Fiction logo

Intwined

Wake Up

By M.J. CarlockPublished 2 years ago Updated 3 months ago 16 min read
Like
Intwined
Photo by Kourosh Qaffari on Unsplash

"There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. In fact, it was during the Ancient War—"

"Abby," I say, interrupting her excited babble, "I know you really want me to read this book—"

"The Three Kingdoms of Ylanowyn," she hurriedly interjects, as we continue to make our way down the sidewalk.

"Yes, The Three Kingdoms of..." I hesitate, trying my best not to stumble over the name, "...Ylanowyn. But if you keep telling me spoilers, there won’t be anything left of it for me to read."

A slight pout forms her lips, brown eyes crinkling a moment before letting out a sigh, "I’m sorry, June, you’re right. I’m just so—"

"Excited," I look over at her blonde head and smile, "I know."

She laughs, slipping her thumbs through the straps of her backpack as we continued to make our way home after school.

The weather was really nice today, the breeze was peaceful, making the treetops softly dance and sing. I closed my eyes to take a breath and relish the feeling. It had been raining a lot for May, but I couldn’t complain. It was helping the flowers grow, and everything was being transformed into luscious shades of green.

I reopened my eyes to the blue sky and was thankful that there was only one week left of Junior year. Summer break was right on the horizon.

"What are you planning on doing this summer, Abby?" I ask, peering over at her.

"Hmm. I’m not really sure," she says pensively. "But," her gaze swings toward me, "we absolutely have to hang out! I want to learn how to fishtail braid, and you must let me practice on your beautifully long, auburn hair!"

I laugh, a snort slipping into the sound, "I don’t think that will be a problem. Elex, is going to be working a lot this summer, so it’ll be nice to have a friend over."

Her face scrunches into a frown, "You sure your brother’s not overworking himself?"

"I guess not," I reply, but I can’t stop the hint of worry that seeps into my voice. I know that life hasn’t been easy for Elex, ever since our parents died in a boating accident seven months ago, he’s been the one trying to hold everything together for the both of us.

It was bizarre to say the least. After the incident, we moved. I switched schools and he found a new job. There were a lot of transitions for us. But I think the biggest hurdle for him besides the death of our parents was adjusting to… well, me.

I was told I had been with my parents the day of the accident, we were supposed to be going along the coast when some weather anomaly occurred, pulling us out to sea and capsizing the yacht we were on.

They drowned, and their bodies were never recovered. But somehow, miraculously, I was found unharmed. Well, mostly.

The thing was, I didn’t remember any of it. Not the boat ride. Not the storm. Not the day. Nor anything before. Everything was just... blank. There was nothing. Nothing, before waking up in the hospital days later.

It was like, I just woke up into existence one day. Not knowing when or where, or even who, I was.

The doctors said I had amnesia. My brother was so worried; I could still recall seeing the fear on his face that day, it was so vivid. He must’ve been terrified, I was terrified, but in the midst the chaos and distress of what was happening, I somehow knew I would be alright... because he was there. It was as if, some part of me still recognized him and knew who he was, and that comforted me.

"Well," Abby’s voice chimes, pulling me from my thoughts to realize our feet had already led us to Harrison and Pine, "it seems that we are now at the crossroads where we must part ways."

A chuckle slips from me at her dramatization, as we were merely at the streets where we had to split up to make our own separate ways home. She lived several more blocks down one street and I the other.

"If only we lived closer to one another," I lament jokingly.

Grinning ear-to-ear she snickers, "Yes, it would be so much easier for me to see your brother."

I choke in surprise, "Abby!"

"Well, it’s true!" She giggles merrily.

A shocked laugh escapes as I give her a playful shove, "O.M.G. My brother!?"

She titters with joy, teasing, "You can’t deny he’s cute—"

"Ew, no!" I make a show, lifting my hands to cover my ears and pinch my eyes closed in mock horror.

She bursts into laughter at my antics, and I all-too-easily follow, putting my hands down.

