Fiction logo

Insatisitirepistemania (noun)

A State of Extreme Unquenchable Thirst for Knowledge

By Jennifer DavidPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Insatisitirepistemania (noun)
Photo by Štefan Štefančík on Unsplash

I’m a writer. I paint landscapes of worlds unseen on blank pages, with finite words and insufficient punctuation. I break chains of complacency. I push boundaries to wreak havoc on monotony. I burn bridges and invent new structures to carry and connect us. I build houses for new language to dwell. And I throttle diction beyond sight, into oblivion. It’s intoxicating, yet daunting. What if words to articulate the inexplicable never emerge in me?

I'm also a scientist. And, contrary to popular belief, I’m in constant search of questions, not answers. Answers don’t sate me. I’m fulfilled by what I don’t know. I marvel at the next undiscovered phenomena–the exuberance of anomaly. Who knows?

When I embrace these ideas, People think I've reached insanity. Because, I faithfully lock myself away, for hours and days, and drown myself in possibility. I free myself to become a vessel for infinite. When I ignore the calling of indoctrination, however, I teeter on the brink of madness. This madness is like a vampire's thirst. Saliva drips down my chin. My irises erase. At which point, thoughts are thoughtless, unless I feed.

If I don’t eat. I’d faint. I’d starve. I’d be insufferably consumed from the inside out. And like a beast, I’d lose my sense of animation. Creatures weren’t meant for captivity. They were meant for their wing span to fan the clouds, to run, to tread in deep waters. We, like animals, are meant to graze, to hunt, to live. Indulge in insatisitirepistemania.

Microfiction

About the Creator

Jennifer David

I hope my thoughts challenge yours

Connect with me on instagram!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran8 months ago

    This madness is like a vampire's thirst. I loved that line a lot! Fantastic word and story!

  • I love this, Jennifer. I especially love what you say, that you are on a quest for questions, not answers. This reminds me of the quote from John Stuart Mill that it is "better to be Socrates dissatisfied than a fool satisfied." A thirst for knowledge can truly never be satisfied. Answers only lead to more questions. Spread your wings, Jennifer. "Indulge in insatisitirepistemania."

  • Stephanie David8 months ago

    I appreciate a new word to describe the yearning to learn new things for a lifetime. Keep putting "pen to paper". The world needs hearts who fearlessly soar.

Jennifer DavidWritten by Jennifer David

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.