Fiction logo

In between views

from an adventurer and its waylaid encounters

By TestPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

"Hail newcomer, fare thee well as your purse from your thine side. If ye be wanting to live forever", the bandit called the stranger amidst from the crosshaired intersection.

"Want it? Come and get it!", the stranger backpedalled and swung low a low sweep into a axe kick plummeting three darts a top in the midst from the air.

The bandit was surprised darted and dashed here and there as the stranger showered him with all his missile attacks.

"Ahh no more, come lets draw and see what you got?" A blunt blade with a matte finish of tempered grey came out at the side the of the bandit.

"Come on a little closer so you can smell this old blade on yars."

The two circled to and fro for half of two minutes the bandit lunged into a half step sidestepping left and as almost the blunt scored at the mid thigh of the stranger. The blade came alive thrusting. The opponent backed away into a half arc and did a frog type jump into the head of the bandit. Thus scoring a massive jolt on the top of the head of the other. While in stunned paralysis The stranger snuck a back sweep aimed at the hips and scored another hit.

Resilient as ever yet the bandit woozy from two attacks, he thought this was an ordinary encounter so he can get another innocent chump for the taking. He felt a massive vertigo entered his head as he held dear for another attack. This time though he thought he swore he took his other knife from his left only realizing he was at the cemented section floor of the crosshaired intersection.

Sprawled, bleeding and hair splitting headache he uttered what he can tell this opponent," You tricked me, you son of a coyote. You are not a stranger you are just like me."

"Wrong, you waylaid me in this parts. In doing so defence is my weapon. Your tongue a shield, my kicks as my spear. Your blades is a dull as your head. My Fist are my main and those what i threw earlier are nothing but branches from a nearby tree.", The stranger replied.

Try as the he might the weight of the head bleeding all over the cementbed, not thinking nor he realized this would be the end of his own thug life. "Let me ask you one thing, are you a fox or a coyote mister and what is your name before I falter?"

"Why should I give you my name or anything otherwise, how would I know if you come back to haunt me from my future life. You have waylaid me long enough and it is late. Besides you can survive with this, a small canteen of water for you. Although you gave me a surge of aliveness in my wits and really used what I knew to defend my own. I must take my leave with you." The stranger kicked a small canteen to the bandit.

"Why of all things must you give me life for I gave you almost a certain death. Why must you taunt me such madness of kindess? What manner of death can you give me at least and I shall go to my ancients past and see my relatives who took me not for me. I beg of you end my miserable life, do not leave me to live again.", the bandit pleaded as he lay down bleeding.

"Destiny has us all to see, Fates is our making but to take a life because of misery and pain, that my dear thug is your choice. You alone can change it or take it as it is and keep repeating what you will."

The Stranger walked off into the furthest path while the thug clung to the words and he chose "keep reapeating what you will". As he slept there at the cementbed of the crosshaired intersection.

AdventureFantasyShort Story
1

About the Creator

Test

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Test is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.