"Hey," I say, lighthearted, "If it happens, it happens."

Her brow quirked curiously, "Are you giving your approval?"

My lips twitch upward, "I just want him to be happy."

I notice her smile wane and turn into a serious expression, "You’re a good person, June."

I brushed off the oddity of such a comment and responded, "Well, I am his sister—"

She shakes her head, staring at me in a strange way, as if she knew something I did not, "No, it’s not just that."

"Oh, well…" I stumble trying to find the right words, suddenly feeling awkward.

Loud barking soon distracted us, pulling our heads to peer down the block at two dogs barking through a fence at a passerby. Most likely a fellow classmate walking home.

"Well," I state, turning back to Abby, "I guess I'll see you tomorrow."

"Yes," she says morosely, a whine slipping into her voice as she adds, "I wish we were already on break."

"Just a few more days," I placate, chortling.

"Oh, but before I forget," she pulls down her bag to remove something. "Here," she states exuberantly, shoving a book into my hands, "Take this."

Glancing down, I see The Three Kingdoms of Ylanowyn etched across the chestnut cover in a metallic gold script. It glinted in such a way that made the holder feel assured that nothing less than mystery and adventure awaited them within the pages.

My hands tingled, and I abruptly took notice of how weighted the book felt in my palms.

"Wow, this thing is really heavy!" I comment in realization.

"Yup! It's a pretty big read," she acknowledges with a nod.

I bite my lip, feeling unsure as I look up from the book to meet her eyes, "Abby, I still have two exams I need to study for."

She rolls her eyes dramatically, "My goodness, June! You're a straight-A student, and you know the material like the back of your hand. Take a break! Treat yourself and do some enjoyable reading tonight rather than having your nose stuck in one of those stuffy old textbooks!"

My eyes drift back to the cover, "If I start it, I may not be able to put it down."

"That’s the idea," she half-whispers conspiratorially.

I chuckle at her theatrics, "Very well, I’ll take it with me. But I make no promises in reading it tonight—"

"Ugh," she huffs loudly.

I slip my backpack off my shoulder to tuck away the book for the rest of my journey home, and just as I'm zipping it back up—

"Oh, just so you know," Abby's voice interjects, "heads-up wise, don’t get attached to all the characters."

Immediately, my head jerks up, "What?"

"Also," she continues, ignoring my question, "don’t fall for any of the characters sweet words; there’s a pretty big plot twist in Chapter 27—"

"Ahhh!" I squeal, "Abby, you’re ruining it!"

She blinks at me innocently, "Why do you care? You aren't reading it tonight."

"But I do want to read it in a few days!"

"Oh, June, you know you’re super excited to read it!" She says matter-of-factually, before pleading, "Read some tonight!"

"Your insistence is annoying," I mutter.

"Your resistance is unbearable!" She retaliates, throwing her hands in the air, "You love fantasy genres and adventures. And I also happen to know you secretly love love stories, so just some of read it!"

"Mmmm…" I grumble in contemplation, arms crossed across my chest.

"Just one chapter," she tries to reason, before resorting to coercion, "If you don’t, I’ll keep telling you spoilers!"

I gasp, affronted, "You wouldn’t dare!"

A mischievous look crosses her face, "Out of the three princes, one can turn into a dragon—"

"Abby!" I screech, throwing my hands out as if to stop her words. Of course, that didn't deter her.

"One of them fall in love with a commoner—"

"No, stop!" I demand, taking several steps backward, "I will literally run away!" I threaten; to no anvil.

"And one is the reason another main character dies," she finishes gleefully.

"Oh my God." I stare at her appalled, "Abby, why would you tell me that!?"

"Suspense," she smirks, giving a small shrug.

"I can’t believe you," I splutter, half-indignant at her oversharing.

She cackles, eyes sparking with mirth, "I’m just trying to give you some subtle encouragement to start reading."

I feel my eyebrow arch in disbelief, "Subtle?"

"Okay, okay," she admits, slightly bashful but still smug, "blatant."

