Fiction logo

I Was Here

"Please, take the heart-shaped locket."

By Rebecca Lynn IveyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

Dear Diary June, 11th 2021

Today was the best day of my entire life. Dad surprised us all with a trip to the beach. Ever since the COVID-19 pandemic, we haven’t been allowed to go anywhere. It felt so good to feel the sunshine on my shoulders and to breathe the fresh salty air without having to wear a mask.

Mom was so happy, I watched as she wiggled her toes in the warm sand and smiled. We played in the ocean for most of the day. I got a little spooked when a piece of seaweed wrapped around my foot. Dad laughed and let me ride on his shoulders. We laughed and laughed as he waded through the water. I envisioned riding a giant whale and feeling the warm water spray from its blowhole. Of course, I knew that I wasn’t riding a whale and the splashes of water were from dad’s hands splashing water high up into the air. But sometimes it’s nice to pretend doing magical, nonsensical things. Mom always said that using our imagination keeps us young.

Today is also mom and dad's 20th anniversary. I can’t possibly imagine being with someone for twenty whole years. Before she woke up this morning dad and I snuck out of the house. We went to “Gems” that fancy jewelry store downtown. Every time that we pass by mom always stops and ganders through the window. I picked out the golden heart-shaped locket that she always looks at. Dad said that it was rather expensive, but she deserves it.

I helped mom spread out the red and white checkered table cloth in the grass. She had packed us a fabulous lunch. My stomach started grumbling and growling as I watched her unload the basket. We had freshly baked bread and homemade honey butter, various pieces of fruit, white coconut cake, potato salad, and thick slices of smoked ham. She also prepared a large thermos of iced tea. In the center of the blanket, she carefully placed a blue crystal vase with some daisies from her flower bed.

After we ate our lunch dad winked at me as he revealed the tiny red velvet box that we had been keeping a secret. Mom cried when she opened it and saw the locket. I watched as dad slowly latched it around her neck. The sun sparkled and glinted off of the golden heart perfectly. She said that she’d never take it off. Today was the most perfect day and I will never forget it.

That was the last thing that I ever wrote in my diary. Sadly, I can’t even remember that day. I can’t remember anything prior to the incident. I assume that it happened on June 11th, 2021, the day that we went to the beach. I remember sitting in the backseat as we drove down the road. Mom was sitting in the middle of the front seat and dad had his arm around her shoulder. There was a cheerful song playing on the radio and we were all laughing and singing along. What was the song? I can’t remember the name, but I can so clearly see my mom smiling as she sang along.

We'll have a house party, we don't need nobody

Turn your TV off, break that boom-box out

We'll wake up all the neighbors 'til the whole block hates us

And the cops show up and try to shut us down

Oh well, it doesn't matter now, that was an entirely different time, a different world, a different lifetime.

Why am I even writing this now? Maybe I’m hoping that someone will find it someday. I just want someone to know that I was here.

I think that I’m all alone, I haven’t seen another person, at least not that I can remember. I struggle to find food and water amongst the destruction. If I’m lucky I’ll find an old grocery store that still has some intact canned food. Most of the cans were destroyed in the incident. Sometimes I come across an abandoned house that isn’t in complete ruins. I loot the cabinets for whatever is edible, which isn’t much. The hunger pains are agonizing and excruciating. I feel faint and dizzy from lack of water. I’m not sure that any of it is safe to drink.

The only sounds that I can hear are those of falling bricks as another building collapses. The sound is alarming and frightening as it thunders through the silence. What happened? I try so hard to remember.

I recall hearing horns violently honking and beeping. I can see my mom, the expression on her face is that of pure terror. I can see my dad; he’s shouting at us “RUN...GO...GET AWAY!” I hear horror-stricken voices and screams coming from all around. I hear explosions, so many explosions. I feel the coolness of metal as mom shoves her locket into my hand. Then just darkness.

I wonder if my parents are still alive, why weren't they with me when I woke up. I fear the worst, it is unnerving to think that I am the only living person left. Yet it seems validated by the fact that I have been alone for so long.

The sky is filled with smoke and ash, it hurts to breathe in the toxic air. I’m not sure how much longer that I can survive. I am alone, starving, dehydrated, and sick. It has taken all of the energy that I had left to write this. My hand trembles and my vision is failing.

By the time that you find this I am certain that my life will be expired. Just know that I was here and that I tried. Please, take the heart shaped locket from around my neck. I want you to have it, whoever you may be. May it remind you of a happier time and bring you hope for the future...if there is one.

Mystery

About the Creator

Rebecca Lynn Ivey

I wield words to weave tales across genres, but my heart belongs to the shadows.

🖤Visit My Website

💙Visit Me On Facebook

❤️Heart and subscribe!

💲Tips mean the world!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Rebecca Lynn IveyWritten by Rebecca Lynn Ivey

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.