Fiction logo

Impedicat

Noun: a cat that's harmfully in the way

By Alison McBainPublished 6 months ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in the Neolomicro Challenge
6
Impedicat
Photo by Manja Vitolic on Unsplash

There are two types in the world, and Hector was the dangerous kind. We didn't know that when we adopted him, of course - the shelter merely told us that his previous owner had died.

"Bit of a hoarder, that one," she said as she was filling out the paperwork.

I exchanged a look with my girlfriend. "The cat?" I asked, half joking.

The volunteer was not amused. "His owner. We had to dig through stacks of newspapers to even get into the place. Imagine what the cat had to live on to survive..." She shook her head. "Well, the smell didn't get any better after a few days."

Okay. Man-eating feline. Not what I'd wanted to add to my home.

But Felicia couldn't be dissuaded from the adoption. "He needs us." She smoothed back the fur from his cheeks and got a loud purr in return.

That night, I woke up to use the bathroom. I'd barely gone two steps when I came crashing down to the ground. A loud growl emerged from what I'd tripped on.

The next day, coming down the stairs, I nearly fell when a fur bundle got underfoot. The day after, putting away the dishes resulted in two broken plates when I turned. He was right behind me.

"We got an impedicat," I argued with Felicia. "It's only a matter of time before we end up like his previous owner!"

I couldn't convince her. So, I returned the ring and kicked them both out.

Short Story
6

About the Creator

Alison McBain

Alison McBain writes fiction & poetry, edits & reviews books, and pens a webcomic called “Toddler Times.” In her free time, she drinks gallons of coffee & pretends to be a pool shark at her local pub. More: http://www.alisonmcbain.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore3 months ago

    Fantastic word! What's the opposite? Mine are mostly the opposite.

  • L.C. Schäfer5 months ago

    That ending was brilliant and no nonsense 👏

  • Lacy Loar-Gruenler5 months ago

    Alison, I love the spoiler ending!!! And I am a cat lover who feeds her babies on antique French china but does not put up with kittybad behavior. I loved this for its creativity!

  • D.K. Shepard5 months ago

    Wonderfully creative! Good word!

  • Cathy holmes5 months ago

    Lol. That was great. Definitely one of the best I've seen. Congrats.

  • Whoaaaa, I didn't expect him to banish them like that. Lol! Man-eating cat 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 Loved your word and story!

  • Novel Allen6 months ago

    Oi, please check on Felicia every now and then. Hope she is not seriously cat-fooded.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.