Fiction logo

Iron-Clad

NYC Midnight 100-Word Microfiction Challenge

By Alyson Kate LongPublished 10 months ago 1 min read
Like
Iron-Clad
Photo by Chad Madden on Unsplash

The longship's bray split the morning mist. Vikings with mud-streaked faces and blood-soaked fists. Villagers screaming "Sanctuary!" to the barred chapel.

Tearing my door from its hinges, a lone drengr claps iron around my arm. My charred writing stick is flicked away. "Bryti," he decides.

Br ... his bride?

"Too old," boys sneered. "The Devil's doing," wives hissed. Scarred and schooled, I was no match even for the idiot a town over.

Bryti. I shudder, realizing the Norse word for valued slave.

Hearth fire burning my memory, I drop the scraps of my old life into the abyss of the sea.

Historical
Like

About the Creator

Alyson Kate Long

I'm a small business owner by day; a Kindle junkie by night. I love Indian food, MacGyver reruns, breaking grammar rules for the sake of sentiment & my tattoo of falling into a really great book. There is always time for coffee or a nap!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.