A dazed laugh bubbles up before relenting, "I suppose I can read a chapter or two tonight—"

She squeals, "Really!?"

"Yes," I roll my eyes playfully.

"Tomorrow you have to tell me what you think of it so far!"

"Alright, I promise," I assure her.

"Yay! You won’t regret this, June!"

I snort, "Of course not. I’ll see you at school tomorrow."

"Tomorrow," she sing-songs in affirmation, throwing up a quick wave before scampering away.

I smile, shaking my head, she was too much sometimes.

I turned to continue my own walk home and before I knew it, my feet had led me in front of my house. It was a simple one, painted yellow with pale blue shutters adorning the windows. I make my way up the concrete steps to the front door and let myself in.

One of the things I loved about the place that it was full of light. Windows were in almost every room, so I never turned on a light unless I had to. The wooden floors squeaked a little as you walked across them, but I always found it comforting, as it gave off a sense of life and being lived in.

As I crossed through the living room to the kitchen, I threw my bag down on the floral sofa and headed toward the fridge.

The kitchen was also another wonderful place. It was decorated in a rustic farmhouse style which was quaint and lovely. Checker printed curtains hung over the sink's window, a random cookie jar sat on the counter next to the Sugar, Tea, and Flour canisters. It felt homey and peaceful.

I quickly threw together a chicken salad sandwich from the leftovers we had and poured some chips onto a paper plate. Just as I sit at the table to eat, I notice a note.

Working late tonight. Don’t wait up for me.

-Elex

I sighed. Seems like I wouldn't be seeing Elex again tonight. I swallowed back my disappointment. It was understandable, as he worked for the state’s highway department, and it was conveniently that time of year where roads were being re-paved, re-painted and the like. Since certain areas were easier to complete at night, he'd been MIA for the last few weeks for his job.

I missed him when he worked like this, because I’d only get to see him briefly in the mornings before I left for school and we didn’t have much time to chat.

I sigh again, hurriedly finishing my food before throwing out the paper plate I’d been using.

"I wish I had a pet," I confess aloud, pushing the chair back into the table before heading back to the living room. I plop down on the sofa, "At least then I’d have some company."

Looking to my left, I notice my bag and reluctantly pull it toward me, knowing that I need to study my notes. I open it, and right at the top of its contents sits the book Abby had given me.

Feeling a bit down, I reasoned aloud, "I probably have some time to read for a little while."

Grabbing the book, I flip it open to a random page, "Let's get a preview of what I'm getting myself into."

"Why do you hate me?" Her eyes were drawn, and sorrow diminished her voice.

"Hate is too light a word," he responded with a low rasp, his gaze burning into hers, "abhor is better, or perhaps loathe."

A single tear spilled down her cheek, glowing in the candlelight.

"Wow, harsh," I remark upon the character's words. The poor girl.

I skip to another page farther in the book.

"Please stop this, Rylen!" A voice shouts up into the night, "You can end this here, we don’t have to take this too far!"

"You’re wrong, Your Highness," mockery edged his voice, "this is not an ending, but a beginning."

Before he could utter another word—

"Seems like there’s a lot of drama awaiting me," I mutter, turning through one last chunk of pages.

A golden eyebrow arched dangerously high, "What do you plan to do?"

"Whatever it takes," she states, clutching the dagger in her hand.

"You don’t even know how to use a sword let alone a dagger," he tells her, advancing across the room.

A scowl twists her face, "Don’t test me, Illarion."

I suck in a breath, halting to stare at the name printed on the page.

"Illarion," I test the name, swallowing hard. Why did it sound so familiar?

My finger lifted to trace across the letters, and my throat tightened with emotion.

I stared at the page for several long moments before jolting back to reality with a shake of my head. How weird, I think to myself, it’s just a book.

I close the book with a resounding thud, blinking several times to re-orientate myself. "Perhaps it’s best to wait to read this," I muse.

