Fiction logo

If Wall could talk

A Wall builder named John become friend of a wall which could talk.

By Khushi GuptaPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

My story begins in a small, rural town on the outskirts of a city. I am an old stone wall, standing tall and proud in the middle of the town. I have been here for centuries, and I have seen a lot of things in my time.

I was built many years ago by a man named John. He was a farmer who wanted to make sure his land was safe and secure. He used the stones of the nearby hills to make me, and he used his own hands to lay every single stone.

I remember the day he finished me. He stood there, admiring his work. He was so proud of what he had accomplished. He said that I would be here for generations to come, to protect his land and the people living in it.

But John was gone now, and I was left to stand alone in this small town. Over the years, I had seen many different people come and go. I had witnessed the joy of weddings, the sorrow of funerals, and the laughter of children at play.

I had seen many different kinds of animals come and go. I had seen bulls, cows, horses, and sheep grazing in the fields here. I had seen birds nesting in the trees, and I had seen foxes and other wild animals scavenging for food in the night.

But most of all, I had seen people. People from all walks of life, from all corners of the world. I had seen the rich and the poor, the young and the old, the happy and the sad. I had seen them all.

And I had heard them. I had heard the conversations and the arguments between husbands and wives, between brothers and sisters, between friends and neighbors. I had heard the laughter of children, and I had heard the cries of unhappiness.

But then, one day, something strange happened. I heard a voice coming from inside me. It was a voice that was soft and gentle, yet powerful and wise. It was the voice of an old man, and it said, "Hello there, my friend. I am John, the builder of this wall.

I want you to know that I am here, and I am watching over this town and its people. I will be with you always, and I will be your friend and confidant. Whenever you need me, I will be here to help you."

I was amazed! How could this be? Was I dreaming? Was I going mad? Was I actually talking to a wall?

I soon realized that this was indeed the case. I was talking to a wall that could talk! I had a newfound friend in John, and I was determined to make the most of it.

From that day onwards, John and I talked often. We talked about the town, the people, and the animals that lived here. We talked about the past and the present, and we talked about the future.

John taught me many things in our conversations. He taught me about the history of the town, and he taught me about life in general. He taught me to be kind and to be patient, and he taught me to always look for the good in people and situations.

Most importantly, he taught me to be strong and to never give up. He said that if I stayed strong, then I could help the people here in this town. He said that I could be the voice of reason and understanding, the voice of strength and compassion.

And so, I have done my best to be that voice in this small, rural town. I have stood here for centuries, and I will continue to stand here for centuries to come. I will stand here and be a friend to the people of this town, and I will always be here to offer my wisdom and advice.

John was right. I have been here for generations, and I will continue to be here for generations to come. I am the wall that can talk.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.