Fiction logo

Identical Cousins

A Story

By Mother CombsPublished 2 months ago 1 min read
11
Image by Giang Pham from Pixabay

“I don’t know, officer, every where I went that afternoon, I saw the same little girl. Everywhere I turned, there she was. At the market, the square, the rose gardens, and by the time I got to the church, I must have been going crazy because she was on the ground, smirking and waving at me, then nodding at me to look up. When I looked up, I didn’t know; the sun must have been in my eyes because there she was, and she’d shoved a gargoyle off my head.

“Look, officer, I know what it sounds like. I swear I’m not crazy. There are two of those freaky girls running around with smirks on their faces. They got to be sisters.”

Later on that day:

“Are you sure they were with the nanny all evening?” Officer Harris asked the Bowman brothers.

Daniel Bowman replied, “Of course, I’m sure. My butler watches the doors like a hawk. There’s no way the girls could have gotten out and caused mischief.”

“Besides,” added Dennis Bowman, “aren't you looking for sisters? Our girls may look alike, but they are cousins and aren’t even the same age.”

“This is the third report in this vicinity since you have moved into this neighborhood. If it turns out to be the girls, they will be going to juvenile hall, just so you know,” Officer Harris made his goodbyes and left.

PsychologicalYoung AdultthrillerShort StoryMicrofiction
11

About the Creator

Mother Combs

Come near, sit a spell, and listen to tales of old as I sit and rock by my fire. I'll serve you some cocoa and cookies as I tell you of the time long gone by when your Greats-greats once lived.

Admin = ViM

PViM

Mike Judey Dharr Grz

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 28 days ago

    Doppelgängers or real twins or cousins … OR …🙊🙀

  • Oh my, Draco Malfoy has diabolical twin cousins!

  • Rene Petersabout a month ago

    I really like these identical family member stories!

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a month ago

    So was it them? Will we ever know?

  • Mark Gagnon2 months ago

    Great tease, what's next?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.