of her. I was never sure if it was safe to.

Today, the topic was romance, Jack and I had romance. But tonight it was to be ordered by our Princess. They were sensing stress in the community The princess thought that a coupling night would reduce stress. The broadcast erased the relaxation I had felt from my swim. Ordering people to make love, it was supposed to be an emotional attraction, not something to be done on command. We were supposed to use oils, which appeared through the slots. I heard the bottles plop down onto the floor. They both smelt good. The lights in the apartment had dimmed. I went and joined Jack who had changed into shorts and a tee shirt as suggested by the Princess. I wondered what the Princess had ordered as my attire. Jack said it was supposed to reflect my mood. I would never take out my mood on Jack. I had to hide this anger. I was sort of wondering if we were using oils, why we were wearing any clothes at all. I slipped on a short loose flowing nightgown. There was a beep and the light flickered and then the green light turned red, I was numb, the princess and her crew were not watching. Jack and I were to have total freedom for an undetermined amount of time. A freedom that I felt immediately. I turned and gave him an angry passionate kiss, which seemed to wake him up immediately.

I went to bed covered in sweat and smiling, and yes the green light was still off. I wished it was possible to always keep it off. The next morning when we rolled out of bed the green light was on again. I smiled not showing my anger at my lack of freedom. The only thing that was ours was our thoughts, and I shared my thoughts with nobody.

Sci Fi

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

Add your insights

Comments (7)

  • Raymond G. Taylor2 years ago

    Great work, keep it up!

  • Kelly Sibley 2 years ago

    Keeping the scream inside! Well done.

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Fabulous sci-fi story!!!💖💕

  • Has a haunting, eerie feel to it. Well done. Noticed that you wrote the princess "always seemed demeanor" instead of demure. Small thing but probably worth fixing.

  • Very well done!

  • Excellent story and great to see peopel taking on the challenge in the right spirit

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Nice take on the Challenge, enjoyed it😊

ALBWritten by Antoinette L Brey

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.