Gingerly, I lean forward to lay the book on the oak coffee table in front of me and swiftly grab my Advanced Chemistry textbook from my backpack. Now, suddenly seemed like a good time to study.

A few hours later, shadows began to fill the room alerting me of the time. I got up to turn on a lamp and glanced up at the clock on the wall. It was 9pm.

"Oh my gosh, so late!" I close the textbook I'd been thumbing through and threw the notes I’d been going over into a huge pile and shove them into my school bag which was now on the floor. After all my studying, I felt like I had the whole periodic table memorized.

My body felt heavy from exhaustion and I twisted around to lay back on the couch and stretch. I didn't feel motivated enough to get up and go to my room just yet.

Just as I was rubbing at my tired eyes, I heard a noise.

Ding.

I glance to the coffee table and my phone's blinking with a notification. I reach for it and swipe, seeing that it's Abby.

Oh no.

I look at the message, What do you think so far!?!?

A long line of emojis trailed behind her emphatic question.

My eyes slid shut on a groan, I didn't get the read the book yet... Would it make me a bad friend if I waited to reply in the morning? I wondered.

I eventually decided to withhold my reply until morning and placed the phone back down.

I sigh, feeling inexplicably tired and drained. My eyes flutter shut as sleep pulls me into its abyss.

“You promised me! You swore to me, that you wouldn’t do this!” I found myself screaming at someone as I grasped two metal cell bars.

Though the shadows, I was able to distinguish a tall figure of a man, and as he stepped closer, I could make out his features. Blond hair swept past his shoulders, the other half pulled up into which I could only describe as a messy bun. Armor adorned his body and gleamed in the low light. He had a chiseled jawline, with high cheekbones, a very regal appearance. He could have easily passed as a prince from a fairytale.

But despite these features, it was his eyes that captivated me. They were green. A soft moss green that faded into amber around his pupils, which I could see clearly as he stood before me. They were autumn eyes, like the changing of the seasons.

A wry smile twisted his lips, “I don’t regret my decision.” The finality of the statement mixed with the sombering sound of his voice pierced my soul.

“The execution will be at dawn.”

At his words, my knees gave way and I slid to the cold stone floor. I felt sick, my heart thundered in my chest, blocking out all other noise. I couldn’t find my breath, as if all the oxygen had been sucked from the room, and I was left there alone to suffocate.

Bolting upright, I clutch desperately at my chest while gasping for air. Sweat clung to my skin as my lungs tried to expand for breath but were somehow hindered. I wipe at my face with one hand, before realizing I'm covered in straw.

Confused, I pick up a stray piece, staring at it. Then I notice my legs, they were covered by some rough looking grey material, in which I could only assume was a dress.

I immediately look down at myself, trying to assess what else was different about me. My hands find my waist and I realize with relief that it was not me who had some deficiency in finding breath, but rather the corset I'd just discovered laced tightly around my torso was in fact the problem.

Scrambling, in horror at what was happening, I try to stand. But I was off-balance and toppled over immediately.

"Ouch!" I huff into the straw prickling into my face.

I push myself up from the ground more slowly this time and stand on shaky legs.

When I'm finally up, I attempt to gauge my surroundings and surmise that I was in some type of barn... But how did I get here? I wondered, blinking and looking around, What was happening to me?

Cows and horses scuffled about as I stumbled through the building and made my way outside it.

"Oh my God," I breathe. There were mountains thousands of feet high lurking in the scenery before me. But before I really got to grasp that I heard someone approaching.

"Hey, you!" I jerk at the sound, whipping my head around to see two armored men advancing toward me holding unsheathed...

Swords!?

I gulp in fear, unconsciously backing up. I don't know what's going on, but I don't think I want to wait and find out.

So I do the only reasonable thing a young woman would do in such a situation.

I ran.

Fable
Like

About the Creator

M.J. Carlock

I find that words are powerful; regardless of their form, they carry influence over our lives, and we must wield their power with both wisdom and heart.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

M.J. Carlock is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.