Fiction logo

In 1492, When Visitors Sailed The Ocean Blue

Landing on the shores of a new continent was not common but it happened.

By Denise E LindquistPublished about a year ago 4 min read
3
In 1492, When Visitors Sailed The Ocean Blue
Photo by Gabriel Vasiliu on Unsplash

When looking out the window I could see this painting hanging on the wall. It was an older model sailboat. Not one that crossed the ocean to get to the America's but still a similar vessel on a smaller scale.

When I was still more awake, I didn't know where I was. I appeared to be in a hospital. Not the hospital I was used to going to visit, but a hospital non the less.

Straps had me restrained and it seemed I was dressed in an old nightshirt, similar to one I remembered my great, great-grandfather wearing in a photo or painting of him as a young boy. Come to think of it, it may have been the dress worn by male children in that time.

Why wasn't I scared of being in a place I didn't remember as I thought about where home is. And this is not home. But it also wasn't threatening. The restraints were such that if I wanted to I could easily break free and I will do just that.

Could I have been drugged, as I felt a bit dopey. Like maybe I was given something to knock me out, or put me to sleep?

As I slowly got clearer I could remember exactly how I got here. I was trying to tell the people of the Americas not to allow the visitors to stay as they would change the world as they knew it.

When a visitor caught on to what I was trying to do, he quickly hit me over the head and took me to the ship. There were others who were taken back away from their homeland too. I heard the plan was to sell them as slaves.

For me to get back to my home though, I must now figure out a way to get back to the America's to find the portal that got me to this time in the past.

At home, it is 2050. And I am stuck in 1492 or thereabouts. People used to think that changing one thing in the past, would mess up everything. Since those thoughts, there has been other research that doesn't prove that. Time travel is still fairly new, however.

There is a possibility that I will be confined in prison after a short hospital stay. I will need to escape and find my way back to the ship going to the America's and stow aboard or sign up as a crew member.

First things first. Find my clothes. I found a closet with my clothes and a bathroom. As soon as I could I was going to just walk on out. It appears to be the middle of the night and that is probably why no one has checked on me.

As I am walking down the road to the ships, I notice how quiet and unlit it is here. No barking dogs, horses, or other animals on the road. It is so quiet, I am sorry I can't spend more time here. Maybe another time.

It is a good thing that the moon is full or I may not have found my way.

When I get to a ship with people boarding and I ask if they are looking for more crew. They have me talk to the captain and I find out that they are on a return trip to the America's. The slaves they brought back were worth considerable money and they were making a return trip for that purpose.

It was so helpful to have studied the language from that time, as even though it was English, I would never know it or be able to speak like that without the language teacher on video that had a good handle on the language back then.

While sailing back, I realized that they were armed to overtake the people when they landed. Drop passengers planning to stay and to fill their ship with slaves they would be returning for untold riches.

How long it will be before they come looking for me I don't know. I hope we are well out to sea before that happens. I will continue to try to tell the people of the America's to fight back and not allow the settlers to stay.

I am afraid that because the people are peace-loving people they will not fight back.

Just a few days after landing back on American soil, I was planning to leave to go home. My trip was not a success, although everything I experienced I will never forget. I could not convince anyone that they were meant harm as the new people who had only arrived were so friendly.

My plan was to do my very best and then leave before I am caught again, as the next time may be my last time.

HistoricalAdventure
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Splendid!!! Loving it!!!💕💖

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.