Fiction logo

I want to fly too

I emerged from the chicken nest in the backyard, curiously surveying the outside world.

By RuthValenciaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
I want to fly too
Photo by Sasha Freemind on Unsplash

A rural family lived at the foot of a large hill.

I emerged from the chicken nest in the backyard, curiously surveying the outside world. Many of the other chicks born with me behaved much like I did, squawking and opening their mouths while waiting for their mother to feed them.

When I grew up, I learned many things - such as birds can fly freely in the sky; also like a chicken, although they also have wings, but can never fly into the sky.

Nevertheless, I often unconsciously looked up at the birds flying quickly overhead, and the deep, endless sky and clouds of all shapes and sizes, and longed to be able to fly in the blue sky - what a wonderful feeling it would be.

But whenever I told my companions about my dream, I was mercilessly denied and ridiculed: "It's impossible, we are just ordinary chickens, we can't fly!" "A pheasant still wants to become a phoenix!" ...... I couldn't help but be a little frustrated and hid this dream in my heart, not saying it to others anymore.

When I grew up a little more, although I realized the fact that I was just a chicken, the vision of the sky grew stronger and stronger, so much so that whenever a bird flew by, I would unconsciously flap my wings. At the same time, I gradually realized that my wings seemed to be bigger and much more powerful than those of my companions. I couldn't help but think again of all the ways I differed from other chicks from my appearance to my habits, all the things I used to think were just differences between normal individuals, making me think incredulously, could it be that am not an ordinary chicken? And I have strong wings, so wouldn't it be possible for me to fly into the sky?

Driven by my dream, I began to try apprehensively. But flying is not that easy, no matter how desperately I flapped my wings, at most I could only flap a few times in mid-air and then fell hard to the ground. Seeing my wretched appearance, my companions laughed again.

The repeated failures and ridicule from my peers made me want to give up for a while, but the desire to fly in my heart kept whispering in my ears, telling me that it was over if I gave up. So I firmly believed that with my efforts, I would one day be able to fly freely like the birds I saw when I was a child.

In the early morning of winter, the cold wind was like a sharp edge. The nest was so crowded that it looked like New Year's Eve. While all the chickens were huddled together and sleeping, I went out into the yard alone to practice flying. My wings were nearly stiff under the cold, but I kept waving them as if it would dispel all the difficulties. I kept recalling the impression of a bird opening its wings, and after countless flaps, I went from only being able to flap a few times in the air to be able to control my wing position for a short distance - and I finally managed to fly up into the blue sky.

When I left the small chicken coop, I realized how big the world outside is - it is not a small chicken coop that can be comparable. I also learned that I was not a chicken, but a chick of a sparrow mixed with a flock of chickens.

Many days later, I flew over the nest again and saw other sparrows who were mixed in with me, but they spent many days walking like chickens, without the desire and pursuit of the sky, and the wings on their backs had degenerated like chickens, and even if they wanted to fly, they could no longer do so. I couldn't help but be glad that I was able to pursue my dream with determination at that time, and it was the effort that made my life change drastically. Yes, having a dream and fighting for it is the only way to give full play to your strengths and realize your ideals so that you can fly higher and go farther.

Fable

About the Creator

RuthValencia

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    RuthValenciaWritten by RuthValencia

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.