Fiction logo

In A Snowglobe

Hot Tub Therapy

By Alexander McEvoyPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
6
In A Snowglobe
Photo by Michael Sum on Unsplash

Things seem less important when I'm sitting in the hot water, watching snowflakes drift past. No word had been exchanged for just long enough for the silence to weigh heavily on us both. But, trying to pierce the shifting cloud to see what lay beyond, I felt strangely at peace.

We were alone in the world, under a wooden canopy, I could envision us in a snow globe with only the swirling snow and gentle wind to keep us company. Just out of sight, the others slept the frigid night away, but for us, there was only the now.

She coughed, coming back to herself and I turned my attention to focus on her elfin features. That cough carried away my sense of isolation, brought me back to Earth. Reminded me that I was not alone, and that she was there, ready to listen.

I had nothing more to say, but our silence changed. We let the wind, as it momentarily changed direction and shattered the steam, carry away our awkwardness. We were alone in the world but, together in that moment.

Smiling at her, I let her know that there was no need to speak. No need to do more than sit and enjoy the contrast of hot, bubbling water and icy wind.

Hot tub therapy, I thought to myself as she handed me a drink, everyone should try it. Then I remembered that we had to walk back to the cabin through the snow.

Well, maybe not everyone.

PsychologicalMicrofictionHoliday
6

About the Creator

Alexander McEvoy

Writing has been a hobby of mine for years, so I'm just thrilled to be here! As for me, I love writing, dogs, and travel (only 1 continent left! Australia-.-)

I hope you enjoy what you read and I can't wait to see your creations :)

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Yusuf Alam3 months ago

    💯👌👌👌Alexander

  • Not me waiting for someone to rip a big one 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 I'm so sorry, I don't know why I'm like this hahahahaha. I loved your wonderful story!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)4 months ago

    I love this Alex! The mythical/ fantasy twist with the romantic setting wassich a great unique entry to this challenge! Great work my friend!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.