Fiction logo

Irreplaceable

My Treasure

By Cindy CalderPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read

Sweat ran in rivets down my neck. My hair and clothes were soaked through, fear coursing through my body. My heart pounded. I was sure it would burst from my chest at any moment. I threw the car in reverse, looked over my shoulder, and hit the gas. The overhang of mossy limbs made it difficult to see. I was hell bent on escaping though, my goods from this heist safely secured in the backseat.

On the road, my speed increased. I needed to be far away by sunrise. Absentmindedly, I rubbed the black bruise on my forearm. It didn’t hurt much, but it would before the night was over. I checked the rearview mirror. It was all worth it. It would be fine.

Still, images flashed through my mind. Brutal memories flooded, and I stomached the urge to vomit. I’d made sure his liquor was laced with plenty of sedative. He’d be out until dawn. It would be after that before he roused, realizing the truth.

I adjusted the rearview mirror and checked my treasure. Despite the gravity of the situation, I smiled. I had my child, and we were free of the bastard. It was more than enough.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Cindy Calder

From Charleston SC - "I am still learning." Michelangelo

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Ian Readabout a year ago

    Very heavy, but I sincerely enjoyed the story. Wonderful work!

Cindy CalderWritten by Cindy Calder

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.