Fiction logo

In the night

Tiny is key

By Meagan DionPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in Micro Heist Challenge
In the night
Photo by Annie Spratt on Unsplash

Walnut Court is slumbering silently on this inky, starlit night. It's too beautiful for a crime. My small frame darts through the sky. I'll admit that while my physique is not intimidating, my diminutiveness affords me my greatest strength.

Stealth.

I spy the target. I circle to ensure there are no surprises. Last night the Johnson's dog snuck up on me and I nearly lost a wing. I won't make that mistake tonight.

The coast is clear. I dive down to the window's splintering wood frame. Brushing off peeled paint flakes from my latex tights, I peer through the finger printed pane at my victim. His chest is rising and falling peacefully.

Timmy... I know he is guarding the loot.

I push the window open and slip in. Fluttering to his bedside I land next to his pillow. He stirs. I freeze.

Nothing.

Cautiously I tip-toe over and lift the downy corner. Slowly I squeeze under and retrieve the treasure.

I drag it out gently. I think I'm safe, but I turn to find myself enclosed inside a glass jar.

Shock floods my cheeks as I gawk at Timmy's freckled, triumphant face.

I can only stand here, tooth in hand.

Fantasy

About the Creator

Meagan Dion

My life is a little crazy. Four kids, homeschool, write, create and coffee. Coffee is a verb. Do you coffee? I aspire to blow glass and finish / publish my novel. I would like to have an impact. Also, coffee.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (24)

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    What a sweet story!

  • ROCK 5 months ago

    What a sweet story!

  • Rachel Deeming6 months ago

    Sly old Timmy. What's going to happen to all those teeth now?

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    💚🖤

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a year ago

    Ha ha! Another great story with a fabulous twist. Well done and contratulations on your win.

  • Rick Henry Christopher about a year ago

    Genius, clever, the twist... I love it. Excellent job.

  • Donna Reneeabout a year ago

    Haha! This was super cute and super tense, great job!

  • Natalie Wilkinsonabout a year ago

    I loved this one.

  • Lilly Cooperabout a year ago

    I can see why your story made the list :) who knew life as a Tooth Fairy could be so fraught with danger? A great little story!

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    Well deserved win! This was awesome ♥️

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh, I just love this. Congrats.

  • Ashley Limaabout a year ago

    This is so dang cute are you kidding me!! Congrats on your well-deserved placement. Nicely done :)

  • Testabout a year ago

    "Cautiously I tip-toe over and lift the downy corner. Slowly I squeeze under and retrieve the treasure." - Almost reads like a poem, with the rhyming scheme. Nice story, Meagan!

  • Andrew Williamsabout a year ago

    Love this read❤️

  • The Invisible Writerabout a year ago

    Omg they caught the tooth fairy. Very very original and well done

  • Misty Raeabout a year ago

    Awwww, that was sweet. A very creative take on the challenge and best of all, it made me smile.

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Creative and impressive heist story!!! I could see Timmy's freckles and the poor tooth fairy!!! Love this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • MT Poetryabout a year ago

    Haha, I enjoyed to reading it!!👏😂

  • Lol, poor tooth fairy! This was a cool take on the challenge! I loved it!

  • Antoinette L Breyabout a year ago

    When I was a child all i wanted was the quarter

  • Ian Readabout a year ago

    A toothsome tale, to be sure! Great work on this one.

  • Let the tooth be told! Delightful.

  • Kelley Steadabout a year ago

    A tooth fairy story! I loved how it was confusing until the end. At first I thought maybe a bird. Then maybe Peter Pan (tights). Loved how it all came together in that last line. Well done!

  • C.Z.about a year ago

    So cute! I liked it

Meagan DionWritten by Meagan Dion

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.