Fiction logo

In Meam Commemorationem

"Man's desire to be remembered is colossal" - Franklin D. Roosevelt

By Paul StewartPublished about a month ago Updated about a month ago 1 min read
12
In Meam Commemorationem
Photo by Leio McLaren on Unsplash

As I stand on the brink, at the breach, I wonder if they will remember, if they will take note of my passing. In a world full of big personalities, big moments, big ideologies, the small and lonely are often the forgotten. I hope I am not. Time will tell.

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: This is for Kayleigh Fraser's The Micro-Fiction Challenge. I overthink sometimes and I think it's a very common hope and desire of humans to be remembered, like FDR noted.

Here are some more bits and bobs and word abuse.

Microfiction
12

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (11)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munson29 days ago

    Small in all the best ways = big at heart!

  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨about a month ago

    This is very touching Paul 🥹🙏🤍

  • Or to be content with our inevitable evanescence.

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    At the risk of sounding dumb, what is FDR? I loved your entry for this challenge!

  • John Coxabout a month ago

    This is very philosophical, even for you, Paul. I am surprised by my reaction to it. Sometimes reading others probing questions lead to my own. I do not wish to remembered nearly as much as I wish to be known. And my need to remember those whom I have loved and lost too is greater than my desire to be remembered by others in like fashion. I did not always feel this way. In fact, for a long time I felt the exact opposite. But aging has done strange things to how and what I value. Where I once longed for meaning I now long for my life to be meaningful. Sorry about the babbling, but your story and FDR's quote really struck me. They made me feel even more than think, if that makes sense.

  • Kendall Defoe about a month ago

    You are not alone...and I have some work to do... ;)

  • Beautiful micro-fiction for the challenge! The hearts of my family and friends is where I want to be remembered… just as well since I’m not brilliant nor famous 😳.

  • Babs Iversonabout a month ago

    Brilliantly expressed!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Dana Crandellabout a month ago

    A fine entry, sir! On a side note, my head now hurts from remembering my high school Latin classes

  • Rachel Deemingabout a month ago

    Great word choice, great unscrambling, great poem!

  • L.C. Schäferabout a month ago

    "Word abuse" made me chuckle 😁 Should be on your profile IMO 😁

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.